A Day at Magna Plaza in Amsterdam, Netherlands

in Team Ukrainelast year

Sometimes all I want is to lie down on the bed and do nothing. My body feels so tired nowadays and also I am having little trouble with my left eye. I don't know what exactly the problem is because I am having trouble seeing things. I will see a doctor very soon. It's been a long time since I haven't taken a good walk, the weather here is not friendly at all and after work, all I want is to sleep or do nothing. It might seem laziness but my body doesn't cooperate and also my heart always says, stay in the room.

A few weeks ago while walking on the streets of Amsterdam, suddenly I decided to check the shopping mall. I have seen many shops in Amsterdam but I didn't see any shopping malls after coming to the Netherlands. I bought most of my necessary things from Almere thinking Amsterdam might be expensive. I asked google what are the famous shopping areas and malls in Amsterdam and it gave me some options. Among them, I found one which was nearby and I had decided to pay a visit.


20220511_161904.jpg


At the first glance, I have never imagined that a shopping center can be like this. In my mind, I was expecting a kinda modern look shopping mall or something similar that looks like a mall. But it was a palace. A fun fact is I was in front of the Mall and I was trying to figure out the location of the mall standing in front of the building because I never thought this palace is a shopping center.

The name of the shopping mall is Magna Shopping Center and it was recommended by google without any further information. The mall is called Magna Plaza. The building is very close to the famous Dam Square and the Royal Palace of Amsterdam.

Exquisite exterior and neo-gothic architecture can easily attract tourists and force them to visit. Not only the shopping center is iconic but also the building is holding the story of 1895. The building is known as the former Amsterdam main post office and now it is a shopping mall. In my opinion, this building should be a museum instead of a mall because the building itself is a landmark of Amsterdam City Center.


20220511_161852.jpg


20220511_161827.jpg20220511_161924.jpg20220511_163048.jpg

Seeing such an exclusive Neo-Gothic landmark in front of me, I instantly had decided to explore the surroundings of the building first and then see the interior. Because such kinds of monumental architectural historical buildings are considered either heritage sites or museums which you cannot visit for free always or are not open to the public. This building is known as Rijksmonument (The national heritage site of the Netherlands). source

A huge number of arch-shape framed doors and windows; with heavily decorated polychromatic brick wall exteriors and sky-touching domes created this building not only an important monument and landmark of the city but also famous among tourists all over the world.

Before entering the building, I walked the surrounding of the building and it was a typical Amsterdam scenario. Obviously, a lot of tourists were walking around as the building is located near the busy street. The weather was not friendly otherwise I would have spent some time outside exploring the detailed exterior of this building.


20220511_162232.jpg

After entering the building, I found out that the building was under renovation; a few floors were closed to the public and most of the shops were closed. Anyway, inside the building I found out huge central space surrounded by arcades. The main hall ceiling is so high and light comes from the ceiling. Such a kind of space nowadays is known as the Atrium. Only the ground floor is open for the people, on other floors you can check but nothing much to see. The stairs were in good condition but some floor escalators were not working due to construction work.


20220511_162236.jpg

20220511_162438.jpg

The Interior of the building is unique though and I felt like I have entered into another world. The interior of the structure is rebuilt but due to some unusual faults still, renovation is happening. I understand such kind of building renovation takes a lot of time than modern shopping malls. Besides the purpose of the building is now different and changed which used to be a post office.


20220402_175412.jpg

After my exploration of Magna plaza, I came back to the central station and decided to take the train to reach home. Well, I took some photos because the sun has arrived to say goodbye.


20220402_174907.jpg


20220402_174705.jpg20220402_175531.jpg20220402_175526.jpg

The office of the Red Cross for Ukrainians was still there in the central station; reminded me of a lot of things. Those days were scary and my mind was completely empty but full of fear. Time passed so fast but a few things never changed...

If you are traveling to Amsterdam and if you have only one hour on your hand before leaving Amsterdam, I would suggest you see Magna Plaza just for once.

After a good day, I headed back home with a smile on my face.

Thanks for reading... See you soon...



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  

There are many shopping malls in The Netherlands in historical buildings 🙂 I have never been to this one though but it seems nice. Maybe next time when I'm in Amsterdam..

You should listen to your body. If it feels tired, take a rest and recover 🙂 And see the doctor soon! I hope, it's nothing serious with your eye.

Take care and see you soon! 😘

There are many shopping malls in The Netherlands in historical buildings

Really I should look into it because I was completely unknown of this matter even didn't know that a historical building can be used as a shopping mall :D. Next time, if you visit Amsterdam then manage a little time to visit this building. I am sure you will like it...

About my eye, I also hope nothing serious happened. Let's see what the doctor says...

Take care of yourself too and have a great week. Hope to see you soon...

Hi Priyan. Wow this is a great building. If or when I get back to Amsterdam I want to go there. Thanks for sharing it with us. Glad you went on that walk!

It's very closer to Dam square, only a 3-4 minute walk, and really a cool and unique building to see. I was also surprised when I saw that such kind of monumental building can be a shopping center :D...

Thanks for stopping by Sara... Have a great week...

The place is beautiful, enjoy your publication very much. Thanks.
I hope your problem with the eye is not too complicated. I hope it's something light.
Take care.

Thank you, I was also surprised when I saw the building for the first time... It's unique...

About my eye, I took an appointment with the doctor, fingers crossed. I also hope nothing serious happened...

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1777.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much...

I wish you that your state of mind improves, and that the medical examination gives you good news, at least that it gives you a diagnosis and an effective treatment for your eye and your mood in general.

In truth, I didn't imagine a shopping center in a structure that looks like a palace either, I guess that's part of what they call culture shock, which seems normal for the locals, it can be very strange for those who don't We were not born or raised there.

By the way, now that I think about it, we are almost a year away from all this mess starting, I wish it would end soon so that the rebuilding could begin.

Stay !ALIVE
!LOLZ
!GIF Nice photos!
!MEME
!PGM
!LUV
!CTP

I am feeling very moody nowadays after a rough week but overall everything is okay despite some uncertain circumstances. The situation with my eye is concerning as I am having some troubles with the eye but I hope nothing serious happened...

I guess that's part of what they call culture shock, which seems normal for the locals, it can be very strange for those who don't We were not born or raised there.

Exactly, for the locals it's normal but for the people like me, it's surprising... :D A whole new experience...

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @pedrobrito2004

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@priyanarc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @pedrobrito2004. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @steemflow and @indiaunited


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @pedrobrito2004 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @artmom.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Damn ! It really doesn't seem to be a shopping center but surely is a place I would love to shop at. I hope you're doing well P, see a doctor soon don't discount the eye issue, it may get worse.