The local yellow, orange and red

in Pinmapple4 years ago

For something a little different today, I thought I would show one of the local lakes in Autumn - though I am not sure what is gong on with the weather at the moment, as it was 21 degrees Celsius today, which isn't very common at the end of September.

This lake is named Pikku-Ahvenisto and is about a ten minute drive from my home. With it being an easy two kilometre walk around the lake, there is often young families there to take in the scenery and grill some makkara (sausage) at the lean-to supplied.

This is one of my favorite shots from the walk.

OI000878.jpg

OI000860.jpg

Even though this is only a few minutes from home, this is the first time that we have brought Smallsteps here for some reason. She loves the forest walks though and she is far braver than I thought she would be when it comes to climbing up the embankments and jumping across the rocks. She was like an excited baby mountain goat.

OI000869.jpg

OI000824.jpg

This smurf house is fly agaric and is a poisonous mushroom -though it isn't as toxic as many have been led to believe - though I wouldn't be eating them for fun - even though they have psychactive properties.

OI000867.jpg

OI000855.jpg

The colors of the autumn are in full swing at the moment and with the rare warmth, there are a lot of people taking advantage. I worked my ass off at home with the renovation prep earlier in the day, so we could take a couple hours off for this trip today. Then worked for another few hours in the dark, once we got home again. It was worth it.

OI000865.jpg

OI000847.jpg

Smallsteps is a bit of a forest baby at times, which is weird as neither of her parents are. My wife does like the lake and cottage life, but she isn't much of a hiker - at least since I have known her. These aren't all our sausages.

OI000886.jpg

We decided a few weeks ago to have sausage and marshmallows on the fireplace every weekend and we decided to do it at the end of the walk around the lake - along with many other people.

OI000842.jpg

OI000875.jpg

Not a bad view.

OI000835.jpg

And my wife kisses like a chipmunk.

OI000829.jpg

OI000859.jpg

Where my family are sitting (and at the other end of the panorama below), there is an old country house that can be rented for events. About a decade ago my wife and I attended a friend's wedding there. It isn't a fancy house, more of a very large cottage kind of thing, but it does have atmosphere and is a cozy place for friends and family.

IMG_20200927_165155.jpg

While an easy walk, the forest path around the lake climbs up and down, with some areas being about 10 meters above the water level with a near sheer drop, which was a little bit of a concern with Smallsteps being so enthusiastic with where she wanted to play.

OI000834.jpg

You can see the trees that have fallen in the water in the shot below, which happens in storms and heavy rain as the hills surrounding this particular lake are quite steep. We say some very large trees that have lost ther footing on the rocks they were growing on and had slipped to a rest on the hillside.

OI000852.jpg

As you can see with Smallsteps in a T-shirt - it is unusually warm. But there is variation. It seems that while the temperature today was 21 here - the record in September was 28C - the low -18C - That is almost a 46C degree swing :)

OI000849.jpg

OI000882.jpg

OI000871.jpg

There were a lot of Autumn leaves in the water and by the shore in the path of the wind, it looked like the layer was so thick you might be able to walk across them. In the winter this lake will freeze earlier than many as it is so small. If it freezes before the snows come, I will try to get there for some pictures as it can end up being quite glassy. Although, it is like glass in the evening too - These shots were taken about an hour before the water will still to completely flat.

OI000841.jpg

OI000885.jpg

OI000845.jpg

OI000874.jpg

Autumn in Finland when the sun is shining is a lovely place, full of burnt colours of yellow, orange and red. It is a signal of what is to some when the leaves fall off the trees and the days get much shorter though - darkness. Before the snows arrive, Finland is like a black hole that light cannot escape and people's mood change from summer promise to winter dread. I am a night owl, so I don't mind too much :)

OI000821.jpg

See you soon.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

The orange colour reflecting on that water is such a beauty to behold my goodness! I haven't seen mushroom that colour, I have only seen white.

Yeah, it is one of the most famous for the looks - but kids are warned to stay away from them as they can make people very ill, though death is supposedly rare.

yeah that's a good thing because come a deadly

I need to go a lake if it’s calm like that here tomorrow.

