Treasure hunting in Rhode Island

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Monday morning started out as quite the adventure. My fiance and I woke up at 4am so we could beat the morning traffic. After an hour of us both showering and packing we were ready to hit the road. The first quest was to get breakfast and a coffee for the 2-3 hour ride we had ahead. 30 minutes later and we were on the highway heading down 200 miles.

img_0.9479197908834446.jpg

The kind of treasure we are in search of is sea glass. Sea glass hunting is something my fiance introduced me to and I fell in love. It's something her grandmother and her used to do and it's a lot of fun.

What is sea glass? Well sea glass is weathered glass you find washed up on beaches near rocks and in piles of sand that pieces stick too. It sort of feels like one giant ispy book. The way you can identify sea glass from glass that isnt weathered is the frosty appearance it gives the glass. Sea glass can be used for a variety of craft projects such as art and jewelry. Different colors have different raritys with white and brown being the most common.

img_0.29933271861124.jpg

We arrived in Bristol Rhode Island around 8:10am and were in for a surprise as the streets were flooded with people and the sidewalks lined with cars for miles.
[Apparently Bristols fourth of July celebration is the oldest in the country] (https://www.abc6.com/bristols-fourth-of-july-parade-is-back-after-scaled-down-year/ )
We ended up starting our hunt at Colt State Park where all the floats were getting ready for the parade and they were shutting down the street we just drove on. We weren't able to access the good part of the rocks because it was covered in water so we went to a smaller section and had very minimal luck. We stayed for an hour and then took off on another 30 minute drive across Rhode Island. We made a stop in Middletown at our favorite place in all of Rhode Island, Ma's Donuts and got another coffee and a huge Boston creme donut. Now onto Fort Wetherill

img_0.4494606125111825.jpg

Fort Wetherill is one of my favorite places in Rhode Island, personally. That is because of the graffiti that is covering the forts. It is also home to a very small patch of beach that is very good for finding sea glass. One side is nice and rocky so it can catch big pieces and the other side is small pebbles good for smaller pieces. Once again we were not having the best of luck but there was a few treasures here or there for us to loot.

img_0.9921287806872967.jpg

The third and last place we visited was a small beach also in Jamestown. This is where we had the most luck and found an older couple who were looking for sea glass aswell. Regardless how much sea glass we found, I still had an amazing day. The real Rhode Island treasures are the memorys we make there.

Why Rhode Island? Well we have been traveling here for years and is starting to feel like a second home. There's a lot of variety and you aren't limited to just one beach. There is water all around you and you travel over huge bridges to get from town to town. Its absolutely beautiful. We didnt take the trip to Newport this time but Fort Adam's is another spot we enjoy looking for sea glass.

What are some of your favorite places to escape and what do you enjoy doing there? What makes that place so special? I'd love to hear from you down below in the comments. Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yems! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!

It's been over 7 years that I have gone looking for sea glass :O I used to live very close to the ocean and spend many hours lurking the local beaches when I lived in Massachusetts ;) I've been in Western Maine for quite some time now and during this time my love of rockhounding has grown tremendously <333 Looks like there are some nice pieces of specular hematite in your cover image of this post :D I would have snagged those lovelies up for sure ;)

Anyways, thank you so much for taking the time to share with the community. Wishing you & yours all the best!

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

I sometimes forget how large Maine actually is. I live southern Maine/northern New Hampshire and find myself always traveling down the east coast instead of exploring more of my own backyard. If I travel 5 hours south I'd have gone through 4-5 states and be past New York but if I drive 5 hours north I'd still be in Maine lol I am very grateful to live on the coast, i dont know how people in land locked states do it!

Massachusetts has been really good to us in terms of sea glass aswell. There's a nice place in Salem I want to go for our next adventure. I'll be sure to make a post about it. :)

Thanks for the support. Hope you have a great day

I sometimes forget how large Maine actually is. I live southern Maine/northern New Hampshire and find myself always traveling down the east coast instead of exploring more of my own backyard.

