The Comedy Open Mic Weekly Showcase


Greetings

This is our weekly showcase where we highlight posts in this community shared here in the last seven days. These are the posts that have impressed us at COM the most.

Now, let's get into this week's showcase.

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

@luckydrums - PARENTS ARE GOOD TRICKSTERS ; Some lies our parents told us when we were kids

Isn't it funny how parents are always perfect in their stories ? they never go wrong and always paint themselves as heroes.
Have you realized that many of the stories parents tell about themselves are false and most times very unrealistic?. Just like myself, I'm sure you all believed everything your parents said when you were younger. There stories were always so beautiful and convincing. It made them seem like super humans, they were always heroes and most times they made it seem like they were flawless.

A note to all parents, but then many of the future parents are cooking up stories to tell their kids already. It's a generational thing so more beautiful and convincing stories are coming up. Do check out and read more of parental lies in this post.

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@luckydrums/parents-are-good-tricksters-some-lies-our-parents-told-us-when-we-were-kids

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

@sekani - Self-Love: I Found My True Identity

You must be wondering how Legolas is related to my self-love story. Some years ago,I took a photo, and I liked it so much I kept admiring it. This photo
I noticed something unusual about the shape of my ear. See, I'm someone who used to like to be "normal," but I doubt I'll ever be. Noticing the unusual piqued my interest. I proceeded to observe my ears in the mirror, and one person came to mind. Guess who? Legolas!

So in the end, they both look alike with just one feature which is the ears and we almost got deceived by "Found my true identity" in the title. Well, that's a good tricksy bait.
Let's just hope @oldsoulnewb won't come up with a post about him having same finger shape with @diikaan

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@sekani/self-love-i-found-my-true-identity

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

@writermaximus - Does bald = badass

And then a question popped into my mind?
Why is it that all the bald guys I see are cool and badass?
After that question was popped, the wheels in my brain started turning and my eyes lit up.
An opportunity had arisen
an opportunity for unnecessary research! (my specialty 😌)

So I took my pen, paper and like 2 gallons of carbonated drinks and went to work.
The hypothesis is: are bald guys badass?
After 4 hours of watching tiktok and YouTube shorts and 4.5 minutes of grueling research, I have come up with a theory
the theory is: all bald guys are badasses

There's always something to research on whether reasonable, useful or crazy and useless. And here is another for the guys, a post to encourage the bald less guys to go bald. You don't want to miss out on this opportunity freely given.

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@writermaximus/does-bald-badass

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

@diikaan - JUST WEIRD, THAT'S ALL

Weirdo 1: "hey, what do you think we take kid and nap (since kids love to take a nap), join the two to form kidnap, then interpret it as a form of hustle for fellow weirdos like us"
Weirdo 2: "sounds like the idea of the century. Let's dooo iiiiiittt!" and boom we have the word.

A random rant and crazy weird thoughts about what we take as normal already but then, why that word "Kidnap"? Well, this weirdo gave us a hint on how it came about. He may be right or wrong but just in case, we won't be totally ignorant. Other weird thoughts was shared, that's all... Do check it out.

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@diikaan/just-weird-thats-all

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

@humbe - Is it too late to refine the 50/50 gender parity?

Being the only lady for the session, I was paired with a skinny male for the rescue training and when It was my turn to rescue him he was pulling himself up too, I guess he got tired of hanging. This means in reality, if he happens to be unconscious he was going to need God's mercy and his ancestors to help him win the battle against gravity.

So funny how these things ran through your mind concerning him, he would definitely fall if he had heard them.
This post went in the direction of not totally supporting women asking for equal rights with men for some reasons. You should check out her reason.

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@humbe/is-it-too-late-to-refine-the-5050-gender-parity

Comedyopenmic_divider.png

These are this week's showcase posts. They are funny, well-written, and outright amazing. Make sure to check them out.

Remember, @captaincryptic invites you all to use the [HIVE-155986] tag in your posts to earn yourself some @lolztoken.

Thank you for reading

Remember to comment the links to your posts in our COMmunity below.

Sort:  

Sweet of you to mention me! Now here I am, appearing like a creature in some 90's horror flick. Great choices this week, I had a good laugh at every one of these posts!

This is such an honor 🤭🥰. Thank you comedy open mic! For the gift too ❤❤❤

Thanks for the mention. I feel really privileged