DIY Personalized Birthday Cake Ideas - Super Easy!

in Motherhood11 months ago

Birthday cakes in Panama are extra sugary and really not very tasty. I'm used to butter cream frosting and a pretty good cake, but I've never seen that here. When it comes time for birthdays in our house, which happen in January, February, May, June, July, September, and November, I try to make my own cakes. Here are some pretty simple ones that the kids love and it helps me remember how old the birthday boy or girl is turning!

I go easy and buy a box mix and premade frosting, but I try to make them unique based on how old the kids are turning. I typically use a loaf pan or a round pan or a combination of the two. It makes it pretty easy to do most numbers except for 2, 3, and 5.

The easiest cake has to be an 11. Take two loaf pans or take one large cake and cut it into two. This one was hard to frost on the side because it was cut in two. I'm definitely not a professional!

Another super easy one was 4. I used four loaf pans to make this. It was really large, but there were a lot of people at the party, so it worked out great!

7 was also super easy. I just cut a tiny bit off of one loaf pan cake so that it could sit at an angle. Line it with 7 candles, and you're ready to go!

8 was really simple - just two round cakes next to each other. You can always decorate with different items like mini m&ms so that the number is more noticeable.

9 is a combination of a round pan and part of a loaf pan. This also works well for 6. You can either cut out the center circle or put sprinkles and candles in that part to emphasize the number.

10 looks great as it fits on my platter well and is just a loaf pan and a round pan. Then the kids can decorate it how they would like. Frosting and sprinkles or even something around the outside like m&ms.

Once we hit numbers that are more difficult, we have to get a little more creative. Sometimes we will do something like a round cake and write out the number with something, like a candy or cherries. The kids can always make suggestions to help me decide what will look and taste great.

My kids appreciate it when their cake is special just for their year and I enjoy making them! I hope this gave you some ideas of how to celebrate birthdays at your house as well.



How about you? What do you do for birthdays?

Sort:  

I really want some of that cake 🥹
!DIY
!discovery 27


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
@stevenson7 just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @apanamamama! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @apanamamama.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

No soy una persona que ame los dulces, pero un buen pastel siempre alegra a cualquiera. Mi preferido es un pastel de Vainilla recién salido del horno.
En los cumpleaños de mis hijas suele haber mucho pastel, ellas son felices y lo disfrutan.