I work for the Refugees...

in Team Ukraine2 years ago (edited)

I still can't believe how my life is changing so fast in time. Work always helps to reduce depression but whatever I have experienced so far was not so easy to forget. I remembered everything, I can recall every devastating moment in life, I still feel the pain of losing everything inside me but life goes on and I am going with the flow of life. I won't say I am living a nice life but I can say my life is safer now than staying in the war when it comes to safety. I started doing the job after arriving in Holland and in the beginning, I didn't like the work at all because of the work environment and co-worker's behavior. I still don't like the work I do because this is not what I suppose to do or I can say it's not the purpose of my life. This job is not my future but for a temporary situation or for the situation I am in right now, this job is okay with minimum wage.

I wrote before that my life is now very routined and boring but I kinda like this life for now. Whenever I get the day off I go out and do the necessary chores. For example, today was my day off so I did some summer clothes shopping. I always love sales time and today I got some nice clothes at a very cheap price. When I left Ukraine, I left with one small bag so I didn't have any clothes. In Holland, I started wearing second clothes or donated clothes. I don't mind wearing second-hand clothes but sometimes it's necessary to buy clothes as well. So, I did some shopping and the price of most of my clothes was between 1 euro-4.99 euro. Of course, I like cheap clothes.


20220816_175800.jpg


Anyway today I decided to write about my work, the job I do. I work in a hotel, kitchen section. My job is to refill the buffet, take care of the hotel guests, and do kitchen cleaning work. Recently, this hotel decided to feed refugees from Ukraine and other countries. Some refugees are also staying in the hotel because of the housing problem in the Netherlands. So right now my job is to help prepare food for the refugees. Hotel management recently decided to give shelter to the refugees and currently, 280 refugees are being fed every day 3 times (breakfast, lunch, dinner) in a day. Of course, this is a huge decision made by the hotel management and also a big responsibility for the people who work in the kitchen.

If you ask me what is my experience working for refugees, I would say it's very hard especially when I have to deal with a man. I have both bad and good experiences, my feelings are mixed about this work and to be honest, sometimes I feel like quitting my job because some people are so aggressive and arrogant. They don't respect the workers and they don't follow the rules of the restaurant or dining area.

I work hard for them, and try to feed everyone equally though it's very hard in the buffet. People who come first take everything and within 1 minute, the whole buffet is empty. So the people who come later have to wait for the refill and they start screaming for food. Of course, the mentality of these people is different and these people are mostly from Syria, Afghanistan, and Iran. On the other hand, Ukrainians are well-behaved and very respectful.

I can tolerate everything thinking about the work I am doing for them but if somebody disrespects me, I show them their way, no matter what kind of condition they are living in. I stand for myself because I try my best to do my job. Some people don't know how to respect workers and they think we are their slaves just because we do a small job. But they often forget, we prepare and serve food for them...

I am a refugee also and I don't treat people like that. I respect everybody...

But in the end, I am happy that I have got a huge responsibility from hotel management and I am glad they trusted me. No matter how people treat me, my satisfaction is I have got a chance to help people who fled from the war and I am doing my work with honesty and dedication.


20220816_175843.jpg


Thank you so much for reading...




Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1561513805661831168 twitter metadata:bWV0b2RvbG9naWFlY3N8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vbWV0b2RvbG9naWFlY3Mvc3RhdHVzLzE1NjE1MTM4MDU2NjE4MzExNjh8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @priyanarc, @pedrobrito2004 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

How nice to hear from you, my dear and that, in spite of the circumstances you have had to live through (very hard indeed), you keep that warmth in your heart which makes you a very special person. I remember you always kind and cute in your treatment when I met you in the discord of the Powerhousecreatives community, then LifeStyleLounge. Nice times, nice people, a time of Hive that I remember very well.

Life sometimes puts us on thorny and difficult paths, but above all, to people of courage and good heart like you, they are tests in which I am sure, you will come out victorious. You are alive after a great catastrophe and that means you have a life ahead of you to continue building and improving. I am sure you will.

I was very happy to read you, beautiful. I hope everything is getting better for you in your new destiny. All the best, my dear. A hug and my love to you.

untitled.gif

I remember you always kind and cute in your treatment when I met you in the discord of the Powerhousecreatives community, then LifeStyleLounge.

We used to chat there and greet each other, I miss those days.

I still can't believe how my life has drastically changed within the past few months. Things have been hard but I have met a lot of people within this period, the journey was emotional, and knowing I have to go a long way, I definitely need to be strong.

You are alive after a great catastrophe and that means you have a life ahead of you to continue building and improving. I am sure you will.

I feel grateful to be honest because sometimes I try to imagine myself in the middle of a catastrophe and it scares me a lot. Refugee life is complicated and also a lot of issues I have to deal with every day. But it's okay. I always tell myself that this situation is not permanent, things will be better and at one point, I will go back to my home...

Sometimes life surprises us and things happen out of nowhere. You don't get a chance to do anything except adapt and move on. Things will not be bad forever, good time will come. And you will be happy for being in that position.

Yea that's true, life can be unpredictable and cruel and we somehow have to accept the consequences and move on. I often wonder why we have to move on and accept reality. The only answer is we have to live and survive...

Amazing :) ... Your one goal since leaving has been to help refugees. Now you spend most of your time doing just that 🙌

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Yes, as I have said it's an experience and these past 5-6 months taught me a lot. It was a life journey and still a long way to go...

It was for a reason though - you are going to come out of this stronger than before!

!hivebits

Congratulations friend 💕

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily