You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Friday evening with "Aperol Spritz" - An Ukrainian refugee in the Netherlands

Hi @priyanarc, in Poland shops are not closed all weekend, only on Sundays and not all of them because, for example, yesterday was a shopping Sunday and all shops were open. This changed about 4 years ago, previously shops were also open every Sunday. Many people (including me) regret that it has changed like this. I also recently drank Aperol Spritz at a party with my friends 🍹 Sometimes it is worth giving yourself such little pleasures 😊

Sort:  

I see, well I am not habituated with this culture because, in Ukraine, I used to go to shopping mostly on Saturday and Sunday. I was not in Poland for much longer and where I was I noticed on Saturday everything was almost closed. In Warsaw, my Sunday was really boring because I didn't find anywhere to go nearby. You know about Poland more than I so I guess I haven't seen the real Poland :)

Did you like Aperol Spritz?

Smaller shops are open shorter on Saturdays, e.g. until 2 p.m. - 3 p.m., but large shopping malls (for example, Złote Tarasy or Arkadia in Warsaw) are open, just like on other days of the week, until 10 p.m. Supermarkets such as Biedronka, Lidl etc. are also open for a long time, until 11 p.m. As for Sundays, on non-trading Sundays it is as you wrote, it is very difficult to buy something. Fortunately, I have 2 grocery stores near me that are open on Sundays, so at least I can do this shopping then. It is a pity that Sundays have changed so much, I hope that the next government, when it is elected, will introduce the customs that they used to be, where you could shop on Sundays and the shops were open.
Yes, I liked the Aperol Spritz. It was very tasty 😊 Although it's not my favorite drink.