Exploring Idukki | Kerala's Hidden Gem (Part 2)

in Pinmapple11 months ago (edited)

Hello, dear Hive community,

Today, I would like to share another part of my travel experience.

In this Kerala story, we continue our journey, exploring the hidden gems of Idukki. This is a positive side, if you are spontaneous and open on your travels to make new friends. They will always love to show you their favourite spots, like Aji.

WildMonk's Travel Experience - Exploring Idukki | Kerala's Hidden Gem (Part 2).jpg

In Part 2 of my adventure, Aji takes me on an unforgettable walk around his house, where we talked about unique plants in this area. From exotic red bananas to the remarkable medicinal plants as well about the animals like elephants and many snakes living in his area. He told me all the different local names, and even that some time ago a king cobra was found close to his home.

GUUJMWIZRYeESrKTN77b1g_thumb_f59.jpg

IMG_2692.JPG

IMG_2710.JPG

IMG_2705.JPG

IMG_2654.JPG

IMG_2826.JPG

As we venture deeper into the forest, he shared the location of his small hut on his Cardamom plantation with me. I told him about my past travels in the Himalayas and my experience staying alone in the forest in a cave under a gigantic rock.

I found out many things I was very surprised about. Our discussion started when we discovered the fountain on his plantation that was made by his grandfather. I learned that the local farms need to follow lots of laws and rules to make profits with having plantations. Since the land is divided upon many smaller farmers, they are forced to use the same fertilisers and poison to remove bugs and insects, and of course to make the plants grow fast.
Since the farms are located in one big connected area, even if one would like to grow organically, without fertilisers — it's impossible. The rain and the water will wash the poison in the earth and affect all the surrounding lands.
As the bugs and insects are becoming resistant, they have to use more and more of this artificial chemicals. The soil is contaminated and consequentially, due to that, more and more trees are cut down to gain more areas to grow new plantations.

IMG_2784.JPG

IMG_2663.JPG

IMG_2763.JPG

In the next episodes, I will talk more about visiting revolutionary farmers who try to battle this.

It was an exhilarating and educational experience, that I wanted to share this sad situations with you all.

Once we hiked down the hill, we made a tea (or coffee, how the locals call it) in the clay pot on the fire. We enjoyed the stunning views on the jungle and the valley of Idukki.

IMG_2686.JPG

On the way back it went dark, and I could hear many animals waking up. There were many sounds coming from the depth of the jungle. As well, we saw 3 small snakes which were dangerous and poisonous. It was a perfect trip, full of adventure.

"WildMonk's Travel Experience - Exploring Idukki | Kerala's Hidden Gem!"


[//]:# (!pinmapple 9.86445 lat 77.03492 long Exploring Idukki | Kerala's Hidden Gem (Part 2) d3scr)

Since making movies and capturing moments is a big passion of mine, sharing them with a wider population which appreciate them, means even more to me. If you would like to support me, join me on my journeys and subscribe to my YT channel.

Lost of Love,
Steffen

Sort:  

Wow, what amazing photos. Thanks for sharing with us 😊

Hi, what an extraordinary trip, I would like to have the experience of being alone in a cave, I know it is difficult but necessary for the inner discovery.

It is a pity that the cultivation needs these poisons to be able to bear fruit, the animals are getting stronger every day, it is like fighting against nature.

I have never seen bananas of that color, like purple, in my country they are green and when they ripen they are yellow.

Enjoy your video, I wish you many trips like this one. @thefootprint

Hola,

thank you very much for your words. Yes, as well, I was surprised when I saw this the first time. The test is very deletions of, though red bananas. I hope I will be able to share more amazing travels like this experience in the future. 🙏

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.