IT WAS A HUSTLE TUSSLE VIDEO FOR ME


Anna Shvets from Pexels

I wouldn't have remembered an incident like this if I weren't inspired when I read @merit.ahama's post about her Video Hustle.

Since I joined Hive, I never came across the Hive Open Mic's community and didn't know that one could hustle to make a video by showcasing their talent in singing. I can sing actually, but my voice is something else no one could even describe because, at the end of the day, you wouldn't know if you should call it a soprano, alto, high pitch blablabla...😬

My voice is that bad and if one could say it to my face that I would finally join the community. I'd say the person is lying because I hate to go through stress in my life. Also, I am the kind of person who will never show her face on a video camera. I was that shy lady.

Someone introduced me to Hive Open Mic's community one day when I visited his post, where he was singing, and I was so excited seeing his face for the first time, apart from the chatting we do on WhatsApp. He finally pressured me to join the community to help build my account too. He added that it's always fun there.

After so much persistence in bringing me to the community, he explained many things, and how I would go about editing my videos and submitting them. Geez, it was so stressful, but I did it anyway even though my siblings got their dose of my anger when they kept frustrating my moment. I almost screamed at my Dad because of that 😂😂


This was how it happened......


Kampus production from Pexels


I got the theme of the week and found a song. I rehearsed all night and for another day just to master the lyrics and do what I have to do and submit. When I was sure of knowing the lyrics very well, I proceeded to record myself.

I placed my phone on my system in a slide motion and I didn't lock my room since I was sure no one would disturb me. At least they will hear my voice when I am singing and wouldn't come inside.

At the first attempt, I was singing and recording, and I almost finished the first stanza before jumping onto the lyrics, I heard my grandma calling my name and she didn't stop. I had to stop the recording to meet her. Why would the spirit decide to fuck me up this time? Didn't my grandma hear my voice singing? I had to take the anger to meet her and when I was done, I told her “Mama, don't call me now please”.

I went back inside and started all over again. I recorded myself, and when I reached the second line of the first stanza, it was as if the devil decided to play with my emotion and I kept deleting the videos I have made.

I tried again and I almost got to the end of the song when I heard a bike pass through my window. It wasn't funny anymore and I was just frustrated and couldn't continue the video. The time was running fast and it was getting late. No light would make it brighter. The room was already suffocating me.

I had to carry my gadget outside to make use of the day that was still bright. As I placed my system on the iron on the balcony while my phone was standing in between, and I was starting my song, my Dad and his friend arrived, and that was when they began another topic. Weren't they talking on their way here? Why can't they stop since they saw me from afar off as I was recording my song?

Why has the devil planned it so well today?

I almost gave up not recording anymore because even the make-up I did was clearing off my face. At that time, I wasn't stable myself.

When I finally rested and calmed myself down, I went to meet my Dad because seeing him, he was drunk but I managed to speak to him and his friend signalling to them that they should reduce the volume of their voices as I needed to get this video done.

Thank God, his friend understood me and helped me caution my Dad too because at that moment, he just kept on spilling every word from his mouth due to the excessive alcohol he took.

I went to the back of the house and recorded peacefully even though at the end of the song, some guys came by and their noise was added to my presentation. Well, the devil had failed because I didn't even bother deleting again but had to post like that as it was already getting darker and there was still no light.

My first video presentation was a hustle tussle for me.

Thanks for your time.

20220415_174258_0000.png

Sort:  

Omo that must have been so so tiring. I think your voice is a lot more better than mine when it comes to singing but not withstanding that I think I understand what it feels like to make videos and have people disrupt your video. I make dance videos and monster wheels most times people just walk in front of the camera without even looking and you have to make that video over and over again or more it can be so stressful.

Most times they'll see that your making a video and still pass in front of the camera 😩😩...I almost beat up the last guy that did that 😂😂😂

😂😂😂😂😂😂
This made me remember another incident. The school was on strike and I thought it would be a good opportunity to go record inside the school to make it look unique. My friends followed me because they recorded me.
As we were singing and almost ending, these nonsense guys saw us from afar that we were recording. Shouldn't their brain tell them not to make noise? They proved stubborn and approaching us, they increased their volumes more 😅😅😅😅

I stopped because I couldn't continue and allowed them carry their idiotic movement away 🤣

😂😂😂

School is one of the worst places to record especially if you have very playful colleagues, last time I recorded in school, one thing or the other kept on distracting me till I got really tired and annoyed 😂😂

🤣🤣🤣 You can't choose a school oo because you will end up feeling disappointed.

...I'll tell you exactly what I told @merit.ahama these things happen and you can't change shit

🥲🥲🥲

😆😆😆
Except you find a real solitary place.

A few months back I had an apartment all to myself and I would still find myself with big problems that would get me exhausted.

😆😆😆 I think we just can't run away from them. They are everywhere 😬

Lol. I have recorded a video or two on hive open mic and I can tell you for sure that the hustle was real 😂😂 well, you’d get used to the entire tussle and you’d definitely have fun at it.

Please we do not mind the voice, we’d love to hear more of it 😉

😂😂😂I think about my voice, I am improving

Love to see that 😊

I think yours was worse than mine 😅🥲
Jaguda get Oga true true 🤣

Your grandma, your dad and his friend, the bike passing by... Oh shit! You have patience really 😂

I've done that once too... Submitting the video like that after many trials and time is going.

Don't give up on the hustle, because we will continue to face it 🥲

Thanks for posting to our community!

Don't give up on the hustle, because we will continue to face it 🥲

We will oo. Now, my school I finished from has resumed and students would be resuming on Sunday. How do I do it? You know students with noise? 😬😬😬😬🥺🥺🥺
I will try sha

You're close to your school? 😬
Wahala o

Very close. Na students area sef. So, everywhere, Dem dey there 🤣

You might not know, but I also record a podcast program of my own, and recording also gives stress; I don't have a gadget yet, just the recording phone I have. And yeah, hassle took me 4 hrs just for a 6mins program 🤣 but it's part of the process, I guess? Lol.

😂😂😂😂It's so stressful. Can you imagine going through the shit for four hours so you could record a 6mins video 😅😅

Lol🤣. The fact that make up is needed for this videos is making me laugh more🤣.. Ladies are trying.

For me, I don't know I can be serious to this extent of recording Myself singing for a contest, I go use laugh finish myself 🤣

😆😆😆
I love making my face shine and fresh na. Though sometimes, I don't even think of that.

That's funny Princess. Its a struggle really. Lol.

Struggle indeed 😂😂😂
It's not easy.

I can sing too... but my own is only when I'm in the bathroom or in my mind 🥲🥲

That stuff is really painful

You'll just start wondering why your village people just sit down on top your matter 😪

And most times it always happens when you are already in the mood and the song is going well... fiam.. it will just crash 😪

I can sing too... but my own is only when I'm in the bathroom or in my mind 🥲🥲

🤣🤣🤣 That is when you will discover you have a beautiful voice.

You think yours is bad? Imagine me writing 1,500 words for a post and clearing it but I pressed back instead of copy

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
This has happened to me once. I wanted to cry but I couldn't. Something I formed from my head. It was another tussle trying to bring them back again.