A much needed upgrade to my Aquarium!

This task I actually did back in early September, I've just never gotten to writing up about it until now so here we are.

For a long time now I've been very unhappy with how much water my canister pump was shifting, sometime getting as low as 100-200 liters an hour. Not very good for a 250L tank.

So I brought a very hefty 3600L/h Fluval SP4 Sump Pump and plummed it up to my existing setup, To bypass the built in canister pump I simply removed the impeller.


IMG_20201008_155135.jpg

IMG_20201008_184453.jpg

Here we are getting ready for the task at hand, we also do a water change since it's due anyways.


IMG_20201008_155140.jpg

IMG_20201008_184608.jpg

We needed some more space and had to move the canister to the other side of the cupboard so holes were made and we cut some spare 16mm hose in half to cover the rough wood edges.


IMG_20201009_164701.jpg

We actually split the outlet as there would have been too much flow for my inline heater, So the heater feeds to the center of the tank and the rest to the corner.


IMG_20201009_164646.jpg

IMG_20201009_164654.jpg

Here is the finished setup in the cupboards, as you can see the pump is rather large, but it's not actually all that noisy.


IMG_20201009_165915.jpg

All done and my fishy are happy and content!


Overall, it took a whole 9 hours to get this job done, in the process I knacker'd up my back as well which give be some serious pain for 3-4 days.

IMG_20201008_205228.jpg

You would think I'm a little bit crazy about fish and your are right..

This is there insane amount of fish related 'stuff' I have sat in the corner of my bedroom, I'm pretty sure I have 3-5 Filters in there, a ton of spare pipe, foams, bio media, ornaments etc. It's a mess and I really need to sort it out someday.


And as a bonus after we had finished and everything was sorted, I come back to my tank to find my fishies are trying to chuck my sand out of the tank.. for what ever reason I do not know.

IMG_20201008_211405.jpg

Anyways that's all from me. I'll have some more updates to come later when/if I get round to it. :D


Where to find me:

PeakD | hive.blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | 3Speak | Twitch.tv | Vimm.tv

Check out these blockchain games!

Disclaimer! These are referral links
CryptoBrewMaster | Rising Star | Exode Game | DCity | Holybread | Splinterlands

Sort:  

That’s some serious water cooling, although your new pc is much bigger then I expected.

Hi @shmoogleosukami,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Impressive good work. I am an aquarium lover as well
@tipu curate