You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moon Knight a product of urban legend and the mandela affect

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro2 years ago

I will admit that I had never heard of Moon Knight before this show was announced. I just never read that many superhero comics as a kid. I did read a lot of British comics like Beano, Dandy and the violent Action. I think US comics were harder to find back then, but I did have some issues of the Marvel Star Wars. No idea what happened to those.

I've got more into comics and graphic novels recently, so I may look into some of the historic stuff. I Have a Captain America book that covers his whole history. It's amazing how long they have kept some characters going by adapting to current trends.

So I have come to most of the Marvel movies and TV shows with few preconceptions. I have found them mostly entertaining. They have played on the frailties of the characters with Wanda going through grief and Hawkeye suffering from hearing loss. With Moon Knight we have the mental illness aspect playing a big part. Here's a guy who has no knowledge of some things he has done, so he is not even aware that he could have special abilities or powers. He does hear voices though. This first episode is not giving us much on how he got that way, but I thought it was interesting, despite some dodgy English accents. We don't all speak like Mary Poppins characters.

Marvel have really exploited their various characters. I read recently of a guy who read every one of their thousands of comics whilst working on a book. A lot of them were not about superheros. They are churning out movies and TV shows these days. With the TV stuff they are going a bit less mainstream, but still having high production quality. I like some escapism with my TV and it suits me. I'm happy to see where this latest show goes.