Some tips for adoptive parents / Algunos consejtos para padres adoptivos

in Motherhood3 years ago

Uno de nuestros grandes miedos cuando decidimos adoptar niños es saber si existirá ese amor incondicional, si nos querrá, si algún día nos dirá "vos no sos mi madre o mi padre"....son los grandes temores que tenemos los padres adoptivos.

DSC03158.JPG

One of our great fears when we decide to adopt children is to know if that unconditional love will exist, if he will love us, if one day he will tell us "you are not my mother or my father" ... these are the great fears that adoptive parents have.

Me dolía el corazón de solo pensar en ese momento, como responder, que hacer... Una de las cosas a las que siempre estuvimos abiertos como pareja fue "pedir ayuda cuando el tema nos superaba", y eso hicimos, porque no sabíamos como proceder en esos casos, como crear el vínculo que tienen los padres con sus hijos.

My heart ached just thinking about that moment, how to respond, what to do ... One of the things we were always open to as a couple was "asking for help when the issue got over us", and we did that, because we didn't know how. proceed in those things, like creating the bond that parents have with their children.

En una cesión con el psicólogo, no dijo algo que nos impactó: "no se preocupen tanto y cuando suceda, sigan su instinto. El instinto materno/paterno con amor se crea, no es genético". Y eso nos tranquilizó, porque nuestro miedo era no poder responder adecuadamente a esa situación. Y la vida nos puso a prueba, claro.

In a session with the psychologist, he did not say something that shocked us: "do not worry so much and when it happens, follow your instinct. The maternal / paternal instinct with love is created, it is not genetic". And that reassured us, because our fear was not being able to respond adequately to that situation. And life put us to the test, of course.

No faltó oportunidad para que en algún berrinche infantil o una discusión me dijera: "vos no sos mi mamá" con la certeza del dolor que me iba a provocar eso.... pero logré imponerme y con mucha tranquilidad le dije "yo no te tuve en mi panza pero si soy tu mamá, porque te cuido, te crio y te amo" y ante esa respuesta su silencio me hizo darme cuenta que mi respuesta fue la correcta. Luego sentí que un tren me había pasado por encima!! jajaja.

m 010.jpg

There was no lack of opportunity for a child tantrum or an argument to tell me: "you are not my mother" with the certainty of the pain that was going to cause me ... but I managed to impose myself on that and very calmly I said "I I did not have you in my belly but I am your mother, because I take care of you, I raise you and I love you "and before that answer, her silence made me realize that my answer was the correct one. Then I felt that a train had passed over me !! 

Muy pocas veces más me volvió a decir algo parecido, y mi respuesta fue siempre la misma, sin reproches y con tranquilidad.
Ya ahora que es adolescente, cuando me dice algo como que "soy intensa o que lo cuido demasiado" con mucha tranquilidad le digo "soy la madre que te tocó", y listo.
Tenemos que aceptar los que nos tocó vivir en la vida y transitar el camino lo mejor posible.

Very few times he said something similar to me again, and my answer was always the same, without reproach and calmly.
Now that she is a teenager, when she tells me something like "I'm intense or that I take care of him too much" very calmly I tell her "I'm the mother who touched you", and that's it. 
We have to accept those that we had to live in life and walk the path as best as possible.

Y algo más: el amor y el deseo de ser padres es mucho mas fuerte que el vínculo genético. Se logra sentir lo que le pasa a tu hijo aunque no lo hayas parido. Se los aseguro!

And something else: love and the desire to be parents is much stronger than the genetic link. You can feel what happens to your child even if you have not given birth to him. I assure you!

DSC07404.JPG

Bueno, espero que estos consejitos les puedan ser útiles en algún momento. Desde Buenos Aires, los saluda Daniela. Gracias por leer este post!

Well, I hope these tips can be useful to you at some point. From Buenos Aires, Daniela greets you. Thanks for reading this post!