French Market Adventures!

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Sometimes life leads you down unexpected roads especially when you have nothing planned for the day. It's on those days that you end up having a amazing and fantastic experience.

Me and @misshugo didn't plan on doing much the day, it was around 12:30 pm when we received a phone call from one of her family members informing us about the French Market in Bloemfontein and that we shouldn't hesitate to go check it out. The entrance was very cheap and after all we didn't have anything to do so we thought why not go and give it a try.

We simply walked around enjoying the atmosphere of people laughing, kids playing around and the fresh aroma of coffee and cooked meat in the air. But most of all it had some beautiful buildings and old ornaments placed randomly everywhere.

It was a day well spent and one that I would not soon forget! Definitely a place I will re-visit often when I'm around

We had a few snacks to eat and there was even a craft beer vendor that set up in an old ambulance, but I mean a really old somewhat military like ambulance. I am totally lost and confused while writing this post because I have no clue as to what I was thinking for not taking a picture of it and neither of the craft beer. Must have been in a rush or something, silly me.

I didn't want to add too many sections to the post so I added some photo's that are irrelevant to the topics into the sections as well. Please bare with me as you tag a long our wonderful and unplanned journey through the French Market.

The Chapel

Even though it's a fairly new building it gave the feeling of the french medieval times (I am unsure if that's the right timeline, probably not I ain't no historian)

It has a long straight single door in front, longer than the standard sizes of doors, I am assuming that was deliberately done in order to give that classical French look. It also had an old steel chair in front along with a moveable lantern post.

Only downside was the damn air-cons hanging visible.

IMG_20220806_142458.jpg

The Square where everyone could sit down and have a relaxing meal in-between their explorations of the French Market. They really gave it the French vibe with the colours of the French flag hanging around and being painted on random objects.

IMG_20220806_142308.jpg

@misshugo excitedly leading me around as she enjoys all of the small ornaments being sold by the vendors around the French Market. I have to say I was struggling to keep up, turning my head was a big no because every time I looked away she was at a different spot.

IMG_20220806_141953.jpg

The old and rough looking overgrown wall with the birdhouse. I'm dying to see how it would look when spring has finally set in and the wall is covered in green leaves, I mean yes I can already picture it in my mind BUT nothing beats the experience of seeing it first hand in the moment. I will surely have to come back someday.

IMG_20220806_142521.jpg

Actual Advertisement Poster of the Titanic

Quite curious as to where they discovered this old piece of history, maybe in someone's attic? It was for sale but it had a very hefty price to it and of course that makes sense. I doubt there are a lot of them left if any.

Sadly the Titanic never made it to it's final destination and now lies in the Atlantic ocean south-southeast of the coast of Newfoundland.

IMG_20220806_140232.jpg

@misshugo still leading me around and I think she spotted some more ornaments that tickles her fancy.

IMG_20220806_142013.jpg

Old Coal Stove

Even though this old coal stove has been sitting outside for quite some years it's still in a fairly good condition, still having its original paint. It's a bit rusty yes, but I bet if it gets a nice cleaning it will work as the day it was built many many years ago.

IMG_20220806_142400.jpg

The back door of the chapel in the first photo. I wish that I could move the cord with the light bulbs on it, I didn't dare try because I have not went through the whole market yet and didn't want to risk getting thrown out just for a silly photo. 🤣

IMG_20220806_142104.jpg

The Rusted Trunk and a Variety of Cacti Plants

IMG_20220806_142212.jpg

The journey down the long and narrow road enjoying the most cutest and silliest of ornaments being sold by vendors.

IMG_20220806_141901.jpg

Beautiful flowers around the premises.

Its been a while since I've seen multi coloured flowers, probably because it was winter! It is now time for spring and everything is blooming nicely.

IMG_20220806_140105.jpg

These plants are certainly well maintained and not left unattended, most if not all of the flower heads are still beautifully intact and undamaged. It made for nice photos.

IMG_20220806_141230.jpg

IMG_20220806_141239.jpg

A very old cacti still growing strong.

IMG_20220806_141411.jpg

The Geese Pond Area.

@misshugo wanting to climb over the gate to explore the little castle of the ducks, I wondered if she decided on not doing it or if she was scared that the ducks would attack her 😁. After all she is afraid of birds.

IMG_20220806_141313.jpg

IMG_20220806_141316.jpg

She decided on a photo outside of the pond area rather than inside.

IMG_20220806_141337.jpg

A nice seating place located inside the pond area, next time I will ask around if we are allowed to go inside. I'm certain we will end up with a lot of nice photos that we can take of the geese.

IMG_20220806_141353_1.jpg

The Golden Oldie Vespa.

