My Year End Challenge as a Mother

in Motherhoodlast year

It was almost 6 successive years every two weeks before New Year's Eve that I've been experiencing these problems as a mother. My type 1 Diabetic daughter easily got sick. And I'd noticed she always got sick every end of the year. Twice was her sister the rest of the years was hers. I don't know if other mothers also experience this, but every time it happens, I felt so broken. How I wish I can transfer all my child's sicknesses to myself.

IMG_20230105_141423.jpg
This was when Jewel got a fever last July when her blood sugar also spiked.

IMG_20230105_142629.jpg

Last week of December year 2021, Jewel got a cough that resulted in her getting a fever the next days. She had Type 1 Diabetes which made her vulnerable to getting sick easily. And her blood sugar will also spike every time she has a fever. I think every time a fever strikes her body gets insensitive/resistant to insulin injections.

IMG_20230105_141454.jpg
Blood extraction to test if she had dengue.

We brought her to a pediatrician and got examined and found out that she was reactive in dengue fever and was advised to be admitted because her blood sugar was High at that time again even with the insulin injected already. But we decided not to admit her since it was New Year's Eve that night and the situation was difficult.

received_714819989987236.jpeg

A friend advised us to let her drink IGCO milk so that the number of her blood platelets will not get lower. And we also let her drink the boiled water of insulin tree leaves (not sure of the exact name of the plant). Thank God her blood sugar became normal after an hour of drinking the water from the boiled insulin tree and our sadness turned to joy on New Year's Eve 2022.

IMG20221230131640.jpg
This was last December 2022.

IMG20221230131651.jpg

This last week of December 2022, we experienced the same scenario. Jewel and her sister had a cough and we just let them drink water from boiled Oregano leaves. We usually use medicinal herbs for our children's colds and coughs. But because I failed to let them drink it continually, their cough did not go away. After several days their cough made them in having a fever. Jewel's blood sugar spiked at 400+ and it made me worried. We could not send them to the Doctor because we were so busy with an upcoming event in our Church. Her fever reached 38.6 degrees Celsius.

IMG20221230153953.jpg
I was so worried reading this number.

Again, I boiled six leaves of the Insulin tree and made her drunk 120ml every after a meal because I'm afraid it will reach HIGH readings again and may result in DKA which is very dangerous. It was a great help for every time she drinks it her blood sugar will drop to 200+ which was better than 400+.

IMG20221230135306.jpg

I then decided to buy the cough medicine that her Endo prescribed during our last visit. Until now she has still a cough, maybe it's because of the cold weather we have here now. Thankfully her sugar came back to normal.

IMG20221231085409.jpg

As a mother, my worst challenge was my daughter's health. If only I can choose what challenges I have to face, I will surely not choose this. But despite this challenge, I know I am not alone.


Thank you so much for the time. Again and again, I am so grateful I have this platform where I can share my feelings and thoughts. Thanks for the opportunity.

With love, mommyjane 😘.

Sort:  

I can relate to you @mommyjane.
The health of our children and the whole family is our primary concern.Let us be strong @mommyjane for whatever challenges we experienced for I know God is with you, with us all the time.

Thank you ma'am @dehai for the comforting comment. True, God is with us all the time. ❤️

I'm sorry to know how your daughter has been going through. Kids shouldn't be going through this at the young age but just be strong for her.

Thank you @explorewithsasha 😌. I should be strong for my daughter. I know many people are praying for her.

No problem, I admire your courage and strength as a mom.

You know I admire you for being one of the strongest mothers I have known. Laban lang jud ta always mam Jane. God's always there for us. ☺️

Thank you so much @missleray 😍. Laban lang gyud ta by God's grace. God is good all the time.

You're welcome. ☺️

You really have tough challenge every month @mommyjane, laban lang Aja!

Hehehe... almost every month challenges dai @jobeliever..but God is always there with me in every challenge. Thank you ☺️.

That's correct, God is with us when challenges came across.

Welcome and God bless❤️

That's interesting about the insulin tree leaves, I've never heard of that! I am also type 1, I know the struggle...

