You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dog Attack - The Moment It Bit My Son…

in Motherhoodlast year

While excited to see you are posting again @crosheille, I was saddened to read this one, as I know what this is like. Thankfully, it did not turn out as bad as it could have. I hope your neighbors end up doing the right and responsible thing and get that dog out of your neighorhood.

Years ago, I was awakened out of a sound sleep by my daughter's screaming. 3 of my children had been sleeping outside on top of our trampoline. She was coming inside to get me to tell me they had not completely closed the gate and a "bad dog" was fighting with our dog and "killing him" ...

Although drowsy, I was instantly up and moving, making two vitally important decisions. Even though a hot summer evening, I put on my jeans, not shorts ... 🙏 And ... I had set the rock hammer I use for weeding just inside the door. As I was running out of house to deal with whatever was out there, I picked up that hammer on the way out ... 🙏

The "Reader's Digest" from there? A 110-pound pit bull (fact learned later in court) had our dog pinned to the base of our tree by the throat. I yelled back at my beloved to call 911, get the kids inside the house and out of the way, and went out there ...

I ended up at our local ER with two big holes in my calf muscle, closed by 6 stitches in each. If I had not had my jeans on, there would have been gaping holes and likely permanent damage to my ability to walk. Why? I grabbed the pit bull by his chain-studded collar and began to hit him on the top of his head, to break his death grip on our dog's throat. What ensued from there, I'll spare the details, but ... I would not do that again, unless I had a gun, rather than a rock hammer ...

In court, the owner calmly plead guilty to all charges. Agreed to pay all costs (like my ER costs ...). And accepted the judge's decision that his dog was a menace and had to be permanently caged, with satisfactory proof to the court it could not get out. My impression was the judge wanted to make the owner decide to put his "pet" down, rather than it be court-ordered. Didn't happen ...

FWIW, the dog's name? "Capone" ... 😒 His "macho" owner thought that sounded about right, for the impression he wanted to make owning a dog like that ... 🤷‍♂️

______________________________________________

Why do people keep animals like this? Well, that can be endlessly discussed. All we know as parents is they do and we must be eternally vigilant. At least your neighbors sound very remorseful and don't have bad intentions ...

I hope this all turns out for the good, my dear friend, for you and your family.

Sort:  

I literally read your story thrice to make sure I read the details correctly. I can't even imagine. What a blessing you thought accurately to put on jeans instead of shorts. I’m sure your heart was pounding as you headed to face what was outside but even more so ready to protect your children. I know we could get hurt by many things but thinking about the damage a dog can do…whoa.

It’s good your neighbor owned up to what his dog did and paid the costs. Wow, that’s definitely an appropriate name for him. I ask that question too and don’t understand it. It’s certain as parents we have to be constantly vigilant.

Thanks so much. It’s good to be back posting again. Yes, I am so grateful it wasn’t any worse. Our neighbors truly were remorseful but I too only hope they do the smart thing and give up that dog. 😓

"... as you headed to face what was outside but even more so ready to protect your children. I know we could get hurt by many things but thinking about the damage a dog can do…whoa."

Yes, well, I quickly had my children safely behind the closed door of our house. That was no issue, terrified as they were, since Capone was killing our dog ...

The issue, only fully thought about and reflected upon later, was that I was putting myself at risk for a ... dog. Hmmm. Yes, it was our beloved family pet, but still ... Putting my life at risk for a dog?

I was not going on to face "Fluffy" or any similar version of some little pretend toy dog. This dog was trained to match its name ... I will never forget the force with which I hit that dog with my rock hammer, on the head, over and over and it had no obvious effect ...

So ...

Many years older (and weaker) aside, I would not do that again. And presume upon our good and gracious God to spare me from my foolishness again.

Unless I had a gun ...

Putting my life at risk for a dog?

I see what you mean. Your children were already safe but it was the whole matter of you going up against a deadly dog in order to save yours.

So thankful your life was spared that day. 🙏🏽