My 90 gallon Exodon Paradoxus aquarium

in Fish Keepers3 years ago

20210412_161254.jpg

I have been keeping aquariums for more than 30 years .... I have a great love for it ....

These little fish have absolutely captured me... Exodon Paradoxus or also know as Bucktooth Tetras.

They are often called piranha's little cousins because they are aggressive eaters and swarm much like piranha at feeding time. In the wild they are scale eaters ... using their "bucktooth" shaped mouth to pluck scales from other fish!

They are primarily carnivorous. They work best in aquariums in larger groups. This lessens some of the aggression within the school. I have 30 of them in my group.

They are best kept in a species tank but I have had great success keeping them with scaless species of fish. I have had success with loaches and some other scaless species as long as they can't fit in there deceptively big mouths.

I feed them dried tubifex worms, beef heart, small krill, insect-based flakes and occasionally some guppies (very infrequently)

Look up these awesome fish...
More pics and better pics to come

Happy Fishkeeping

Sort:  

@beeezo! PIZZA Crew welcomes you to Hive! Your voice has value here.

We'd like to invite you to join our Discord where you can seek help for all things Hive.

PIZZA Crew is a Hive-powered social group empowering content creators, gamers, and YOU.

We've followed you, upvoted and reblogged your post.

We also noticed you are low on resource credits (RC) and may have trouble posting. GiftGiver loaned you some power GiftGiver so you can keep on Hiving.


Image created by @traciyork

Brought to you by the @Hive.Pizza team. Learn more about our project @ https://hive.pizza

Thanks for the invite... I'm "feeling my way around" here a bit .. I will definitely check you guys out.

Congratulations @beeezo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Sweet looking tank! I'd like to have a large group of tetras but I quite a few very large fish who would be all too happy to gulp up any young tetra I buy. Bit to lazy to let them grow in a separate tank and then add them in.


Communities I run: Gridcoin (GRC)(PeakD) / Gridcoin (GRC) (hive.blog)| Fish Keepers (PeakD) / Fish Keepers (hive.blog)
Check out my gaming stream on VIMM.TV | Vote for me as a witness!

I get it ... these tetras top out at about 4 inches (more like 3.5 inches) in captivity.... so they would definitely be food for very large fish.

I have and empty 135 gallon that I may to a couple larger fish