Finally Phill from GCHQ is on paper!

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro4 years ago (edited)

2020 have been a weird, sad and gloomy year. But in the meantime I have actually succeeded in accomplishing a thing I have planned for more than three years. Making a crowd funding and getting Phill from GCHQ printed.

Now the printed comic books have arrived from the printshop and my eldest daughter and I have carried the 40 boxes all the way up to the fourth floor (fifth floor in American terms). I had to carry eight boxes up the stairs before I dared take one out and check if everything was all right. But everything is all right and they look really great.

Next thing is to sign, pack and ship.

When I have done that I will go to the countryside for a bit of holiday (if you can call being with my enormous clan-like family a holiday), and when I return in early August I will launch the comic to the rest of the world...

IMG_20200709_095248.jpg
The front cover with the naked Gods, Dryconi, Ryuel, and Thwyll - old forms of the gaelic/Welsh language meaning mischief, war and deciet.

IMG_20200709_095934.jpg
The title page. Not much space to sign I realised, when giving the first copy to my graphic assistance.

IMG_20200709_095351.jpg
I choose a slightly yellowish tinted paper as I wanted it to look like those old magazines on cheap paper that turned slightly brown in time. The print house said that all the comics they print is always on snow white paper, but I dared go with this idea. And as this is not at all cheap paper the print stand fine and sharp with a lively, matte black, and a nice, mellow reading experience. Just what I had hoped for (no one will probably notice the difference except if they are told and compare to a piece of print paper).

IMG_20200709_095257.jpg
Thanks to support from the Danish Arts Foundation, it is a real luxury hardback edition with sewn pages, making it both more durable and easier to read.


Again a lot of thanks to all the people here who supported the Kickstarter. I wouldn't have succeeded without you. In the late summer I plan to be back making Phill from GCHQ and the next album will probably be ready at about Christmas, so I might try to finance that with a Kickstarter in the spring of 2021... We'll see. In plan to make a Katharsisdrill webpage with a webshop where you can buy the comic, prints and other Katharsisdril related things. Hopefully it will be up and running in the autumn.

Sort:  

Awesome!.. but Phill was never finished?

No, it isn't finished yet, and I have been taking some George R. R. Martin-time since December. This album is the first 46 pages, and the next album, called: the Queen of Albion, will be 62 pages, and then there will also be a third album.

billede.png
My inspiration when it comes to not working fast enough.

I'm sure you've told of many times, but how do we buy one of these, signed if possible? Is it on a patreon? @katharsisdrill

You can just write me here: [email protected] - then we'll find a way to trade :)

It was on a Kickstarter which is only open a limited time, so when I got enough money from preorders I could get it printed. For now I will be selling by mail until I get the webshop finished :)

I shall do! Wonderful! I'm sure I saw the kickstarter had every intention of doing something about it, what a fair weather friend, eh? I'll simply claim the wonderful excuse we are allowed "I'm an artist, so I'm a bit scatter brained and forgot" It's our 'get out of jail free' card.

That looks really good. I look forward to getting a package soon!

And I am looking forward to shipping them. Probably Tuesday or Wednesday.