Wanna See My Loo? [A Bathroom Renovation Post for the New Loo Community on HIVE]

in The LooLoo3 years ago

Whilst I really wanted to find a 'fun' toilet picture like @livinginuktaiwan, when I went to google photos, all I found was my bathroom renovation, which I'd entirely forgotten about as we did it about six years ago. But what the hey - finding the Loo Loo community on HIVE is pretty 'invent a post' worthy, don't you think? We've done all the rude jokes in Discord about it, so in this post, I'm going to keep it clean. And despite the pleas of @roadstories, I am absolutely NOT going to share my bathroom stories from the 1990's, as I have a reputation to uphold, thankyou very much.

When we first bought the house, the bathroom looked like this. It looks clean in the photo as it's a photo taken by the real estate agent, but that bathroom was a mess and full of cheap fittings and I hated it with a passion. It's hard to pick out, but that colour is like a awful tea green (I apologise if your bathroom is tea green, but it's not my taste). And that's LINO on the floor. LINO, I tell you!

image.png

So, after a few years of begging, the bathroom began. A brand new bath and loo, and some tiles on the floor. It's quite the small space, so we were limited with what we could do with it.

image.png

As we were quite broke at the time, we decided to use a thick sheet of ply instead of stone, which I really wanted. We coated it with marine boat varnish and it's still good to this day. The mirror was made out of some old wood from a university we found in a skip. All the fittings and tiles were bought on sale. The side of the bathroom cabinet is made of an old redwood (mahogany) wardrobe.

image.png

BUT - the really awesome part was the big window we put in! As there is zero to no chance anyone would walk by on our 5 acres, I wanted clear glass so I could see the sky and the birds. The garden has grown so much since then - and I have filled the bathroom with plants, which you'll see in a minute. We don't use this room as much, except for a bath. We decided against a screen as it made the space too small, so you have to angle the shower head just right and use a window cleaner for the tiles to sweep the water toward the plughole afterwards.

image.png

The cabinets we bought flatpack from Bunnings (Australians will know this mega store). The space wouldn't fit the third, but a basket for loo roll works a treat, and we don't need to bother with a toilet roll holder that way.

image.png

I'm an absolute sucker for a bath - I always feel happy in the water, and I'm literally running one whilst I write this post (actually, I'm having to type super fast as I worry it's overflowing!). Can you see the tree in the garden that isn't in the top photo? Birds come and sit on the branch - it's lovely to watch them whilst I splash about.

image.png

The top photo is a little out of date actually as I haven't had a glass of wine all year - although looking at this photo, I sure want one! My bathroom now looks like the photo on the left below, with a little jungle to make me think I'm in a tropical country. Oh, and the photo on the right hand side, which I love, is the print I have up above the bath that we bought in Vietnam some years ago.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Well, best go - I'm dying for a bath since I've been writin about it! I'm glad to post in the Loo Loo community - sadly, you can't post poo pics, but bathroom related stories, architecture and the like are welcomed - I encourage you to go read the rules, once you've finished laughing that HIVE has a toilet community. We've had great fun changing our names in the OCD community Discord - can you guess who the following 'Loo' community admirers might be? Some are harder than others...

@livinginukloo @overflowingloo @miniloobreak @crosheilloo @angrekkloo @acidloo @kimmyloo

Do you have a Loo story to share?

Do you have plants in your bathroom to make your loo break more enjoyable?

Sort:  

Now that's a great looking bath, girl. A ribeena in a wine glass could work too.... 😆

I really like your big window - a nice touch and lovely that you haven't put a silly frosted pane in it. I do get tired of staring at the tiles in my Thai bathroom, which has one of those small poky windows way up high... frosted, of course, and with an obligatory escape hatch for the geckos.

 3 years ago  

Oh I can just imagine! It wouldn't be an Asian bathroom without it!

This year it's usually a tulasi tea.. or rosemary - or if feeling sinful, a strong chai with honey or maple syrup..

