Nerd By Northwest #293 – “Taken For a (Magic Carpet) Ride”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro2 years ago (edited)

Our D&D heroes have got themselves a new ride...

Nerd By Northwest #293 – “Taken For a (Magic Carpet) Ride”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


Yet again, Khelben the all-powerful wizard of Waterdeep uses his power & influence to make the world of Forgotten Realms a better place... by opening a used magic carpet lot!!! That's right, he's screwing those corporate, magic-carpet-factory wizards and passing the savings directly on to YOU!!! (but of course, that's not going to stop him from fleecing the occasional sucker on the undercoating... I mean, anybody who falls for that is just asking you to take their money! 😅)

This week's comic was actually in part inspired by our recent experience in selling our old Honda SUV back in the USA. You would not BELIEVE how crazy the used car market is back there... we ended up selling our old car for $2000 more than I TRIED to sell it for 2 years prior! And we had it sold and the cash in our hands in less than 14 hours after posting it on Craigslist! The real world is starting to become less believable than the make-believe one I'm creating here... 😏


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

Speaking as a guy that lives in an old van and wouldn't mind upgrading sometime soon, I hope the secondary car market drops way back down sometime in the next year or two...

...but I really need to find out where I can add a new undercoating to a secondhand van.

You don't happen to live in an old van DOWN BY THE RIVER, would you?... 😁


Sometimes, LOL!
Also, I'm pretty sure the character from that sketch, his first name was Matt also.

I actually had a cold call at the door from someone looking to buy my van. If I didn't actually need and use the van, I might have been all in on that!

I totally see that. So many car sites now are promoting "get instant offers for your old car!", it's clear they're desperate for inventory. I regret trying that on Autotrader, because I got more dealers than I would've liked calling me when all I wanted was a quote over the web!!!

You're lucky to get a good deal selling your car. I wonder how demand will change as new models move to electric. We just tend to buy used and run the cars until they die and are worth nothing, but may try leasing on our next one. Not sure I can find a flying carpet dealer around here though.

!PIZZA

I think I'm not so lucky in getting a good deal, rather I was lucky I waited until now to make serious effort into selling it. Procrastination for the win!!! 😁

I think the demand will change not so much from the move to electric cars, but rather the move to electric cars WITH full self-driving capability. When that happens (sometime in the next 10 years?), I expect consumer demand for new cars to go down as more people find it's cheaper to use whatever future self-driving equivalent of Uber or Lyft rather than owning their own cars. Some folks like me might decide to keep owning one for a business or living away from the city, but I suspect the average working commuter won't bother with owning a car a decade or two for now. Wild to think about, but I think that's the way it'll turn out.

Car ownership is bound to change. One of my kids drives, but they will see differences in what cars can do as well as who owns them. Interesting times.

!BEER


Hey @northwestnomad, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.