You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Never Been A Better Pot To Piss In

in The LooLoo2 years ago

Read my response again. Nowhere did I say you're doing something wrong. You asked why I muted you so I explained, don't take it personally. Those points are yours to do with as you wish, you either earned them or purchased them, it's not my business to tell you how to redeem them.

Several months ago I asked Ecency development to include a feature that allows users to 'hide' sponsored content. The idea's being tossed around now. Something along the lines where User A spends points to hide content User B deemed worthy to run on repeat consequently pushing quality content further and further from consumer view.

I think a maximum 1-day sponsorship is appropriate, anything more than that is misuse in my opinion. And anyone who promotes their own or anyone else's content beyond the seven day pay period needs more help than I can offer.

I put this together last year regarding promote and boost functions—much more thorough explanation. You should check it out.

If all promoted content that played on repeat in user Ecency feeds whether they appreciate it or not was of this caliber, 10's of thousands of users would flock to the blockchain on a weekly basis similar to the other social media platforms because with every flick of a scroll finger, the content is high quality. And that's what we all want—to protect our investment. Unfortunately my feed is loaded with users who promote garbage.


How do I make my content MORE visible to people if not by promoting?

There's multiple ways. First and foremost, be patient and consistent. Enter contests; curators and consumers specifically look for contest entries for exciting material. Engage is another. When you enter a contest, engage with other entries, this will build relationships and further develop contacts. Visit trending, look at those authors leading the platform in views and rewards right now and notice none are promoted.

This response is ridiculously lengthy.

Because I believe that more visibility is necessary to grow my account, which is something we're all after. Or do I mistake here as well?

No. Again, I didn't say you're doing something wrong but if you're under the impression screaming at a room full of strangers with a megaphone is attractive, you may want to reconsider your approach.

Sort:  

Your response is lengthy, but not "rediculously lengthy". Thank you very muhc for taking the time to defend your point of view, and especially, to explain it. I'm glad I've been asking for it, and will follow big part of your advise.

There's one thing that some of the people spending many hours per day on Hive don't seem to understand though... Not everybody has got that time. I'm spending for example more time than I actually have on it and this already for several months, just because I want to be consistent. Still I don't have the time to answer on everything, read everything I'd like to read (not to mention to comment it) and write blogs and articles which I'd like to write. This means that I'm not able to participate in many of these contests, only already time wise.

Anyway I want to participate here and get rewarded somehow for it. Maybe that's why in the end I'm choosing for the 7-day promotion for the few "decent" articles I'm writing. I get your point though and might consider in the future to go for less days. And call it the easy way, when I post in Actifit, but I need to start somewhere...