Using My Hive Savings: Making a Mom's Life Easier | My Hive Journey

in Motherhood3 years ago

Covers Victoria.png


Buying a Tablet and an unexpected trip to the ER


I wanted to make this post last Sunday but it would have been a whole lot different one, here is the thing as you guys know our coin HIVE recently have gone up in price and with that a lot of content creators and holders of Hive have taken profit from this, as you guys know I’m from Venezuela and even tho I am a lawyer, I am also a stay at home mom and the whole pandemic hasn’t actually allow me to practice my profession as much as I would love to, so Hive is pretty much my main source of income, in my house is just me and my boyfriend who works for our National Oil Company as an engineer and even tho he they finally gave him a raise is just 80$ a month and with a 2year old baby and his mom who lives with us to support, 80$ is not enough for a whole month, so Hive has put food on our table ever since I joined 3 years ago.
But food is not the only thing you get to buy with Hive I mean is the first thing you think of when you have a baby to support but there are also other stuff you want your child to have and enjoy and with the whole price gone up we manage to buy enough food that we felt it was ok to spend in some other things.

a Tablet for the Kid

First things first don’t @ me with the whole “screen time is bad for kids”, “You shouldn’t give a 2-year-old a tablet, he needs outside play time” comments cause 1. Is not your baby not your choice and 2. You don’t know my parenting rules and plan so… just don’t, oh and also 3. There is a pandemic going on outside play time is a no go…
Getting that out of the way, I’ve wanted to buy this for my baby since last Christmas, but we didn’t manage to afford it then, he is a pretty smart little guy and he loves to watch movies and play with mine or his dad’s phone, also while being a stay at home but working mom, you have to find ways to keep the kid safely entertain while you are busy doing stuff, we had our eyes on this table an Alcatel TKEE mini since is design specially for kids has a cute protective case and to top it all is really cheap.

2.png3.png

Alcatel TKEEmini

specs
OS: Android ™ Pie 9
CPU: MediaTek MT8167D, Quad-Core (4 x 1.3GHz)
Screen: 7-inch TN, 16: 9 aspect ratio, simultaneous 5-point capacitive
Resolution: 600 x 1024 pixels
Dimensions: 205 x 145.5 x 17.5 mm (with shockproof case)
Weight: 440g
Finish: Opaque texture
Battery: 2580mAh
Video call time: 3 hours
Standby time: 400 hours
Charging time: 3 hours

Info taken from the box and the Alcatel website

Alcatel is a French/Chinese brand of mobile handsets owned by Finnish consumer electronics company Nokia and used under license by Chinese electronics - Wikipedia*

Price 90.00 US$

Now this is the post I wanted to make last Sunday right after getting the thing, talk all about how awesome getting it for my baby and all that, I bought it on Saturday morning and was planning on taking the pictures of it and of the kid with it to post it here on the next day, but then Sunday came…

The nightmare begins

I was awake at 2am since I usually do my posts and work on the blockchain and discord at night while the kid is sleeping this allows me to have peace while working on my content instead of worrying, he needs me, this prove to be a good thing since being awake allowed me to prevent the kid form choking. My kid didn’t even wake up coughing and showing signs that he could not breath, I entered the action mode I think all moms come with and put him face down and started to give him gentle strokes on his back, this help him vomit all the things he had in his stomach and allow him to breath again normally, after that scare as you can guess I couldn’t go back to sleep easily but anyways I though it was weird and that probably the kid had choked himself with his own saliva, I was wrong.
On 7am that same Sunday the kid woke me and his dad up by vomiting all over again, we try to calm his stomach and just give him water to calm him, nothing the kid ingested not even the breast milk he could keep in his system all he vomited immediately after so I called his pediatrician, she told me to put an injection of Metoclopramide a medication used to treat and prevent nausea and vomiting, to stop the vomiting and prevent the kid from dehydrating, we did that, it all stopped for a few hours but then in the afternoon he was vomiting again, called the pediatrician again, she told us to wait let him rest and not give him food, water or even breast milk at all for at least a few hours to let his stomach settle, we did that for 3 hours we didn’t gave him nothing, that night it was all sort if good cause even tho he did got some temperature he did not vomit anymore and after we gave him some fever medication he felt sleep and his temperature went down.
We thought everything was going to be ok, then Monday came…

Our first trip to the ER

My baby is 2 years and 7 months now and in all this time we have never had to go to the hospital at all, I think the fact that he was breastfeed exclusively and his dad and I are a little overprotective of him has keep him a very healthy little guy, but this Monday at 7am he woke up throwing up again and so we made the decision to take him to the ER.
His dad is as I said a worker on our national oil company and one of the benefices is, they have a special only for workers hospital, as with all other public hospitals in our country the whole medical system is just almost nonexistent.