A old Vespa scooter located near the square where everyone enjoyed their lunch.

I bet that I would be able to fix this old rusty scooter all with a bit of love and a good cleaning of the engine internals.

What caught my attention about this was the fact that it even had a spare tire. Unfortunately I didn't get a photo of it but you can see side of the tire sticking out on the left hand side in the second photo, just below the handle bars.

Riding one of these back in the day would have made you a very 'cool' individual cruising the streets of the town with the wind breezing through your hair.

People had a simpler life back then compared to the everyday rush most of us experience these days.

IMG_20220806_142220.jpg

IMG_20220806_142222.jpg

> Sharing my life experience on the Hive blockchain is a great pleasure for me to do, I have been on the hive blockchain since the days of steemit, I only recently rediscovered this blockchain and I completely forgot what a blast it was sharing my everyday life and its happenings with the blockchain and its community's. I want to give a big thanks to all of the supporters out there making the blockchain great and adding value to it everyday.

Once again your feedback would be highly valued and appreciated.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Connecting the people of #HIVE across South Africa. #hive

Sort:  

So I was able to recover my old twitter account.. Also shared it over there

~~~ embed:1566656096261050368?t=xWK_Buksaymj7uQci4XsDA&s=19 twitter metadata:dGVjaG5pY2Fsc2lkZXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS90ZWNobmljYWxzaWRlL3N0YXR1cy8xNTY2NjU2MDk2MjYxMDUwMzY4fA== ~~~

Beautiful colors in your publication, this is one of the reasons why I love to go to open air markets, I love those days of aromas, bustle and colors.

Thanks a lot @alaiza. I do appreciate it a lot.

Its true as you say... Open markets are genuinely something else to go to and see and also experience... Its just sad that we dont really have a lot of those around where I am from...

I missed this on #marketfriday but found you now via @jasperdick

Hello, fellow Saffa. Nice to meet you :)

Those are some great photos of the market. Do you think the poster is genuine? What are the chances? Maybe a print of the real deal? What a find though!

How much was it going for, out of curiosity?

Thanks. It was fun vibes... I would go again... I think the whole setup changes aswell everytime.. Its not the same things being sold... Different vendors all that... Anyway regarding the real or copy... Hmm I dont know.. I cant really say🤣perhaps...
But think about it... Anyone can pull that picture from the net and put it down on paper. And even glass it.. But why?

Unless its the real thing? Although it could be fake 😂😂🤷‍♂️

😆

It's 2022... trust no-one is the new cool apparently!

Why? Follow the money. Always :)

But imagine if it's genuine... what a part of history to hold and keep, huh?

The Vespa is super cool as well. I wonder who it belonged to...

Have a great week and see on #marketfriday one day. I'm saving one up but it's not done yet!

Spilling them facts around here 🤣yeah that is... Its all a withcery these days🤣 what you see is not what you get 🙈😂

If it is real... and it was mine.. I would treasure it🙈😂 when I was little we had a few casette videos... Only a few and I remember watching titanic over and over 😂😂

Ill be on the lookout for it 😎 happy posting and happy hiving 😎😎

Cassette videos... 😆

There's an actual casette tape in Die Hard!

Watched it with my boy the other day. He thinks it's really funny. Our "tech".

I thought I wrote that Titanic is to be a part of home school. History y'know ;) But it seems I never hit the reply button the other day so here it is!

Happy hiving to you too. I'm taking a few slow days to reboot and then watch out! 💥

Hey

I've got an 11 year old so Titanic will part of the homeschool curriculum.

History y'know!

You know what I'm talkin' 'bout 😎

Nicely met and you have good taste in wheels and markets.

I'll be back 👍


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a fun day!!

I'm a little jelly, I can't lie xD
It actually felt like I was there in a way, what a great post. It's so nice to see young people in love enjoying life. Thanks for shring! 🧡

It was indeed... Thanks 😁

Well we only live once 😜gotta experience the most in our prime I suppose right 😊 In a few years we might be tied up 😊🎉...

Thanks for the comment

Wow this is super cool. I wish I could smell the vegetables from here. Thanks for sharing

Congratulations @technicalside! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @cwow2.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a lot for the upvote @cwow2 I really appreciate it bud!! Much love!

You are welcome buddy :D

Its weird though... On my birthday someone gets me a vote 🤣🤣😜 so yeah Ill see that as my birthday present from you bud😜😜😎😎

Lol, good timing haha!
Happy birthday :p

Que lugar tan precioso, las fotos engloban todo acerca del lugar, sus flores, su artesanía, el paisaje. Un muy buen enfoque del sitio.