Hiking around Belair National Park

in Pinmapple2 years ago

There are quite a few amazing hiking spots in South Australia and many around Adelaide. I haven't been to as many as I'd like just yet, but Belair National Park is one of my favorites (next to Morialta which is probably most known). Because I always like to change the environment a bit, this time I decided to go there once more.

DSC_0099.JPG

It only takes aboout 30 minute drive to get there and even less if you are around cbd. So it's a very convenient place if you want to stretch your legs a bit and see some wildlife while exploring the area. There is many different tracks you can enjoy and this time I explored one I haven't been to yet. It is the Waterfall hike and I was especially excited to go through the Echo Tunnel on the way.

20211003_175050.jpg

And yes, you can definitely play around and talk (or scream) in the tunnel and get a cool echo sound in return. So yup, you can go on your own and have a feeling like you're talking to someone :D

20211003_175129.jpg

20211003_175232.jpg

20211003_175243.jpg

As the hike states, there is waterfall you can see when you get there, but unfortunately it only flows after heavy rainfall so this time not much was there to see as it's been very dry and hot here.

DSC_0087.JPG

The place doesn't disappoint even when it's dry as it's just so beautiful, peaceful and full of wildlife you can meet as you go.
Each time I went, I've always been lucky and spot kangaroos right in front of me and most of them not really scared at all and only jumped off when I came too close for their comfort.

DSC_0117.JPG

DSC_0131.JPG

DSC_0136.JPG

DSC_0141.JPG

You may also run into a few lizards so watch your steps.
These little guys are so common and can be seen everywhere. Many times I walk by the beach and see them crossing the path and as they try to go on the road, I make sure they go back to safety - back to the bush little one.

These guys are quite amazing - they are commonly called "shingleback" or "sleepy lizard" but also can be described as "faithfull lizard". They are very slow and many aussies have told me they would try to catch them when they were kids, as they are quite easy to find and handle. Very gentle creatures but also amazing partners as they form long-lasting partnerships, they roam in pairs many times and use their smell to remain in loose contact. So amazing, they have my full respect! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

20211003_175205.jpg

It's also a good idea to look up as there's a good chance to see some koalas or as aussies call them "drop bears". Sometimes they do look like they might fall, let's be honest :D

20181209_215307.jpg

20181209_215435.jpg

And this one here, I don't know if you can see it, but it kinda reminds me of "The Predator" :D
I was pretty lucky actually here, this cute koala was really close and posed perfectly (I'm sure not intentionally).

20181209_215054.jpg

Definitely a place to visit more just than once.
Thanks for watching, see you next time Hive tribe!

Kat

Sort:  

I love that place even though I don’t walk it very often! Thanks for reminding us of the beauty of the Australian flora and fauna.

I think it's really common for us to dream of places far away while forgetting what is right next to us! The weird human nature hey. The past few years has for sure made us appreciate more of the beautiful places around us and I love to explore it and show it to others. Thank you for checking in, hopefully you can go there soon too :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome job and I really enjoy checking this out and I've never been to Australia and this makes it look beautiful.

Well, other than all of the crazy critters, it's beautiful.

I hope you get to see it one day, it's really an amazing place and well I understand the whole crazy dangerous creatures but honestly it's not as bad as it looks on discovery channel :D In my 6 years, I saw a few brown snakes in the wild, mostly just the tails as they were getting away from me and a couple harmless (but massive and creepy!) huntsman spiders. So it's not as bad and worth the trip :) Thanks for stopping by !

I actually read about the common brown. Especially the trip by the rich people out to the outback where only a couple people out of this huge camping trip survived.

Pretty crazy critters and I'm definitely interested in checking out that cool snake. I've dealt with a lot of snakes here in the United States.

Yea, it's always a good idea to be careful out there especially while in nature, hiking and stick to paths. But in reality, snakes are more afraid of us than we are of them. Respecting the nature and we get respect back. I had a picture of a brown snake but I can't seem to find it now, and they are often found during spring and summer especially. If I find it, I will post it on here ;)

Definitely tag me and I know all about snakes as I grew up chasing snakes and having a billion of them as pets.

I really should have started to be a herpetologist but I'm not sure how my family would feel about me milking deadly snakes for a living....

Just like all critters. People are astounded at how I am able to communicate with the entire animal Kingdom. Snakes birds reptiles dogs cats horses livestock and other wild animals.

Wow, chasing snakes! I don't think I could do that! I am not really scared of them (spiders are a different story) but I am better with letting them be further away . They are fascinating animals though and always enjoy watching any type of documentary about them. In general about animals, their protective mechanisms and amazing ways to adjust to their environment.

Yes, I totally get it! Animals can feel energy and they can sense an animal lover straight away. It could be your calling to be the next Dr.Dolittle :)

Yeah I know enough that I'm very careful.

I was going to have a crow as a kid and it was a great idea on paper.

My grandfather sat me down and usually he was pretty patient but he really cut to the point that day.

Crows steal things. They are always causing havoc and they will outlive you...

I wasn't allowed to have a crow. Grandpa actually said if I was able to get a hawk that would be okay but absolutely no crows...

Lemmy used to sing "I wanna grow my hair, live in Belair". Certainly not this one but the homonymous in the US however yours looks lovely if nothing else.

haha, yea right! The only Belair I would think of is Fresh Princ of BelAir, back to some nostalgic moments of laughing at Uncle Phil and good ol' Carlton.
Thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed it, I'm sure you have plenty of amazing spots for hiking over there too :) minus the drop bears and venomous snakes :D

A legit place Kat...I might head up there Sunday. Thanks for the prompt.

Awesome! It should be a great day for it, with a bit of cooler weather. Expecting some amazing shots from you as usual :) Enjoy it!

Well, that puts the pressure on. I'll see what I can do though. 😀

I love the last pic 😍 they are so cute

Very cute, and luckily they are found everywhere while hiking, just paying attention to it is needed. I'm glad you like the pics :)

You are welcome, Kat 😄

This National Park looks like a great adventure! I traveled to Down under a few years ago but didnt visit this park..

It's not the most popular park and there's just too many other ones to see that are worth seeing if you are just visiting (Deep Creek and Morialta would be my favourite). Maybe next time you are here, you can check it out :)

Thank you for your advice, maybe i will have enough time to visit a few of them, i hope so:)

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, support is very appreciated :)