Riiiiiiight. There is so much here to explore & injoy tho that I am the opposite xD

If I travel 5 hours south I'd have gone through 4-5 states and be past New York but if I drive 5 hours north I'd still be in Maine lol I am very grateful to live on the coast, i dont know how people in land locked states do it!

lmao so true, soooo true xD Thankfully Maine has it all <333

Massachusetts has been really good to us in terms of sea glass aswell. There's a nice place in Salem I want to go for our next adventure. I'll be sure to make a post about it. :)

I look forward to reading that post. Salem will always have a special place in my heart, that's where I was born and raised :D (even so i've only been back a handful of times since I moved lol) It will be exciting to see where in Salem you are referring to ;) Have you also gone collecting in Marblehead? It's quite lovely as well.

Thanks for the support. Hope you have a great day

My pleasure :) Thanks, you too!

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

Oh wow, I've actually never heard of marblehead but I looked it up. It looks like it would be a great place to find some interesting pieces.

Right on. There are also some good spots in Swampscott as well. Be sure to avoid lynn LOL but Nahant is also good.... 40 steps in particular ;)

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

Awesome to see some more New England folks around here! Round the Boston area ourselves for now, not sure when we are moving but we spend a lot of time throughout Maine, mass and New Hampshire. I would love to own something in Maine one day, as a way to stay close to friends and family once we move. Having a place to go back to for visits would be great.

Cheers to that my friend! :) So awesome to connect with fellow New Englanders. It was also a lifelong dream of maine to acquire property in maine..... took awhile but I got it done <333 Sending you Bright Blessings as you also manifest your hearts desire as well <333

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1253.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yems.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This is great to see another New England person on here! Southern Maine is beautiful, we spend a lot of time in York and the New Hampshire coast as well. We just spent the whole day in north Hampton today lol. Love the area a lot! It’s kind of funny, I don’t really venture south of Boston for any beaches. I spent a lot of time in lynn, Nahant, Gloucester and stuff growing up but I don’t know if I’ve been to any beaches south of Boston besides Hyannis once. Northern snob? Lol!

Some awesome adventures you and your fiancée had it seems! Sea glass is one of the great things to find indeed, we have a few nice pieces from some trips over time. What has been nice to do if you’re keeping it as decoration or something, is to write a quick date and location on one side so you’ll remember where you got it! My wife got me into that and it’s great to see where we got some of the trinkets we’ve found over time.

Excellent post here, I hope you stick around! I would love to see you do well and explore the platform. You’re off to a great start!

Thank you for the kind words and taking your time to comment. New England is the best I was born in Massachusetts but grew up in Maine and New Hampshire. You honestly cant beat the scenery around here. From lakes and oceans to mountains and forests, there's something to do outside for everyone.

My fiance and I love to travel but with covid last year and her starting school this year we haven't been able to get out much. This trip made us realize how we need to make time to take trips like this again. We dont necessarily categorize sea glass by dates but we do keep it together where we found it. So all the glass we got went with all the other glass we found in jamestown and bristol a couple years ago. It's funny cause were both different kinds of collectors. She likes quantity over quality and I'm the opposite lol

Another New Englander here. I love Rhode Island, especially how the scenery is always changing and so many great waterfront spots. I grew up on the coast of Maine but lived in the Boston area for a long time too. My favorite place I lived in Mass was Hull, home of Nantasket Beach. Not a lot of seaglass there, but it's still a wonderful place to visit; very lively in the summer. People who I knew in the suburbs would say "man, Hull is so depressing in the winter" but I couldn't disagree more since I loved having a gigantic beach all to myself most of the year.

I've been passing this tip around to Hivers in hopes that someone will go there and post some pictures for us: Take the drive up the coast of Maine to Port Clyde, just south of Rockland, and take the ferry over to Monhegan Island. It is an old artist colony going back to the 1800s and once you get out there you'll see why, it's one of the most beautiful places ever. I live on the west coast now, but I'd love to make it to Monhegan again before I die.

To get back on topic to seaglass, out here on the west coast I visited "glass beach" in Fort Bragg CA; a whole beach completely covered in pebble sized seaglass. So cool!