Nerd By Northwest #247 – “Hiding from the Woke Mob”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro3 years ago (edited)

When in doubt, video games are the answer...

Nerd By Northwest #247 – “Hiding from the Woke Mob”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


Cam may be exaggerating the inauguration a bit, but not by much. Hearing things like "I mean, those lights that are just shooting out from the Lincoln Memorial along the Reflecting Pool, it is like almost extensions of Joe Biden’s arms embracing America” from a journalist at one of the top news outlets shows how absurd the narrative crafting has become. Yeah I'm happy we have less of Trump to deal with too, but dang... hearing things like that from what's supposed to be an "objective journalist" is just cringe.

That said this really isn't that new. They may be turning the volume up to 11 this time, but US inaugurations (as well as certain other governmental ceremonies) have always had an almost religious, sacred feel to the ceremony. It's understandable, as there's a lot of psychological power in ritual. Prof C.J. from the Dangerous History Podcast refers to it as America's "civil religion" (http://profcj.org/ep214/). And when you hear politicians refer to the January 6th riot at Capital Hill as "violating the sanctity of the peoples' capital", it's not hard to see why. Once you see it in this light, the ridiculous rise of Trump as president and the current media narrative of the new administration makes a lot of sense. Religion is a hell of a drug... 😏


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

It's been over a month since the last DHP episode. I am impatient.

I know, right? But to be honest, I'm so backed up on my podcasts it'd probably be a week until I could get around to listening to a new one!

Some friends of mine started a podcast called "I the Show" on podbean several months ago. I finally downloaded all their episodes thus far and need to start binging it.

I think it's dangerous to place too much hope in one person. They don't/can't do it all, but I think Trump wanted it all his way as that's what he's used too. He got frustrated that government has limitations. I still don't think he really wanted the job. He wanted the publicity of running, but it happened anyway and he couldn't admit that it was hard. I hope he can find happiness :)

Just be glad you don't have a royal family who get treated as untouchable gods. The queen seems to have discovered eternal life anyway.

Eh, don't be TOO jealous. Instead of your royal family, we Americans unfortunately have the Bush and Clinton dynasties.

Wanna trade? 😁

Well neither of those is apparently running things. I think DT wants his own political dynasty, with emphasis on the 'nasty' :) Ours go back centuries and a lot of them were not even British originally. We've had French, Dutch and German rulers.

Inaugurations are, of course, meant to encourage the nation to rally behind the new President. It's a nice idea, but certainly needs to be countered with a heavy dose of realism. I, too, am happy to have 100% less Trump, but I am also hoping that the more legitimate of news organisations (and by this I mean about anything except Fox and CNN) approach the new administration with an even keel. Biden is going to make gaffs and mistakes and do things people do not agree with (Keystone Pipeline, anyone? Certainly can't please everyone with that). But let's have the facts, pros, and cons, and hopefully people can make an enlightened, intelligent, educated decision.

Or we can all have a lan party instead. Also a good idea. 😃

My prediction (and unfortunately it's not a happy one) is that without the shared enemy of Trump, the Democratic Party will turn on itself and tear itself apart much as the Republican party has. Not that I care one whit about either party, but I'm concerned that what will come out of all this is more hatred, more civil unrest, and eventually a domestic version of the Patriot Act. Which will likely include widespread domestic surveillance, further suppression of free speech, further militarization of police, and more economic control over average Americans. Probably some form of social credit score much like China has too. So yeah, I'm not big into trusting the new boss any more than I did the old boss... 😕