Hail To The Kingpin

img_8471.png

Spider-Man’s rogues gallery is rivaled by none other in the superhero world outside of Batman. Holding his own amongst the Goblins, Symbiotes, and other odd baddies...is Wilson Fisk. You may simply know him as The Kingpin.

He’s been a thorn in the web slinger’s side for decades, and now I get to have him immortalized on my wall as I’m snagging a really cool page of Original Art this week.

img_8192.jpg

When I saw this specific piece pop up for sale, something got me all excited. First off, the page just pops. The first two panels are absolutely killer. The top with Spidey hugging the ceiling and then the next as he drops down in front of the monster that is The Kingpin.

The stark contrast of of the white of Fisk’s suit makes Spidey look like a stick figure. Then boom!!! Action!

The artist is the legendary Stuart Immonen with inks by Wade Von Grawbager and the issue is #25 from the 2015 series. This issue is funny as I ended up purchasing 1000 copies to obtain a copy of the 1:1000 variant cover. So yeah...I’m sitting on a bunch of these fuckers. Maybe one day they will take off a bit as it contains the 1st appearance of Superior Octopus and also sports a killer Alex Ross cover.

img_8470.jpg

Woohoo!

Regardless, I’m super pumped as I think this mofo all framed up properly is really going to pop! Here’s a shot of the page in color. I think the coloring takes away from this particular page. Not that’s it’s bad. I just think it’s prettier and holds more of an impact in its original form on the Bristol board.

img_8469.jpg

The page is costing me $700 beans and the seller was nice enough to allow me to pay it off in a few payments as I’m juggling several payments on other pieces at the moment...Even though it’s not really an “expensive” piece, the timed payments help...so thanks!!! I’ll post once it arrives in the next week or two. I have so much other awesome artwork to show...really excited!!!

Thanks for taking a look!

Blewitt

Sort:  

That's a really nice piece to have. How many original pages like this get sold off? Would it just be selected pages from a given story? Have you looked into the growing NFT market of digital art? I wonder if that can be as big. I just think there is something special about a physical item that has been actually handled by the artist.

!BEER

Digital art is a touchy subject right now amongst collectors. With plenty of artists moving to digital in recent years, it’s created some questions which didn’t exist before so it’ll be interesting to see how the industry handles it in coming years.

Lots of artists sell their art as a way to make extra chase and supplement income. It’s a big industry that’s gotten crazier in recent years as prices on established artists and titles soar to crazy new heights.

I truly think that some some art will be highly coveted down the road...even more so than now. I think that it will crossover into regular art collectors collections instead of mainly comic folk. If and when that does happen....I hope to be sitting pretty.

I guess you will have a mix of rich people who just look for things to spend their money on and real fans who want to have art that means something to them. I hope the latter do not get priced out of the market.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The NFT market is definitely something which should eventually attract comics artists. So many share work in progress, on social. Often also to tease buyers before comic events. A lot of those WIPs could end up on NFT markets, especially if one of them offers quality prints.

Damn, you know how to pick your pieces, I'll grant you that. Excellent score, dude! :)

Thx brother! I have a bunch more to show off including a biggie that I’m gradually chipping away on.


Hey @blewitt, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That’s a great piece. I was seriously just moments ago seeing some posts from Anthony’s Comic Art (on Facebook) and saved it on my “to visit” list... Have you ever been to their shop? It’s only about an hour and a half from me, less for you I’m sure.

I’ve never been to his shop but I have bought off of him before. There was an art con this past weekend that I wish I could have attended but I had to work. 😞

Excellent choice and absolutely agreed, the black and white inks look much stronger. This is one of those great pages which work without color and without text.

Definitely! I love the contrast of just how large and menacing Kingpin is as he looms over Spidey.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 220000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 230000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP