Books I'm Looking Forward to This Week


Image Source

I'm very excited for new releases this week for comic book day 11.18.2020. Again, these aren't necessarily items I'm picking up to hold long term for USD gain (thought that could happen). No, these are the books I'm actually looking forward to reading this week that are coming out. Heavy on the indies, the occult, horror, and science fiction...isn't that what we all like as comic book fans? I like Batman as much as the next person, but I do crave the good stuff that not only supports the smaller artists and writers, but also gives me dreams at night. Or better yet, nightmares at time. Who doesn't get rattled at the Yellow Mask and lodge versus lodge warfare hinted at in Electric Dark? If you haven't read that one yet, check it out already.

Here are the books I'm looking forward to reading this week:


Image Source

First up is A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night 1. Look at that beautiful cover art! Apparently, this comic book is based off of a 2014 Iranian horror film featuring a vampiric woman who roams a town filled with prostitutes and pimps. I haven't seen the movie (shame on me!), but I can't wait to read this one. The fill is described as a film with "occult power beneath the veil"...I hope the comic series has the same.


Image Source

This is a sequel to Fearscape, which I am working through currently. Lots of collective unconsciousness and archetypes in dream lands. I liked it, though not for everyone. I'll give the sequal a go.


Image Source

Now this one looks interesting and relevant. Funny how that works out sometimes, isn't it? The premise is as such: a US president is assassinated, and the Vice President is forced to hold off on an impending Civil War. Why would there be a Civil War? As it turns out, the conspirators who assassinated the POTUS have now decide to target all those who helped the POTUS become president, including US voters. Timing on comic book releases is everything!


Image Source

Last but not least is one more Scout release; Frank is this story of a returning WWI veteran in search of his family amidst the backdrop of environments part Twin Peaks and The Shining. Sounds good to me.

Those are the books I'm looking forward to reading this week; let me know what I missed! Thanks for reading as always.