Definitely.

I was working most of the day early on and was surprised by the warm weather once I started paying attention. It had been quite a nice week or two.

Beautiful Fall shots, don’t you just love the season?

Yeah it is awesome. Especially in the surprisingly warm weather :)

Wow the flame orange is stunning. The maple trees here are just beginning to turn colour.

I love how still snd placid the lake is which of course naturally raises the question in me. 'I wonder how the fishing is?' While you were there did you perhaps see any boiling on the lakes surface indicating a school of feeding fish?

I think my two favourite shots were the fly ageric. And, the shot of the birch leaves floating on the surface of the lake. It has a perfect composition.

Looks like it was a nice day out for you and your family.

Going by the name at least "ahven" means perch. I don't fish usually, but there are plenty of fishers here all year round. Ice fishing in the winter is a thing :) I occasionally go in the summer at the in-law's cottage. There are salmon around there too, as well as other good eating fish.

We have some of the fly agerics in the yard at the moment, but it is nicer to take the shots somewhere prettier :)

It was a nice day - at least a few hours away from work did some good.

Beautiful pics brother. I love when the leaves turn here

Cheers mate - is it in fall swing now?

Those colors are amazing. We love going to the forest to try to find edible mushrooms this time of the year, but I just know two or three varieties and do not risk with the ones I don't know.

I have never been mushrooming - but there are some really good ones here that people collect. Mushrooming spots are closely guarded secrets :D

I just love the northern fall colors, I wish we got more of the reds and brighter oranges in our trees but it is mostly the yellows and dull orange color, still they do make for a nice scene. We only get a few days of fall with leaf color when the waters are calm or so it seems, but I love the autumn color reflections shots. It looks like a very nice small lake to wander around, and being close to home is a bonus for such nice relaxing views after a hard day of work.

We have a small maple in the yard that is now turning with some reds - and the pear tree is almost a burgandy color, which I wasn't expecting.

The northern autumns are great, as well as the spring. I always wonder how much energy per hectare it must take to grow all of those leaves.

A lot of the lower growing willows, and fireweeds turn a reddish color for a few days, but we don't have large swaths of red leaf colors, occasionally one in a group turns red, I never have figured out why one will turn red and the others don't, but it makes for interesting thing to look at and ponder.

Finnish Lapland is meant to be very beautiful at this time of year, but I haven't had the opportunity to visit yet - I keep saying "one day"

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good evening. Great publication. Golden autumn on the lake looks impressive, the quality of the photo conveys well all the beauty of nature. Life publishing, family and nature, and relaxation together is great. An informative and rich post. Thank you. Good luck to you.

i like your picture of yellow leaves and reflecting in the lake
we do have autumn season here but no lake nearby to enjoy barbeque near it

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #984.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Now I ask you with tears in my eyes; how does one pick a photo to like from this lot.
It is a mental journey of oohs and aahs all the way and certainly a great combination of love, family and all framed by the beauty of nature!
Excellent stuff here mate!

Gyah she's so disgustingly cute I can't even XD

Also I'm under the impression she's a pretty sensible kid, I don't think she'd fall. If she was like my youngest at that age I might keep her on a tight leash XD my older two could walk up to the edge of a drop and look over and go "yep that's kinda high" and back off. Youngest would walk up to the edge and think "yep that's kinda high, gonna try anyway" x_x

Looks like a great walk close to home! Did you teach her how to skip rocks? :D

Love the colours of trees when it comes to fall season ...so beautiful 😍

Thanks for the photo tour. The walk was amazing.

Exactly the colors I want to see! Because I'm an autumn lover. I guess this has something to do with my birth in september. :) Great photos. You had a great weekend with your family.

I hope one day I can visit Finland. I really want this.

What a beautiful place! I love the autumn colours! The picture with your wife kissing smallsteps like a chipmunk is so so cute

Can you fish something in that lake too?

Like an old Nessy or something more juicy to photograph later also? :D