Sort:  

It's nothing personal. I'm an Ecency user so whenever I see repeat sponsored content in my feed that I can't make go away, I check the wallet and, if they self-promoted more than one day, I mute the author. It's the only way. If a neutral party did the promotion, I won't mute it, that's how sponsorships are supposed to work. We don't see race cars, for example, go around the track and around and around and around like repeat content in our feeds over and over and over with the authors name painted all over the car. Actual sponsors names are painted on the car.

I wrote in detail about it here if you're interested.

Those points are yours, you either earned or purchased them, either way you're free to do as you wish with them. You didn't do anything wrong, what you did was promote your content for several days and mute is the only way I can make it go away.

I've been giving so many of these lengthy explanations lately. Muting authors sucks, I don't like doing it but I'm not a fan of downvoting unless the content is plagiarized so, yeah, mute it is. You asked, here's my explanation, hope this clears it up. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Thank you for your detailed explanation. I was a little irritated at first, from my point of view at the time, to be ignored. But now that I have read your comment and the article on the included link, I understand better how you deal with self-promoted content. I understand if you don't want to see the same posts over several days.

Reading your article also made me understand how to deal with boosts/self-promoting. I tried to use boosts/promoting to give my content, which received fewer votes than others, another chance to reach a wider audience. For this purpose, I post my pictures and impressions of the world on social media so that they do not gather dust as empty data on a memory card. Also, I noticed that I have voted some post myself, though I can assure you that it was accidental. Now I wasn't aware that you can also boost/promote other people's content that you like, and will think about this further.

But now I have more questions, such as can I undo self votes? Or, if you mute a post, do you only mute the content in question, or all the content of the user in question?

You see, I am capable and willing to learn. And I hope that I can win you back as a follower in the near future. I wish you a good rest of the weekend. And I too like silent Bluetooth speakers and coffee, but without cream and candies (I like the good brown ones just so), because with my coffee consumption my teeth love me, but my dentist hates me for it...🔥

Weathered wood is the best! Wait, hey! Candles, I'm talking about candles. 👊🏼

Whaddup man?

You can't 'undo' a self vote, per se. What you can do is remove it by downvoting at the same strength you upvoted. Does that make sense? Your upvote will still be there but by downvoting the same strength you're removing your upvote value. I hope that makes sense.

More eyes on your content—I totally get it. I scrolled through your history and, for what it's worth, you're receiving a lot of attention and you're fairly fresh on the platform. I, personally, didn't gain curator attention my whole first year just to put it in perspective. Took these mufukers a long time to embrace me. It wasn't until about 15 months I finally caught my first trail. You're doing great, you have a lot of attention. And pretty consistent too.

Not everyone agrees with me as far as that promote feature goes. Only thing better than hiding it would be Ecency removed it completely. Just erase it from the code. PeakD doesn't do it, Hive.blog either. You don't see it in YouTube either. Imagine every time you sign into YouTube it's the exact same author on the front page. Eventually you'd do anything to avoid that author. Hence YouTube doesn't allow it.

Thanks for hearing me out. No hard feelings. Promotions longer than one day are excessive if you ask me. Don't be a stranger.

Thank you for your honest and detailed answers. I think I can still learn a lot from you. I didn't realise that I had attracted so much attention from curators so quickly. Or that promotions of more than one day can seem intrusive. And since I have a lot of time to think about my use of the Hive Blockchain, new questions are arising. For example, about participating in and dealing with curation trails via Hive.Vote. Is that a good thing? To experiment, I'm currently participating in about 30 trails with a vote weight of 30% and the scaled method (also wanted to get some info on the Discord channel in question, but the answers weren't exactly enlightening). Or are delegations from HP (e.g. to @appreciator) a good thing? Or what do I do with my Ecency points now? Because I don't just want to take, I also want to give.

Hi, nice to meet you. Ecency Points can be used
for BOOST - ( I know @dandays is not a fan of self boost but) also boosting for you own content is okay. But on the other hand you also can see the BOOST as if you where a Whale and can give nice upvotes to people you think deserve a little more.
Boostings are not guaranteed, there are curators looking if the vote/worth and content/effort is okay. If you dont get the boost, your ecency points will be refunded within 24h.
PROMOTING - I personally am not a big fan of promoting "Normal" content. I would just use it for contests or something that could be interesting to the majority of hivers. But it's totaly up to you.
Promoting can be choosen for 1 - 14 days, but as Dandays said, longer then 2 days make no sense, even can lead to downvotes if people see it too often.
TIP - if youre online with ecency and look at the end of each post, you also find the little present symbol. click it and you can choose to send HIVE HBD or ECENCY POINTS to the blogger as a present.

for ecency questions you also find us in ecency discord https://discord.gg/P9qPDCY4

As I see you also post in German, you could think to use the #deutsch tag. This is the tag most german speaking hivians from DACH look into.
Greetings from Austria :-)

My pleasure.

I have my account following a couple trails. Yes, I think they're a good thing. We as individuals don't have time to sift through all the content whereas curation trails have handfuls of curators constantly searching for quality content. Supporting them who then support undervalued content is a good thing. My only recommendation would be, be wary of trails who use their HP to downvote content based on difference of opinion. I don't support trails who abuse their delegated HP to downvote material out of spite rather than abuse. Downvoting plagiarism or racism, for example, totally acceptable. Downvoting political differences or science opinions, however, totally unacceptable.

Gaining HP by delegating is absolutely a good thing. It's safe to say the majority of large account holders are delegating to someone. Each curation account has their perks. Ecency, for example, pays 100% of their earned HP to delegators whereas others may only pay 80% which isn't bad but it's not 100. LEO finance is another one, they're paying 16% APR which I think is the best on the platform currently. To answer your question, yes, delegating is a good thing.

Ecency Points are yours to do with as you wish, there's so many ways to spread them around. Boosts and promotes are not a one way street and work everywhere, not just ourselves. Try it out, each time you receive quality comments or consume quality content, drop them a 150 boost. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by the results. If everyone only promoted content they find valuable rather than their own content, I think our feeds will have a lot more quality and a lot less narcissism.

Any time man, I don't know everything but I'll teach you everything I know. I haven't been around much lately, haven't posted fresh content for about a month now, I come and go but even if I vanish for periods of time, I'll be back and pick up where I left off.

Good morning (as I write this it is just 11:30am on my 40th birthday). Thank you for your votes in my last post. I'm just having some thoughts about downvotes. Because I got some in the last post. Most of them from accounts with an X at the beginning.
(xecency, xcurangel, xappericator). What are we talking about here? Are they bots? How should I weight them? I also got downvotes from two other accounts. Wouldn't it be useful to have an automatic, obligatory comment function when downvotes are made, so that the recipient knows why?
I have also asked the questions in the Discord Channel recommended to me, but would also like to have your personal opinion on this, as I enjoyed our last dialogue extremely.

You're welcome. Happy birthday dude.

Shuffle those downvotes in one ear and right out the other. Pay about as much attention to them as you would second hand toilet paper from a street vendor. Somewhere along the lines, someone who's half decent with computers got their feelings hurt over upvote techniques by the big curation accounts and developed bots to downvote everything they upvote. They're nothing worth thinking about, pay them no attention and keep doing what you do.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dandays.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more