Sort:  

Aaahhh... Another country on my bucket list. When I was leaving Germany in late 2017, early 2018, I had planned to take the long way home by train to St. Petersburg, Moscow, and then to Vladivostok and across the Bering Strait then the Pacific coast while moving through the southwest then up the Atlantic coast.

My Russian classmates told me that wasn't possible, that I would have to go through China instead (no ship from Vladivostok to Alaska in the winter or otherwise and I did not want to fly through the Arctic). So I took the regular Atlantic flight. It would have been a grand trip and taken at least a month. Travel is good for the soul! :)

Wow, it was an idea on a grand scale, it's a pity that you didn't fulfill it.
You have interesting connections, the profile states the USA... you left Germany... russian classmates. Who are you?! 😅

I was an American exchange student in Germany and lived there for five months. There were international students from all over the world in my German class.