Rennes, Brittany (2000) - Visiting France, part 4 - Normal is Boring - an Autobiography

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Another place I visited while in France was Rennes. Population around 200,000, this is the capital of Brittany. It is a major city in France with a university, historical landmarks and plenty to do.

Again, these are pictures that I took in 2000 with a film camera, scanned in the photos, reduced the size for use on my personal website at the time... After divorce, I thought I'd lost all the pictures, but found these scans the other day. Re-enlarging them has had a negative impact on the quality, but they're easier to see and still gives a good flavor of some of the older parts of Rennes - before the tourist season - and before many things were brightened for modern tourists.

Rennesa_600_edit.jpg

Rennesb_600_edit.jpg

Rennes city hall was across the way from the tourist information center, where I looked for someone who spoke English, but I can't remember what I did with that information.

Honestly, what I remember of Rennes is that we saw some people playing boules... stopped at a supermarket where we discovered that there was still very little fresh milk - it was sold fermented, and in bags. I wish I'd tried it now.

I also remember musing about the word "pont" which is the same in French as in Welsh - probably via the Celtic languages rather than the Latin ones.

Anyway, enjoy the pictures I took.

Rennesc_600_edit.jpg

Rennesd_600_edit.jpg

Rennese_600_edit.jpg

There are many of these half-timbered buildings in Rennes.

Rennesf_600_edit.jpg

Rennesg_600_edit.jpg

A couple of videos I found on YouTube which are educational.

Read more about Rennes at Wikipedia and see some of the amazing sites I didn't... The Sane Travel.

Photos taken in 2000 with my film camera. Crossposted on Uptrennd.

Past issues...

Preschool to Second Grade - Svensen, Oregon (1976-1981)

Svensen Trailer Court , The Best Place for a Child to Grow , The Forming of a Farmer , The Great-Horned Owl , The Forming of a Homesteader , Forty Years Ago : May 18, 1980 ,

Waking Up - Southampton, England (1998-2003)

  • Visiting France in 2000

Getting to Guingamp, Brittany - part 1 , Around Guingamp, Brittany - part 2 , Visiting Brest, Brittany - part 3



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!