Head banging of my toddler: Any suggestion on the way out?

in Motherhood2 years ago

IMG_20210925_132244_295.jpg

Children are sources of delight to their parents but parenting also comes with a number of challenges. One of which is protecting our children from any form of harm.

I never quite appreciated the labor of love of my mother over me the way I should until I became a father! My wife will often remind me whenever I am tempted to be impatient with my baby boy that this baby is the only reason you are called a father!

It is not that she is unaware that a person could be addressed as a father without any filial relationship with the person who addresses one as a father, but she always want me to remember certain facts about myself.

I grew up into adulthood without any serious bonding with my dad. He was a travelling businessman who died when I was too young to remember our relationship together.

Given my experience, I was determined to form a very strong bonding with everyone of my children from the very day they arrive this terrestrial ball called earth. I was going to ensure they do not miss what I miss as a child- the affection of my dad.

The pain caused by children's head banging

One of the things that bothers me as a father who loves to care for his baby is the habit of head banging by my baby who clocked two on the last day of the month of October, this year.

God's Ambassador, as I fondly call him, is a lovely and energetic baby. He loves music and will play his piano toy which I bought for him, to develop his perceived talent, on a good day.

The problem however, is the way he acts when he wants attention or his request is not quickly granted. He will go near any solid object, including the wall, tiles on the floor, bed woody part, iron doors, woody chair etc., and hit his head hard on it. Then, he will put his hand on his head and start crying.

Sometimes, his head will swell up in the process. My wife and I were concerned about his safety. Here is a boy who cannot expressed himself verbally apart from saying words like water, bread, mummy, eat etc.

How do we tell if he has a headache? We were in pain for his safety. Therefore, we sought for information online about head banging in children. We learnt about:

The psychology of children's head banging

Most of the materials that we found online affirmed children's tendency to bang their head against object when throwing tantrum.

We learnt that if he isn't showing any developmental ineptitude, we have no reason to be alarm because he will outgrow it.

Children head bang for several reasons including:

Comfort: I wonder how on earth children will derive comfort from banging their head against object but many experts seem to believe that head banging provides children with a rocking sensation such as they experienced when in their mother's womb.

Balance: Head banging is said to test children's brain and improve balance.

Relaxation : It could help children release tension and sleep
Stimulation: It could also stimulate them.
Attention: I am quite familiar with this. Children engage in head banging to get attention.

Is there any way out?

Protecting children who head bang

From literature, distracting children with toys, tapping into their love for music and rhythm is one way to deal with head banging in children.

Personally, this has not being very helpful to my baby. You will recall that I did say that my baby has a toy piano and enjoys playing it on a good day. But it doesn't stop him from head banging.

The best way to deal with head banging according to expert is to ignore it. Yes, ignoring might really work because we learnt from his caretaker at school that he does not act like that when in school !

But it is quite difficult for us as parents to ignore our boy when he hit his head against iron door for example, and his head swell up as a result.

If you have any good suggestion on how we could help manage head banging in our toddler till he outgrow it, kindly let us know by commenting on this post.

Reference

How to manage head banging in young children

Sort:  

This is like the second case I will be coming across as far as head banging by kids is concerned. The first time I witnessed it, I was a bit terrified but the parents of the kid just acted unbothered cos they were probably used to it. Truly though, the boy later outgrew it and he is now a gentle boy.

Interesting to know that there is a psychological side to it and it does not seem like a major problem. Just watch out so that he does not overdo it.

Thanks for the encouraging comment. It's sure encouraging to learn about the experience of others. It's just difficult to look away especially when his head swell up in the process

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (80% of the curation rewards are returned).

Please consider including @stemsocial as a beneficiary to get a stronger support. 
 

Hmmm, I'm happy to set my eyes on him for the very first time (Gentle's junior). Lol.

I sensed he must have inherited that habit from you. It's just a matter of time, he will outgrow it.

My regards to his mother

I sensed he must have inherited that habit from you

Lol.
Thank you sir.