The Great Buddha In The Temple In Aomori And How It Turned To Be A Memorably Funny Day

in Pinmapplelast year

If not for the heavy snow warning, we wouldn't be able to tour around Aomori City. The original plan was to go see the snow monsters in the mountains an hour away from the city. The snow warning ruined this for us but making last-minute plans is one of my great assets so here we were.

Our first stop was the Seiryu-ji Temple where we would also be seeing the Great Buddha of Aomori.

Going to the temple by commute might be a little difficult because of the snow and the traffic. We're not from this city and not so familiar with it so we booked an uber taxi to go there. The 3 of us (my 2 friends and I) were making ourselves fit in the back seat. We didn’t know an adventure would await us that would become a memorably funny memory. Is it the temple? The Buddha? Or something else?

After almost 20 minutes, I read the signs saying parking to the temple was up ahead. Oh great, we're almost there.

BUT WAIT! Our lady uber taxi driver made a U-turn and went up the hills. Okay, maybe that was the wrong way, not for taxis.

We passed by houses on a narrow road and saw cars in a somewhat parking area. We passed by a ticket office-like stand and then.. we passed by an orange bridge you'd often see in temples.. and then...... drg drg drg the car passed by a bumpy road going downhill which seems like stairs... (this time we stopped talking because we felt something was wrong).. and then the car stopped just in front of the gate you'd see in a temple.

"大丈夫ですか?" (read as daijoubu desuka? or in EN: Are you okay?) A shout from the ticket office was heard.
"大丈夫じゃないですね" (read as daijoubu janai desune or in EN: I'm not in any way fine) The reply from our driver.

Then a guy (I think he's a monk in the temple) dressed in casual Japanese clothes came and was so confused and dumbfounded seeing the car in that state. He told us we should get off the car first and he'd talk to the driver so the driver turned on the car again and moved a little to the front so we could go out. We couldn't because the snow was blocking the door.

Then we're out! Whew! That was definitely an adventure but we were worried about the car and the driver because how could she get out of that mess?! And yes, just as we thought, that was the stairs! LOL

See the taxi behind the gate?

Because we were so worried about the GTA stunt of our driver who's now getting lectured by the guy, we were just outside standing. We just didn't know what to do, I mean we're still in shock, we couldn't switch back to tourist mode after experiencing that.

View from the parking lot, where we should have been dropped off

The guy saw us just standing there and became worried so he told us we could go in, and they'll just sort things out with the driver.

This should have been the place where we would come from until the driver made a U-turn

So off we go inside. I mean the car was already inside, we just had to pass by it again. 😂

The stairs that made us shut up in the car LOL

Tire tracks were left behind LOL What a memorable day

We paid the entrance fee from the ticket office, yes, that was indeed the ticket office and beside it was the souvenir shop. Then after, we freshened up at the toilet because that experience would really make you pee. 🤣 TMI LOL

Walking in the "orange bridge" that the car just passed by

Okay, back to being tourists. We had to erase the driver and what happened a while ago while touring around the temple.

We're the only ones in the temple! How cool is that! It's like we owned the place. We see no one walking, no one taking photos, no photobombers, and no one to guide us (we're making the tourists our guide when we travel because for sure, where the crowd goes, that's definitely some travel spot). OOOPS wait! We didn't need guides because we could just manage by ourselves. We got a pamphlet after all.

How to go near in this snow?

Had to zoom in because I thought I'd be able to see the face

The 金堂 (read as Kondou or main hall) is the first thing you'd see before going deep into the temple grounds. There was a monument which I couldn't figure out what just beside it with a statue of someone.

Temple main hall


Pagoda

The 5-storey pagoda can be seen from the distance. It is said to be the 4th tallest pagoda in Japan.

Pagoda

We couldn't go near because we didn't know the way and we thought it would be off-limits so we're just mesmerizing it from a distance. We also couldn't really see the path going there clearly because it was covered in snow. It was beautiful still.

Me


Around The Falls

Going further was like going deep into a quiet white forest. No wildlife, no birds, and the only thing we hear were our footsteps and the snow falling from the trees.

I guess this should contain a flowing water but it's full of snow.

If you've watched some animes or Japanese TV shows, you'd probably be familiar with a big bell that one could ring. We saw that but we didn't bother making it sound.

The way to the bell

The bell up close

There's a Jizo statue few meters across it. You pray about the aborted or miscarried children to one statue and to the other, the happiness in the next world for your ancestors. When we were there, there was a candle being lit up.

The windmills at the back are said to be offerings to the children who died young.

Windmills are the back

We couldn't figure out this statue but it's a Jizo statue for sure. Honestly being this so close to these statues kinda scared me a bit.

Another statue

So.. this was the falls. No running water as you can see because it's frozen and everything was covered by snow. Okay, not really everything.

The falls

At the foot of the falls, there were 3 Jizo statues. They're like children statues but because of the snow, it's not clearly seen. We could only see 2 of them.

FallsStatues

There was one more statue near the falls.

I've read that Jizo statues are often seen in paths like this so no wonder we're seeing them here while walking deeper into the temple grounds.

Where we came from


The Great Buddha

The Great Buddha in Aomori is often called as Showa Daibutsu in Japanese. It was built during the Showa period hence its name.

Showa Daibutsu

Aomori's Showa Daibutsu is the tallest seated bronze statue of Buddha in Japan. I've been to the one in Kamakura and this one in Aomori indeed was larger. So far, I've only been to 2 in Japan (not counting those I've seen from a distance) but I know there are 18. Will I ever collect them all? 😅

The Great Buddha

My 2nd Great Buddha statue so I just had to take a photo

Seeing it up close was intense. I was a bit scared (again) because it's something sacred and I felt like I had to be in my most behaved manner.

Writings underCannot read

Apparently under the statue, there's a museum inside that you can enter for free. I was the last one to enter because my friends went inside already and I went to a dark area, then got surprised by the lights turning on automatically. It frigthened me to be on my own in that room full of big statues so I left the room and be with my friends. (Note to self, there's a limit to solo explorations)

The dark room where I went alone only to be frightened

My friends were busy looking at the paintings hung on the wall with its meaning. There were English translations of the Japanese scripts so it got us interested in learning about them. They were how a person dies and what will happen after. If you read each one (please click on the photo to make it bigger), you'd also be interested I think (sorry, not really the best angle for these photos).

If you read the text from the last photo, you'd be surprised to read about #5 and #6. Oftentimes I think loudly and mumble in a low voice but I guess I'd have to change this habit from now on.

Some words to live by.

The other half was about memorabilia of events that had taken place in the temple premises.

More statues can be seen inside. This was the dark room where I first went alone and got frightened. There were charms you could purchase too and lots of omikuji or sacred lots where you could know your fortune.

Outside's where you'd hang it


Ending The Tour

The Great Buddha was the deadend so we had to go back from where we came.

Going back

On the way back

On the way back, we stopped by the souvenir shop (pa budol muna before leaving). Honestly there were lots of good stuff. There was even a collection of the Chinese zodiac in cute figurines. If I'm a collector, I'd buy it. My friend couldn't resist and bought something for himself.

In the souvenir shop

Zodiac cute figurines

There's a building that we haven't explored but we're not sure too what's in there. It's just right across the souvenir shop.

To the building we haven't explored

Seeing the orange bridge, we remembered the uber driver. We wondered what had happened to her. We saw her go to the main hall or admin office then after, she’s gone. The taxi wasn't in the gate anymore. Whew, issue solved!

Let's take a photo in the orange bridge where the taxi passed

We had to book an uber ride again going back. We wondered if that driver would accept our booking and have more to this epic day. But she didn't. 😁

At the gate, no more taxi!

While waiting for our uber taxi, we saw the same guy riding a small bulldozer going up. Apparently that was used to clear the snow beside the stairs so the taxi could go up again and be free. 😅

The guy saw us and asked us if we had already called a taxi and we said yes. Before he left, he told us..

"今日は記念だ" (read as kyou wa kinen da) which means today's a memorable day

And we all shared a laugh after. 😂

Even after a month that this happened, we still remembered it vividly like it was just yesterday and my friends and I still talk about this incident. It was indeed a memorably funny day.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


sources:
Wikipedia Seiryu-ji
Showa Daibutsu

All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Maybe she was trying to drive you straight to the Buddha, even though she was going the wrong way! Oh, what an adventure! 😂 The snow is pretty, but looks so cold! 😬 I imagine it would be great fun to hang with you and your friends! 😁

Hahahaha! That was so kind of her to drive us straight to the Buddha 😂 It got her to trouble though 😅
It was cold but it wasn't. Hmm, how to explain it. Maybe we got used to the cold already? 😂 You can maybe hang out with us in the future kittygirl! 😆

drg drg drg

🤣 When you can't explain the feeling, just use the sound

Then after, we freshened up at the toilet because that experience would really make you pee.

Wahjahaha the combo of coldness and shock factor

We see no one walking, no one taking photos, no photobombers, and no one to guide us

Noice. Actually I prefer no tourist guide if may paper guide naman. It gives you the liberty and not feeling "touristy" at all.

No wildlife, no birds, and the only thing we hear were our footsteps and the snow falling from the trees.

Good thing! I do not want to ever encounter a moose 😰

Oh~ love the Japanese scripts! As always, nice blog and pretty Witty!! 😍

!PIZZA

It's even hard to put the sounds into words so I had to really say it a few times before writing it down 😂 It's also so hard to explain LOL

It gives you the liberty and not feeling "touristy" at all.

I agree! My friend who's not from Japan kept joking he's not a tourist anymore but a local in Japan because we're always taking him to places where there are no tourists or less tourists 😂

Good thing! I do not want to ever encounter a moose 😰

I didn't think about a moose! Of all the wildlife, why a moose though? Just curious hahahaha

Thank you jiji! <3

May nakita kasi ako video ng elk or moose, anlaki pala nila. Baka play ded na lang ako HAHAHA

Well it makes sense naman din to say na baka nga may ma encounter ako sa lugar na to, parang may mga videos din akong nakitang ganyan eh
Di ako mag play dead, picturan ko muna sya hahahaha

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1823.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay! Thank you!

That was absolutely stunning 💓 a perfect adventure ☺️, You're such a great storyteller @wittyzell ..I'm so excited to read another one of your adventures😁 keep it coming!

Thank you so much! I'm not even sure if I delivered story right just as how I imagined it 😅 But glad someone understood what I was trying to say 😅

What an adventure! Poor uber driver 🙂 I must admit that I have never driven on stairs 😂 I would probably be freaked out too..

Sooooo much snow! It looks beautiful and COLD. I can imagine that it's like completely different place when you come in summer.

Also, I wonder, what kind of snow monsters were you supposed to see before you got to hear about the snow storm?

Thank you for sharing!

That was our first experience of a real-life GTA scene too so we were all in shock 😂 We were busy talking that it made us quiet 😂

Yes! We saw some photos of what the temple looks like in summer and it's really so different. I think I like how it looks like during winter when it's covered with snow, like this. But the pagoda was really nice even in summer.
It's not so cold anymore when we were there because we got used to the cold. 😂
If it was windy, that's another story.

Also, I wonder, what kind of snow monsters were you supposed to see before you got to hear about the snow storm?

You're the first to ask! 😁


Aomori Snow Monsters
source: Aomori Tourism website

This ↑
We wouldn't be skiing or snowboarding though, but we would be riding the gondola and seeing these snow monsters from the cable car.

Goodness, nahiya pa yong snow di pa tumabunan lahat, ahaha charrr, I mean I can see all white. It's pretty actually but I am not sure if I already experience how cold to be in there, lol.

Anyways, I hope the driver and her car was okay. And glad you arrived there safely. Ang dami daming maganda sa loob, ang saya wari tumambay jan sa dark room habang nagbabasa sa wattpad ahaha tahimik at mapayapa hahaha. Ako kasi natambay sa may c.r kasi madilim sa part na yun, skl, lol.

