Athens, Greece - Travelreport 🇬🇷

in Pinmapple11 months ago

BeFunky-collage.jpeg

 

Good Day Travelers!

 
A few weeks ago I was traveling through the capital of Greece - Athens. In this blog I will share my personal thoughts and experiences about this historical city. Beside that I will also guid you through the city in an artistic-photographic way.
 
Athens was definitely a country which I will remember for a long time in a good and also bad way. Throughout the post you will understand why. Travels not always turn out as expected but we can surly learn from each trip we do :))
 

AR501976.jpg


 

Bad Things First?

 
Well, I know that a travelpost shouldn't start with the bad sides of a country first but it will help you to understand the entire journey better. I made a mistake, a terrible mistake!
 
Traveling full time now I of course look for good prices regarding the accommodation. Doing that I randomly picked one of the cheapest guesthouses in Athena which was actually located quite well near the center. Little did I know that my District Omonoia is the crime hotspot in Athena. I honestly never saw an area like this outside of a movie!
 

  • Open drug use on the streets
  • Physical violence
  • Prostitution
  • Very high number of Homeless people
     

I have to admit that nothing bad happened to me during these 6 days but walking around the district with my expensive camera gear was quite uncomfortable. I saw people getting beat down, people using Heroin on the street and many more unpleased things. Even the restaurant and guesthouse owner strictly recommend me to not walk around this district. Uff, what a start! :))
 

AR501984.jpg
 
The reason why I didn't research the district first was that I never had any problems like this in any of my travels before. But as said, from each trip we learn. And as I couldn't cancel my booking anymore I just had to make the best out of my situation.
 


Getting around Athens

 
After the bad start of the post we already come to a great point of Athens - It has a great Metro System which literally brings you to every corner of the city! I'll list you some of the prices which are in my opinion super fair below:
 

  • Airport to any destination 9 EUR
  • 24h Ticket 4 EUR
  • 3 Day Tourist Ticket 8 EUR
  • 90 min Ticket 1.20 EUR
     

Athens-metro-map-2022.jpeg
Source
 
Using the Metro is definitely the cheapest and also quickest way to get around the City!
 


Things to do in Athens

 
Beside the historical monuments there are also a lot of streets and districts where you can find great restaurants, cafes, museums and all sorts of shopping possibilities. For my personal taste I would honestly rank Athenas at the more boring side of a list but I guess for couples or elderly people its a great City to visit.
 
The main attraction in Athens is of course the Acropolis which may be one of the most famous monuments in Europe. I have made a separate post where I shared my experiences at this location.
 

AR501909.jpg
 
AR501914.jpg
 
AR501919.jpg
 


A walk through Plaka

 
The Plaka district was definitely one of my favorite places in Athens. It's an area with amazing architecture and colorful houses (Some of them even from the 1800s). When ever you visit Athens you definitely need to put a walk through Plaka on your list!
 

AR501969.jpg

AR501971.jpg

AR501972.jpg

AR501974.jpg

AR501975.jpg

AR501976.jpg

AR501990.jpg

AR501995.jpg

AR502006.jpg

AR502011.jpg

AR502015.jpg

AR501996.jpg

AR502020.jpg
 
I was quite surprised that Plaka was compared to Acropolis not crowded at all. It's really a great spot to enjoy and it definitely gives the soul some rest. Make sure to also try one of the Cafe's in the area which mostly offer a great view and also make you feel pretty comfortable with all the plants and flowers around you.
 


Architecture of Athens

 
Beside the cozy Plaka district you also have a lot of other areas which offer great Architecture. As the big majority of the City is super safe you can walk around freely almost everywhere (Just avoid Omonoia :D)
 

AR501945.jpg

AR501950.jpg

AR501955.jpg

AR501959.jpg
 
The Pictures above are from the National Museum and I actualy planed to visit it during my stay. I've tried it 3 times at different hours of the day but unfortunately it was always way to crowded. When you exit the Acropolis you walk down right next to the Museum so many tourist and school classes take the opportunity to walk right into the Museum. But either way, I had great fun photographing the Museum from the outside! :))
 

AR501965.jpg
 
Beside that I've also visited the “Neoclassical Trinity” which is the national library of Athens. Definitely one of my favorite buildings to photograph!
 

AR502034.jpg

AR502037.jpg

AR502049.jpg
 


Was it worth visiting Athens?

 
I give it a yes. Even though I had some bad experiences with my guesthouse location it was overall a good trip. What would I do different? Not staying 6 days - That's way to much. I think 2-3 days are absolutely enough to visit and explore the City.
 
Next time I definitely have to visit some of the hundreds of Islands around Greece. I think, that's where you find the true heart of the country.
 
At last I of course have to mention the food in Athen - It is amazing! The Greek kitchen is full of variety and you would probably need months to try it all. A clear positive point again for the Country :))
 

I hope you guys enjoyed this little virtual trip with me trough Athens!
 
Best,
Chris

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/crypptogalz/re-leothreads-cwt689zs
https://leofinance.io/threads/view/almostpeter/re-leothreads-2runfudgy
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( crypptogalz, almostpeter ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


@worldcapture, sorry to see that you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @worldcapture! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 90000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1882.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome! Thanks a lot! :))

How is beautiful in your pictures. I see all things are bright, ancient and unique design.That is a wonderful post.

Thanks a lot, @iamsonneymar ! I really appreciate your comment :))