1.png2.png

Getting to the ER…

was already a challenge for us since we don’t have a car and the hospital is a little bit far from our house, so we had to ask my Bf brother to see if he had any gas in his car to take us there, he didn’t and that is when Hive comes to save the day again. We had to buy gas at international prices 0.5$/Lt, we bought 5Lts this was enough to drive the car from my brother in law’s house to ours to the hospital and back.
Thank god for my Hive savings this wouldn’t be possible if it weren’t for me having money save on Hive and actually wouldn’t be possible if I didn’t worked on Hive as a content creator, liked I said being a lawyer at least this year hasn’t get me any good jobs to actually live of that.
Once we manage to get to the ER it was 7.40am we were scare for covid I haven’t actually been to a hospital the whole year since the pandemic started so this was scary mostly for our kid specially since he was obviously sick already and that made him more susceptible to get the virus, thankfully this hospital was almost empty since is not a sentinel hospital (one of the government authorize ones to treat covid patients) and is not actually a public hospital for everybody to attend, they have almost all but the ER shut down and so is pretty much empty all the time with the few emergencies exceptions and a few covid patients they do have in a separate wing.

First check out

1080_1080.png

We were attended to by a nurse and he got prescribe another dose of the same Metoclopramide injection his pediatrician already sent him the day before, after getting that shot he was evaluated and deem dehydrated so we were moved to the pediatric ER and there we were told he needed to get an IV to hydrated him, thing was they didn’t had the IV kit or the adhesive to keep it in place, I mean I cant say I was surprise they didn’t had that, I was actually surprise that was the only thing they didn’t had and ask us to buy, baby daddy went to buy it on the pharmacy.

By this time even tho he had been vomiting the kid was in good spirits and even playing with his new tablet.

Getting the IV

2.png1.png3.png

I know they needle must have hurt even tho the nurse was the sweetest and she clearly knew what she was doing and manage to get it in the first try without much of a fuss, but even tho it wasn’t me who got the IV put in, it hurt so badly, it broke my heart and today writing this remembering it all makes me feel so sad and bad and just want to cry to think about it realizing my poor baby had to go through all that.

We manage to make a fecal exam where the doctor determined it wasn’t a bacteria and most likely was a bad indigestion (food poisoning) or just a virus. But we couldn’t made him a blood test there cause the hospital didn’t had the reactive it needed to make it. We needed to make that one on our own the next day.

By 10am they put in another medicine that did had (again surprising me they didn’t ask me to buy it thank god) for his stomach a gastric protector call omeprazole, by 12pm he was schedule for the second dose of the day of the Metoclopramide but by this time even tho he was being a good kid and staying put trying to sleep it off, I notice he was starting to get blue lips.

1.png2.png3.png

I don’t think I have to explain why I started to freak out, my boyfriend call the nurse and she put a machine on his finger to measure his oxygen levels this was the scariest part of the whole thing those few seconds when you think there is something seriously wrong with your kid and have not ability to actually help him in any way possible. Thank god the machine returned a 100% level of oxygen in his blood, the nurse told us this was then cause a high fever was making its way into my child’s body.

40° Degree Fever

1080_1080.png

This is one of the worse fevers and most dangerous since such a high temperature can cause seizures and irreversible damages to the brain cells, we needed to cool him off immediately but the hospital didn’t had any fever medicine on hand to provide the kid with, and even tho I did brought our own baby paracetamol the kid is the worse to drink medicine he just doesn't like to do it and even tho his dad and I tried to force feed him the medicine he ended up throwing it up.

His dad made the decision to go buy him an injection to control his fever while I put him cold water sucked pieces of clothes on the baby to help him get the temperature down. After his dad return with the medicine and it was put through his IV we still need to get the temperature down cause it wasn’t doing a quick effect on him so we had to go to the bathroom and bathed him on the small sink there.

After 30 minutes bathing him there we manage to control his fever back down to 38°, since his IV fluids were already done passing, his fever was down and he hadn’t vomit since 7.30am, there wasn’t much more the hospital could do for us at that point we asked the doctor to let us go home where it was easier for us to get the medicines if the kid needed them again for the fever, or to bath him if need it, also to do his blood work too, since his godmother who lives in the house next door to ours is a RN we could ask her for if we ever needed it.

Using Hive to cover the costs

1.png2.png

We spend over 17$ (38,520,000.00 VES) in medicine on the first day plus the gasoline and the transportation for my boyfriend to go buy the medicine when we needed it. it was around a total of 20$ just on this trip to the ER, all cover with my Hive savings. now i know it may not seem like much to some but when you think Hive is our main source of income is a lot! specially when we also have to buy food, diapers and other stuff.

Here is the thing you may think this is a “well she uses Hive for the money” and yes of course I don’t think anyone is in here not for the money, some may not live off of it but all want the profits Hives provides specially when the price is up, but I wouldn’t manage to get all the rewards I do and wouldn’t have manage to have the savings I did to help cover the costs of my kid whole ER visit and the aftermath if it weren’t for the community, and for that I am thankful, I know I get autovotes that make my shit posting not stay at 0$ and I know I have friends who vote my shit posts cause they are good enough to do that and I wouldn’t have those friends and those votes if it weren’t for Hive.

As always, I manage to cover all this without needing to do a power down and that still amazes me! I will continue to keep my HP as a savings for my kid if we ever need it (hopefully not!!) in case of emergency, this time I manage to do all this with my liquid Hive and I will start saving my liquids again this time hopefully to buy a car, if its one thing this whole experience has taught us is we need a car it doesn't have to be big or new it just have to work so we can manage to go to the hospital in case of emergency without having to worry if we cant find someone to take us there.

To be continue…

This post is already too long so I will continue my week from terror story in another post on my personal account @victoria.bsb but I wanted to make this one here to show how much again Hive has help me and my family and to say…

Thank you


As always, thank you very much for reading me and
I hope to read your comments!


Picture Credit: All images are of my property unless said otherwise and the emojis are made with Bitmoji.com!


Proud Member and Supporter of The Minnow Support Project, If You Are Not Yet on The Community What Are You Waiting For?? CLICK below!!!

imageedit_2_6915230732.png


Are you a Mom? Of a human or a Cat or a Dog or of anything? Join us in our Community!Eres Venezolano? Tenemos una Comunidad Increíble Únete!!

😗 Follow me on my Other Social Media...❗️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️

footer  victoriabsb.png

Instagram | Twitter | Telegram

Sort:  

It is always nice to read about people taking care of real world problems with what they were able to do on Hive.

This is the most important message we have: Hive is changing lives.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 3 years ago  

it is, it change mine completely it gave me a little bit of economical freedom that i wouldnt be able to have if i werent here, this whole ER trip all i had to worry was for my kid to be ok but as for money i actually wasnt that worry since i thank to HIVE had my liquid savings there to help cover any small bill that may arise from this, of course if more was needed i may need to do a power down to cover those but having that option having that money was so helpful in such a scary time for a mom.

Mujer, que angustia cuando los chamos se enferman. Qué Dios te lo guarde ❤️

 3 years ago  

horrible y mas aun cuando no sabes que es, la impotencia que te da no poder ayudarlos a sentirse bien rapido es lo peor, pero gracias a dios ya despues de 3 dias de locura el volvio a ser el mismo fastidiosin de siempre jajajaja dije que mas nunca me quejaria de lo fastidioso que es porque prefiero sea asi a que este todo apagadito.

I wish you the best of luck during these times and I hope everything turns out well.

 3 years ago  

thank you! the baby is ok now, he had an IV until Tuesday afternoon after that he was as good as new thank god, he is now to his old mischievous ways

Que bueno que pudiste resolver, porque enfermarse en Venezuela es una verdadera pesadilla en todos los sentidos!

 3 years ago  

Siento que no solo fuimos afortunados por tener el dinero necesario para no sentir la presión de no tener como cubrir los gastos, si no que en el hospital al que fuimos (uno de PDVSA) aunque no tenian todo y si nos toco pasar calor porque no habia aire acondicionado en la pediatria, pudimos estar muchisimo peor asi que no me quejo fuimos muy afortunados en ese sentido.

Wow. That sounds really scary. So glad to hear your son came through it OK and that your Hive was a big help to you.

I hope the second part of your story is that your son is now completed recovered.

!LUV1

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi @victoriabsb, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @gillianpearce. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM