Catholics of Vietnam: Vietnamese parishioners sing in Da Nang Cathedral. Video

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


There are millions of Christians in Vietnam. I never knew before I visited the country. It was interesting to witness Catholic traditions so far from Europe. Probably, all of this is usual for many but I have never been to a Catholic country and I saw French religious architecture for the first time in Vietnam (Hope I will visit France too one day). Here, I want to share a short video showing several scenes in Da Nang Cathedral.

I shot these clips at the Sunday service on October 24, 2018, and I had them in my archive, never posted anywhere. Recently, I combined them into one video (using a nice free program DaVinci Resolve) and uploaded it to 3speak.tv to make it accessible for historians of the future. :) If you are not a historian of the future, you still can watch it to feel the vibes of the other culture as well as religious devotion.

It was a challenge to shoot these videos. When I saw Da Nang Cathedral's Sunday service for the first time, they didn't allow passing-by travelers to enter the yard. So I took several images through the gates' bars and I decided to come back next Sunday to find a way of sneaking inside.

Next Sunday, a security guard spotted me again but he decided not to stop me for some reason. Maybe, my large camera and a tripod made him retreat - too impressive equipment.

I hastily took a series of images and started shooting clips feeling that someone could ask me to leave any moment.

However, they got used to me, probably, thinking I was a hired man or a guy from a sort of newspaper. :)


I already posted an entry about this beautiful city if you are interested:

Thank you for stopping by!

Regards,
@x-rain

My portfolio on Alamy | Twitter


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!