Phill from GCHQ - page 103 - The bearded lady

The bearded lady - Page 103 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Previous page: Phill from GCHQ - page 102 - Little Death

Complete index can be seen here:

Phill from GCHQ - index

Introduction to this weeks page


When making a comic like this you will get to draw a lot of things that you never would have drawn otherwise. The story and the situations has made me research and draw cars like the Chevorlet Suburban, the Morris J and the 1968 Land Rover series II, I have studies appropriate guns, the Welsh landscape in both the south and the north, Celtic ornaments (I even went to the National Museum in Copenhagen to get some photos of the waterbird God), and both the interior and exterior of the Anglican cathedral in Liverpool.

In this page the American M9 bayonet plays a role. Initially I just drew a generic knife, which probably would be absolutely correct. Special Operation soldiers doesn't have to use standard issue equipment, but as I drew the poor soldier being strangled I started to think about who he was and got the idea that he might have a knife a bit like Rambo. I drew that and it didn't really fit what I wanted to portray. The Rambo knife is like a symbol of crackpot individuality, while this guy was a professional soldier, very much part of a repressive hierarchy. So I though, he uses the standard bayonet - to him a symbol of the process that lead him to be who he is.

Here it is.

billede.png

From now on it belongs to Eileen Fraser.

Happy reading!

Supporting the comic

The comic is free to read and download from this link:

But I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or by buying a hardcopy on:

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Hive pages. Please follow them and support their work!

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:

The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

I wouldn't want to mess with anyone wielding that bayonet. Looks nasty, but then so is war.

I'm relieved to see the guys escaping, but I'm sure they are not out of this yet.

Nope, they are not out of it yet :)

I agree, I'd let the chap with that bayonet a wide berth, too!

The Bearded Lady is much more frightening than the Bearded Man equivalent. Looking forward to the next!