The One Cafe with Ms. PAC-MAN – A visit to Central Perk Cafe, Singapore

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)
O what a dream it is to be seating in cafe, drinking coffee with my F.R.I.E.N.D.S. 🤗I have watched How I Met Your Mother and F.R.I.E.N.D.S., these two famous TV series that made me want to visit New York someday. I have always wondered what does bagel and coffee (the ones bought from food carts) taste like in the morning when you're rushing to go to your work. I am one of those normal people who have watched F.R.I.E.N.D.S. for so many times already, I have memorized the scenes and punch lines that'll surely make you laugh so hard, you'd have core strength. Just kidding. 😅

DSC05183.jpg

When I went to Singapore, I made sure to stop by this themed cafe, all fans of F.R.I.E.N.D.S. would want to go to. It's a recreation of the iconic film setting of the TV series. Even though I still can't go to New York and see for myself what Central Park looks like, this themed cafe made such an impression to me that I have really loved F.R.I.E.N.D.S. It was for me, like a museum where I got to see the places those fictional characters have lived.

Ken Adams and Miss Chanandler Bong's apartment

First stop is Chandler Bing and Joey Tribbiani's apartment! There were a lot of things that reminded me how good they are as roommates and of course as friends. Who can forget about that dog statue, the table football, and Hugsy?! Joey was like a kid who needed guiding and Chandler was responsible and clueless at the same time. Nonetheless, they both looked out for each other.


Phoebe Buffay or should I say, Regina Phalange?

Yay for Phoebe! I had the most laugh-out-louds because of her quirks. She maybe the odd one in the group but they all really loved her like a real family and not just a friend. She would be that very honest friend, an open book to everyone, and the one who'd sing you a song that maybe will give you comfort. 😂

DSC05186.jpg

Want some sushi? sashimi? some kind of eel?

I thought I was a real nerd, but not on the same level of Ross! 😂Unagi will always, for me, sound like some kind of Japanese dish. But to Ross, it's some kind of peace of mind or something. His corner even had a display of fossils, talk about the effort they have put in the details of this cafe!

DSC05187.jpg

Ms. PAC-MAN in Monica & Chandler's apartment

How I wish someone would gift me this arcade machine too! It's so fun because you can play a game in this machine for a dollar. I enjoyed it so much that I wasted my $10 trying to finish just one game. I forgot how hard it was to escape those ghosts chasing you.

DSC05202.jpg

Chef Monica's real kitchen

I have always wanted to be that kind of friend who invites her friends and cooks for them, a great hostess as what Monica wants to be. There were so many scenes filmed in her kitchen/dining area that I was so excited to see this replicated version. They had so many conversations here, eat a lot too, played games, and this is where Rachel made her Thanksgiving trifle. 😉

DSC05196.jpg

The one with the pricey menu

Since it was a real cafe, we wanted to try the coffee and the pastries on their menu. Even though we wanted to try out the meal, the coffee was very pricey already so we had to settle for the cheapest slice of cake. The coffee was great, well I love coffee so it's hard for me to have a bad tasting coffee, as long as it's not so sweet then I'm good. The cake was very beautiful, I mean look at the plating? To be honest, I enjoyed more of the fruits that decorated the cake, it was a mix of berries and kiwi.


I'll be there for you

I think the time I explored and looked at the displays was longer than the time I spent in the cafe drinking my coffee and eating the slice of cake. The place itself was already a treat for the fan in me. Looking at these framed photographs, I realized that the actors and actresses really grew in this TV show. Their characters have been a huge part of their lives, they have lived that character for a decade. How hard was it to part ways with the character they have lived out for ten years?

DSC05238 2.jpg

I found this part of the cafe so nostalgic and so creative. I love post cards or anything printed and hanged like this. This part of the cafe sums up all the iconic lines the characters said in the show. Sadly, they don't have any of these for sale, I would have bought a copy of each. 😅

DSC05192.jpg

Even though looking at these photos makes me sad a little, just recently, the cast have confirmed a REUNION! They will be releasing an episode for this reunion and I'm wondering if they'd have scenes in the Central Perk Cafe, not the one in Singapore, but the one that is fictionally located in New York. That's something I'm looking forward to. Hope you enjoy this photo journal of my visit to Central Perk Singapore. 🤗
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!