Some Amazing...uh...Amazing Spider-Man Art

8132739E-CF7F-428E-802F-3B66C9D210EC.jpeg

As a kid, I was fairly obsessed with comic books. They were an escape from reality. A place where I could immerse myself when the real world wasn’t cutting it...and there was no better place to do that than in my favorite title...The Amazing Spider-Man.

This specific title holds a special place in my heart. To this day, it’s the only title that I personally still collect. I mainly got involved in the late 80’s/early 90’s. I’m not exactly sure which issue I picked up first but I I remember got hooked quickly.

Riding my bike down to the Hobby Shack (my first local comic shop) with my friends. Bothering Mike behind the counter (whom I’m still friends with today). Wasting away the days talking nerd stuff...it was responsible in building the foundation for where I’m at today.

Superstar artist Todd McFarlane was fresh off his run on ASM and Erik Larsen took over pencilling duties. Those were might big shoes to fill but Erik handled it like a champ...bringing his own flare to the flagship Marvel title.

Those years are my favorite for ASM. I just think they bring back great memories of being a kid...riding down to the comic shop...and entering a world where anything was possible.

Fast forward to the present day, I still feel I’m the same kid inside. Just in an older shittier shell. I still hold the same level of admiration for those books that opened the doorway and paved the way for my love of all things...nerdy.

But a lot of the books coming out today sadly don’t give me the same feelings I had when I was a youngin. So what’s the best way to recapture some of that magic again?!? Drugs!!!!! Lots of drugs!!!

FBFC2360-F05D-427C-94E3-2F3982C3C555.jpeg

I’m joking dum dums...

I’ve started to rekindle that old spark again by diving head first into the Original Art game which for all accounts is just as addicting. For the past few years I’ve been dipping my toes into the waters and just recently snatched up a beauty. I snagged a page from Larsen’s run of ASM.

The page I got holds a special place not only because it’s from my favorite run...and is by one of my favorite Spidey artists...but because it features my favorite villain on Mysterio. I mean...c’mon...look at this!!!

4BE38817-33D7-4B44-8282-494BB3701115.jpeg

Here’s the colored version you’d see in the actual issue.

1922E6A7-AD1B-46B1-AA86-397FE095F7F3.jpeg

To have a piece of Spidey history is a pretty big deal. At least to me it is. I was over the moon when I saw this page pop up for sale. Ya see...not a lot of Larsen’s pages from this run pop up as he sadly had a House Fire in the early 90’s that destroyed a chunk of stuff. That still breaks my heart to think about.

Not so fun fact...the cover to this specific issue...number #337 which is pictured below, was sadly destroyed in that very incident. I contacted Erik before purchasing the page when I was still hemming and hawing, and he told me that while he wasn’t sure how many pages from his run made it vs. ones that got barbecued...the cover to this issue sadly didn’t make it.

3EBA5555-2BAA-43B6-8E03-586910FFADA7.jpeg

A quick word about Erik. The dude is just a class act. I shot him a message and we struck up a great conversation about art and he even showed me some of his own personal collection which is simply Badass!!! So thanks for being awesome brother. You can catch Erik on his creator owned title The Savage Dragon from Image Comics. That book just hit issue #250 which is a tremendous accomplishment. Congrats brother!!!

As for Steve the seller...what can I say?!? He’s an awesome dude who worked out a payment plan with me as it was a tad costly...showed me some of his collection (I want that damn Punisher brother)...and talked life. I hope to do business with him again as well.

Anyway, I wanted to share with you as this was a very special piece for me to obtain. With my OA collection, I view it as a piece of history. I hope to be able to display some of this stuff and showcase it off at a local gallery sometime in the future for other comic fans to enjoy the way I did when I visited the Art of Spider-Man exhibit in NY a couple of years back. Man...what a sight that was.

I also view it as an investment. While I have no intent on moving this stuff anytime soon, perhaps when I am an old man who wants to just relax for a change...maybe then I’ll move some of these pieces to someone who can appreciate them as much as I do.

Original Comic art Is sadly a stupidly expensive road to travel on. Larsen’s pages aren’t getting any cheaper when they do pop up and are only growing in price by the year... so I figured now was as good a time to snag one. I also don’t know how many opportunities will come up to snag one with Mystetio on it.

I got it framed at Michael’s during one of their 70% off sales. They did a fantastic job at helping me choose what would work best and I’ll be getting more done shortly.

888B995A-207F-4EE6-A8DB-347C2B03861E.jpeg

So thank you Erik for indirectly bringing some magic back into my life with this piece. I’d be a complete tool to not mention the amazing inks by Terry Austin on this. He absolutely slays. David Michelinie helped weave fun stories that still stay with me to this day. Thank you to that entire creative team throughout those years. I’m glad to have a piece of that history here in my home and not just my heart. Now I gotta find a spot for this sucka...

Blewitt

Sort:  

Well done, mate: !tip & !BEER 🍻

Posted using Dapplr

🎁 Hi @blewitt! You have received 0.109 HIVE tip from @amico!

@amico wrote lately about: Discovery-It Witness Is Now On-Line! Feel free to follow @amico if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @blewitt, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wasting away the days talking nerd stuff...it was responsible in building the foundation for where I’m at today.

And here's a life lesson, kids...

That is pretty cool. I have always wanted some original comic/cartoon art on my wall and I think that when the time is right, I am going to hit you up to source me something cool :)

Yeah dude. When you are ready lmk. It’s a crazy world and I find myself envious like never before looking at what some folks possess.

Gorgeous page! I wasn’t reading ASM as a kid, but when Larsen hit the “non-adjectived” Spider-Man title with the Revenge of the Sinister Six follow up it blew my little mind. Glad you had an awesome interaction with him to go along with the art!

I don’t follow Savage Dragon, but I’m really looking forward to this.


C2AC8C6A8796458B9930B08BAE492C99.jpeg


Larsen’s going to knock this one out of the park homaging all the classic newspaper strips.

Funny I hadn’t seen that upcoming cover yet. It looks awesome. He’s going the entire issue like that?

I think each double page spread is going to be a different style homage to a classic Sunday comic strip. If anyone can pull it off, he can!

So awesome to hear about what a great guy Erik is. I've always been leery of meeting my heroes, since they're only human after all, but it's heartwarming to learn that the good people really are good people.

Nice to see your stuff pop up in my feed again, man. I was worried you'd taken a swan dive out of the Hive. :)

Figures you finally fucking appear when I've been too ill to even log into my laptop. Hope you've been doing alright and keeping safe, you smelly virgin.

Lol. Yeah I have to get back on track here. How ya been holding up???

Not too good recently. Had to get a Covid test done on Friday, been ill for 11 days with a fever for 8 of those 11 days. Lots of symptoms, so I've been mostly bedridden recently. Just waiting on my test results to come back.

Hope you're doing much better, man.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 210000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 220000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community