Sort:  

She's a resident—passport holder, NI number, all that stuff, our council tax is up to date etcetera. And even though she is, I still got denied. Disappointing huh?

Solicitor here suggested against border hopping. When we returned from Hungary recently, I was stopped and asked my purpose which hadn't happened before. They asked if I lived here permanently or was planning to. I had to say just visiting on the advice to solicitor gave me. That's when what he said clicked.

If I attempted the 6 months in route, then hop outside UK for a month before returning, they could refuse my access indefinitely. Wish I was making that up. I'd be lying if I said we prepared for this.

You were still denied a spouse visa? Did they tell you why? Sorry, that's a rhetorical question, don't answer it, it's personal.

UK has always been pretty strict on immigration because so many people want to come in for the wrong reasons, it's unfortunate you're caught up in this.

Hopefully we'll see you in a year's time. Btw, you going to Hivefest by any chance?

It's complicated.

Until I began this whole process, I think ignorance is bliss best describes my approach. Had I applied in say, January, I don't think we'd be talking about it. I was told in a roundabout word-salad way by immigration that my timing is all wrong. I'm ok with it, really, if by not processing my application grants someone desperately seeking refuge their asylum then so be it. I can accept that.

Negative. Shortly after I met you is when we received word from immigration. It forced us to reconsider all unplanned overhead. Guess that's what we get for making plans.