One thing I can suggest for the cough is onion water, I had a cough for weeks that wouldn't go away and I drank the onion water and it was gone in a day. It's easy to make, just cut up an onion and put it in a glass with cold water. Cover it tightly and let it sit in the fridge for at least 12 hours and then have her sip it throughout the day. If the taste is too bitter you can add a little sweetener (I used allulose but you can use whatever artificial sweetener you have).

@theb0red1 thank you so much for the idea of the water onion. I will try that today. All of us here in our family has a cough. I just woke up this morning and read your comment.

I never thought there is a Type 1 also here in the hive. About the Insulin tree, I am not sure if it is the exact name of the plant. My brother-in-law was the one who gave it to us. I think it is better for Type 2 since Type 1 needs insulin injections. I just use it every time she has a fever and became resistant to the insulin I injected.

Thank you for dropping by. It is so nice to know you.

I was reading more of your posts and see the diagnosis is somewhat recent. It's tough the first few years but in time things get a little (just a little) bit easier. If it's available and affordable, I definitely recommend getting a CGM. The Dexcom is very expensive but I use Freestyle Libre. Don't have to stick the fingers and you can scan as often as you want, and it's always testing so you can see where it's been between scans.

The Freestyle Libre is the one available here in the Philippines. But sadly we cannot afford it. I only wish I could afford it. We just educate her on what to eat and what not to. So far we have visited her Endo five times and He said we managed her blood sugar very well according to her Hba1c.

It was very tough for us until now and the feeling during the diagnosis is still fresh.

Believe me, I know how pricey diabetic supplies get. It's why I don't have insurance or see a doctor. If I did I wouldn't be able to afford supplies and those are more immediately necessary to stay alive so I have to compromise. I am curious though what the cost of the Libre is in the Philippines though? I pay USD$160/month for mine, though I believe with insurance ($$$) it's "only" like $60/month if you're even lucky to have insurance that actually covers ANY kind of diabetic supplies. The system here in the US is completely screwed up and I refuse to participate as much as possible 😅

We don't have that kind of insurance here. We have to pay for everything from our pocket. The CGM meter with one sensor is worth $ 125-130 USD, while the sensor will cost $ 40-42 USD.

We applied her for Persons With Disability so that we can have a 20% discount on Insulin. That 20% would be a great help though.

Which CGM is that? I don't have insurance either, I pay out of pocket or get donated supplies from friends who have a child with T1D

How's your kid na? I hope that she is doing okay. Aside from the insulin plant does she take some insulin injectables din?

My in-law was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes as well hence I can understand a little bit of the worries and fears of the complication.

Hello @tpkidkai. She is doing fine, but still coughs. She has to be injected with insulin before breakfast and before dinner. I only let her drink the insulin tree when she has a fever. Being a Type 1 is so difficult.

A very tough momma I've ever known. I salute you for being very strong @mommyjane. It's not easy on your part but you deal with it positively with God's grace. May inday Jewel can get up all the challenges she will be facing now and in the future. Stay safe always and God bless.

Thank you so much @amoreyl for your comforting comment. I am hoping she will know how to handle her diabetes as she grows older.

Don't mention it @mommyjane. I know with God's grace she can. God bless.

I know how you feel mommy. I worried too much also everytime my sons are sick.
I'm glad to know the boiled water from insulin plants works better for your daughter. Big hug from me.

Thank you for the hugs ☺️. We, mothers, are warriors when it comes to you our children. God bless us. ☺️

I hope she feels better soonest. Salute! for being such a strong mom you @mommyjane.

!PIZZA

@chichi18 sorry for the late reply. Thank you so much for the nice comment. She is better now.

Thanks for the Pizza ..😍 I really appreciate it.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@chichi18(2/5) tipped @mommyjane (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @mommyjane! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I feel the pain @mommyjane ... Mothers like us would definitely do everything just to make our kids feel better when they got sick.

I commend your motherly resilience, patience, and perseverance. May God give you more strength to get this over and good health not only to you but to all the family members especially to your little angel.😇💞

Praying for your family! This too will pass. Amen.

Salute to all Mothers out there. 🥰

Thank you @ciadanmea for the nice comment and comfort. I appreciate your prayers to my family. Amen.❤️😌