My Video Making Hustle

in Comedy Open Mic2 years ago (edited)

I've always been afraid of the video camera since childhood because I was a shy one until I grew up and saw that people were making money with it. Uhmm not exactly when I grew up, I've known that a long time but didn't care since I didn't see the need to make money... Dad would always come through for his girl after all.

Then I joined Hive and it's been from one adventure to another in pursuit of getting better votes and growing my account, you know how that is, don't you?

I explored the fiction writing communities, it went well for me. I was getting inspirations to write until I decided to try other communitiea. Then I tried photography, motherhood, weekend, garden, market Friday, Leofinance, movie and TV series, Wednesday walk and even comedy open mic communities... All went well, at least a little bit so it wasn't bad for me exploring them.

Like I said, I was scared of the camera so I never bothered to try out the video required communities and I mean Hive Open Mic or music community. But you know that feeling of "You're missing out and need to just give it a shot".

img_0.7682809313332716.jpg
Source

I decided in my mind to explore the music communities and started with Hive Open Mic. But I didn't know it was an application to frustration at first.

To make my video look good, I got a new wear, styled my hair so beautifully, put on light make up to cover my embarrassing pimples 😏 then I sat like a guru in front of my phone camera.

It was all going so well that I forgot I was going to submit it for many eyes to see. I chose an easy song I loved and could sing very well so I could at least not have difficulty with the song but just how to make the video come out well.

I started to sing after hitting the record button... I sang my heart out... Smiled away as if I was being promised a free trip to Korea... I even gave nice postures and gesticulating while singing some parts of the song... Everything was perfect for a beginner like me.

Then the song ended so I wanted to stop the Video record and I realized that the video had not been recording everything.

Like it didn't record at all... All that display went to waste and I just stared at my phone for almost ten minutes waiting for the video to appear somehow if not, I'll hang myself. After all I did to get a perfect show off of my voice and beautiful make over covered face, the phone video camera welcomed me to a whole new world of frustration and patience.

I had to make the video again and guess what! It didn't record for the second time... I just threw my phone to one corner and forced myself to sleep so I don't burst into tears.

I woke a few hours later, made the video after pressing the record button up to three times just to be sure and I was able to submit my video to the community. Did I give up on making more videos? No, I'm too strong to give up like that.

Did I try to make a video and it didn't record again? It happened a few other times after my first day, I got used to it and saw it as a way to master the song I was presenting so it was kind of a frustrating win-win for me.

It's all for the hustle sweetheart 🥲

IMG-20220605-WA0008.jpg

Sort:  

That must have been frustrating indeed! I personally don't like cameras at all so I won't have these struggles lol. But the best lesson learned here is probably not to give up indeed!

!CTP
!1UP

Haha yeah, at least one who doesn't like to face the camera would learn something 😅

But I wonder why you don't like camera 😁

Summary of what Village people can do 😅😅😅

But really that stuffs hurts. And the most rubbishest thing is that, whenever it happens that will be when you must have done the bestest best of your performance only for you to chop breakfast from normal phone...

Me, I don't just click the button and go...

I click it, and be sure it is recording like with will show 00:05 then I know that it is recording...

At least I can trim out the unwanted part...

But with time you'll discover that it's fun shaaaa

We still dey wait for you, for Afri-tunes 🙄

Aswear! Ksam village people were at work

I explained that part very well na, the video I made was perfect but it didn't record! 😩

I've been doing that since then... Making sure it's recording before I present 😅

Afriktunes should go easy on me o
I'm still trying to be ready 🥲

Lol...I've been posting on Hive Open Mic for some time...and as a well-experienced nobody, I can tell you...It will happen again and again...

Nice one tho...don't cry now...cry when you have all that money....tears of joy are sweeter

Hahaha your consolation matter more as you have experienced it even more than I have... Thanks for the heads up, I just hope it doesn't happen too often 😕

Lol...I hope it doesn't..but it might...One time I found out when I was about to edit the video later on. Also you might delete a goo take thinking it was a bad one...

😳😳😳
That haven't happened to me before and no! It should never! 😢

But I didn't know it was an application to frustration at first.

Hahaha

You also finished recording only to find out that nothing was recorded 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

My belly oo😅😅😅😅

This babeeeeee😅😅😅😅, you are just a comedian...I am laughing out so hard on my bed right now. Tucked myself, with a duvet before out of cold but it seems I am sweating already through this joke🤣🤣🤣🤣

You made my day sweety👍🥰🤗❤

🤣🤣🤣🤣🥲

I'm guessing it has happened to you too before, right?

It's so frustrating 😩

Glad I made you laugh, you should cover up well... I wrote the post under my wrapper 🥲 the cold nor be here

Chisons😂😂😂
And I'm sure the first video will carry a whole lot of vibes sha!!!
Omo😂😂😂

If I'm d one, head go don dey pain me like wtf!!
First time, second time😄😄😂😂

You are a strong woman 💯💪

🤣🤣🤣🤣

As in ehn... If they had told me I was that strong, I would have disagreed to the core 🥲

Some situations in life tends to expose our strength and weakness!!

Omo I give it for you mama yoo💯💓

Haha why is e na doing me as if the thing want to pain me as if e just happen 🤣🤣🤣🥲🥲

Hehehe! You just inspired me to write about mine too. If you know the struggle I went through ehn, someone will have to pity me 😂😂😂

Eyaa 🥲
Will wait to read yours

Already posted oo 😎😆

Alright 🙂

Small phone is making you want to shed tears 😂 😂 😂
If I told you that phone can serve breakfast, you would've doubted me but look at you now. Sometimes I feel like technology was made to frustrate us.

But after you posted it and got the votes, you did not tell us that part o😁😋

You better come and complete this post

Small phone is making you want to shed tears

As in ehn 🥲😂 but I didn't cry sha, I'm a strong lady 😜

I'm coming, I'll come and complete the post... Lemme calculate how much I made 🥲

I can relate. I've had to record a video though not for the public just to save in my gallery and watch myself when I want to. After all the make over and different dance steps, I figured I hadn't pressed the record button. I pulled off everything I had on me that day and it was a nice sleep after. Lol.

🤣🤣🤣
You slept too? Thank goodness I wasn't the only one who felt a sleep was a solution to the frustration 🥲

It's always the best solution 🤣🤣

So right! 😝

Hahaha, soft work, it's our work oo, lol..

Eya, I feel your pain Sist but like you said it's just a way for you to master your song and do better 🥰🥰.

Yes oo, the hustle is real 😒.

Haha the hustle is real and gets tough sometimes that you'll just go to sleep instead of doing anymore 😅

Yes oo that is it oo 🤩🤩. We can not come and kill ourselves, lol.

As in ehn 🤣🤣

I know this feeling 😂😂😂 must have happened a ton of times with TikTok for me 🤣 you’d just stand in front of the camera frustrated and tired of yourself,lol.. it’s a great and encouraging thing that you didn’t give up. We love to see that 😁

Haha you make videos on Tiktok? Cool 🙂
Yeah, couldn't give up anyways

Yeah I do,lol..
Good to know couldn’t give up

A whole roll of attempts, and just in Hive Open Mic where I publish my song every week.

Going through that situation is really hard, but I'm glad you never gave up. I would have given up, ha ha.

Haha no, you shouldn't 😅
Thanks for stopping by

I watched one of your videos this morning and it was superb. Please don't stop singing and also make more videos.

Hahaha I won't, thanks so much your encouragement 😊❤️

Moment of tears😂... I have had a similar experience same on video recording but yours seem to be a setup organized and planed by your phone😂😂🤣😂😅... It's a good thing you didn't give up cause if it was me.. I won't attempt such again 😂💔

🤣🤣
My lazy dj, you can't let your phone make you give up na... Is e nor you that buy it 😝

you can't let your phone make you give up na... Is e nor you that buy it

😂😂😂 Me that hate nonsense?🤣💔

🤣🤣
Wahala o

This just reminded me of the time I was recording myself sing. I sounded so well and I was excited to do the editing because I had recorded like seven other and it didn't come out well only for me to find out I did not record the whole time.. I wanted to die.

I feel your pain😂😂😂

Oh you understand me very well
It's just so frustrating, and to think that it happened on a day you decided to face the camera after much procrastination 🥲

This is just a big time frustration. After all efforts, the phone could not record anything....this is not too good at all.

I couldn't cry but I was very sure that was one of the moments I had to cry... Just didn't as a strong girl 🥲🤣

Hahahah.... I trust you..