You'll get used to the cold eventually. When we were there, we didn't mind the cold and never thought it was less than 0 degrees celsius. But when it snows, like heavy snowing, and so windy, aaaaahhh ayown, feel na feel yung ginaw. Luckily, the weather was perfect that time, it didn't have strong winds and heavy snows so we got to enjoy every bit of the place.

Why in a dark room? Actually, I'm also fine with dark places but in here, surrounded by statues that are like looking at you, nakoowww uwi nalang ako ahahaa It made my heart raced hindi sa kilig but sa takot hahaha

I have seen the Great Buddha in Kamakura, but never the one in Aomori. The head looks longer than the one in Kamakura! It is covered with snow and very powerful😳😳

Agree! It's powerful indeed. As I was looking at it, I can't help but be in awe. Now that you've mentioned about the head, indeed this one is longer.

A lovely post...

What makes the sound drg drg drg

Witties taxi😭😅🤣🤣

The drivers got moxi, I'll give her that✨.


That's a lot of see statues 😵, I think this location have been featured in a lot of anime's 😍, with the snow it just makes it a lot more enchanting ✨

HAHAHAHAHA there's no such thing as witties taxi but who knows, in the future, maybe there would be 😂
I don't think I would hire this driver though, I might get lectured by people from the temple if it happens 😂

IKR! The snow really made it look more beautiful! I also think I saw some animes with this kind of view but can't really pinpoint their names.

Tbh, one name really did come to mind when I was reading but alas😭😭

What a great place indeed 🥰🤗 And what makes it more exciting to see such beuatiful place was the snow that covering the place. Ang lamig, hope to see a snow in person. 🤗🥰

Thank you! Medj malamig nga, it was less than 0 celsius when we were there but we weren't that cold 😅

Your taxi driver performs GTA action and it's cool in my opinion. Btw, the buda temple covered in snow looks really beautiful

I think she was a new driver so she wasn't yet so familiar with this part of the city but yep, it was cool and funny at the same time. 😅

Nakakatawa naman yung driver HAHAHAHA I would be in shock din, pero sana okay naman yung car niya 🤣

Kahit sa pictures palang you can tell na ang scared ng The Great Buddha 😊

Kaya nga, we were so worried about her and the car. It would be fine sana if she owns the car but I think that was from a taxi company so for sure, she'd be scolded. But it was really funny at the same time.

I have never seen snow fall in front my eyes. It's my desire to watch such kind of scenario someday.
I am impressed to see the beauty of that place. I wish I were there 😍.

I thought there's snow in your country..? Or nope? Maybe I just imagined 😅
Hope you can visit soon!

I am from Bangladesh and here it is impossible to form snow ❄️.

Hope you can visit soon!

I also hope so..

Ohh I guess it's a tropical country? Then I hope you see some snow soon!

Ohh I guess it's a tropical country?

Hmm It's a tropical country.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Yay!! Thank you!

It was a perfect winter post, Wittywhale. And I love the grandeur of the temple. It's so big and mesmerizing.

Thank you! No more winter now but this was the epic thing that happened last winter 😅

Natawa ako sa uber driver pero yong well na may bell reminds me of a Japanese horror movie.Hehe!

Horror movie pa talaga out of all the films hahahaa luckily we're not haunted 😂

hahaha si Sadako akong mahinumdoman diay

HAHAHAHA! MYGHED sya pa talaga!

hahaah sya ra akong nailhan lol

That place is gorgeous specially when snowing 😍 I wish I could also visit Japan in the future 😆

Hopefully you could! Lots of people come here during winter.

Just thinking about it makes me both scared and excited 😆

No need to be scared. Nothing to be scared about 😂

I miss seeing a winter with lots and lots of snow, I'm sure you had a wonderful experience visiting this fairytale place.

It was a wonderful experience indeed!

Parang bid buddha dto. Pero mas malaki jan.. Wala na masyado view makita,covered with snow na 😅.. But still love the snowy view hehe..

True, it’s just snow all around. It looked pretty in snow 😅

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal