Two of the Greatest Coincidences of my Joke-Making Career

in Comedy Open Miclast year

As a humourist who's been making jokes over the years or at least trying to (gotta add "at least trying to" every time, this humility would not feign itself) I've come across so many good set-ups for jokes but these two really set themselves apart in my books. I consider them the greatest, although that's probably because I can't really recall all the coincidences and set-ups I've encountered.

What I mean by set-up for a joke is this, you know how well a joke can fit a particular situation, right? A set-up is that situation and all the things that happened to make that fitting possible. It would surely become clearer as I talk about the two I consider my greatest set-ups.

Set-up 1

FB_IMG_16704299502775521.jpg

So, I posted this meme above on my Facebook page, and a friend of mine, Elizabeth made the following comment:

photostudio_1670432646958.png

And guess what my reply was? Baam!

photostudio_1670432670282.png

She had to say:

photostudio_1670432734803.png

And that's exactly what it was, EXCELLENT!
My reply fit into this shit in some really incredible ways!

photostudio_1670429819930.png

For those of you who don't know jack about Bible stories, my reply was a reference to the Bible story of the Passover. When the Bible God sent an angel of death to kill the firstborn sons of the Egyptians. God instructed the Israelites to kill lambs and rub the blood on the door of their homes so that when the angel sees it the angel would know they are not Egyptians and would skip (Passover) their houses.

Mad reference isn't it?🌚🌚
Count all the coincidences that had to come together so I could make that joke. Firstly, the meme had to be about blood and Elizabeth's first response had to against all the fucking odds in this world contain something about me not coming to her house, like what are the chances?

But it happened and baam! I was there to collect 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Set-up 2

photostudio_1670430414621.png

This one is about the day Bayern Munich beat Barcelona 8 goals to 2. It was a decimation! An utter embarrassment. And this player Philippe Coutinho scored 2 goals and gave one assist against Barcelona. The thing is Coutinho was a Barcelona player who was given on loan to Bayern Munich, so he was one of Barcelona's own, yet he lent his hand to this decimation by scoring 2 goals and giving an assist.

This "betrayal" is what brought about the Julius Caesar reference "et tu Brutu?" But by sheer good luck there was this crazy coincidence, the score line was 8-2 and it rhymes with "et tu". My fucking God!!!!!!!!
What are the odds? What? Tell me! There's no way!!!!

But it happened, and I was there to collect!!


Damn, these jokes really mean a lot to me. Lol. I'm really proud of them, they feel me with joy every time I think of them. Lol. Life can be really crazy.


The End


🤣🤣🤣🤣 Which is your favourite?


Hi there, my novella Professor Otagburuagu just got published. It promises to be thoroughly entertaining and intellectually stimulating. Written by myself and illustrated by Scandinavian artist @katharsisdrill. You can get it from me for just 4 HBD.

You can also order the hard copy from anywhere in the world via this link: https://katharsisdrill.art/the-katharsisdrill-shop/professor-otagburuagu/

I'm counting on your patronage, thank you!



Roll with @nevies, I run a Humor, deeper thoughts, and sex talk blog here on Hive🌚

Sort:  

It is the first one for me😂 like how did that happen😂😂. It was just a perfect match.
You're good abeg😂

Hahahhaha. Thank you @wongi 😃✌

It's always a pleasure.

😃✌

The Passover joke absolutely killed me! Great job capitalizing on that unbelievably lucky set up!

Hahaha! Thanks so much, man🌚✌

It's admirable your brain my friend, to do so many things to bring out smiles. Hey I hope no one from your church reads this ha,ha,ha,ha. Thanks for that professionalism to bring out smiles. I'm sure you have something for those of us who have no internet @nevies ha,ha,ha,ha. thanks for leaving work for this community to make us smile, that's very valuable.

Hahaha! Thank you!

 last year  

Lol... That first set up cracked me up and it is definitely your reply that did most of the joke lol

Heh heh. Thank you, Merit 😃

Well done @nevies! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click here to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Well done @nevies! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click here to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Dear @nevies,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!