But... wine!

I think I could live in your bathroom without any problem, how beautiful! hahaha

 3 years ago  

Aw, thanks! I do half live in there with the amount of baths I have haha

It's wonderful 😲😲

 3 years ago  

Thanks @rem-steem - whilst I look at some bathrooms with envy, I'm proud of what we did.

Loved seeing your bathroom. I've been posting about building mine, but I'm not going to join a community for that. I LOVE all your plants!

My old bathroom upstairs just has 2, as the light isn't great and those 2 have survived. I worry about them when I start using the bath downstairs more... Out of sight, out of mind..

 3 years ago  

Hahaha are you SURE you don't want to post in the Loo LOo community? Funny. Oh goodness yes maybe you should move them downstairs?

I'm afraid the conditions downstairs might kill them faster... It's much warmer for a lot of months in cold weather, due to wood heat. They've been so happy there for decades, in that upstairs bathroom.

"I would love to poo in your loo" is what I wanted to type and then I noticed that that kind of language isn't tolerated in this community.

Toedeloo ( pronounce as "to the loo" ) is actually Dutch for byebye or see ya.

Seems like you did a great job on this room and I must say I love all the plants in there. Will keep it in mind for when I ever decide to live in a house of my own again ;<)

No worries @vincentnijman the only 'no poo' rule I have for the LooLoo Community is for people not to just dump an image of a pile of poo for no apparent reason other than because they want to be malicious. Apart from that, I'm pretty flexible. And thanks for reading community rules, really appreciate it.

 3 years ago  

I'm desperate to find out who you are on the blockchain @hive-165962 - is it a secret!?

You know what they say, I'd have to kill you if I told you. In this case, I'll have to throw you down the Loo if I told you, and that's not gonna be pleasant!!

the only 'no poo' rule I have for the LooLoo Community is for people not to just dump an image of a pile of poo for no apparent reason other than because they want to be malicious.

I like the use of the word 'dump' in this sentence :<)

I actually didn't read the rules but I drew these conclusions. There's more than enough shit posts already even a loo post can be of quality.

A hug from Portugal!

Bring it on! Let's see what you have 😄

 3 years ago  

Hahah I think you can, and just did! Oh wow, so that's where it came from - that's what old school folk say in English too - toodleloo!

I love the jungle bathroom, its fun!

Haha, for a moment I thought people in Australia would say the same.

I am visualizing my own jungle bathroom already. Perhaps in that house on the hill? ;<)

Congratulations @riverflows! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

That is a nice bath! I can't wait to take a picture of mine. It's not built yet but we got a free standing bath which is pretty exciting.

I hope there weren't too many shitty jokes made in discord. Although I'm dieing for a Bunnings snag now. Looks like I know what lunch is tomorrow!

 3 years ago  

Hahahah the link between bunnings snags and poo is noticed. Enjoy.

A free standing bath always looks great, just wouldn't want to get under there to mop imo!

You have certainly made this bathroom very cozy and plants i do love in a bathroom i have a couple in my loo also 😁

 3 years ago  

Plants definitely make a bathroom - thankyou!

Most deginitely do @riverflows 👍

Congratulations @riverflows! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Dear @riverflows

In my opinion, the bathroom looked good at first. Maybe I would have left it as it was.
Then, seeing the changes you made, my jaw just dropped.

You have an enviable imagination, that window extension was great as well as the furniture you used.
I congratulate you.

Yours, Piotr

 3 years ago  

It looked much cleaner and nicer than real life! thanks for your appreciation - it's nice to share and get praise for hard work done!

Dear @riverflows

Thanks for such a prompt reply. I must admit, that I always admire people like yourself who know how to do manual work. I feel like I have 2 left hands lol

Hopefully you will be happy with achieveed results - once renovation is already over.

ps.
I would like to take this opportunity and invite you to my recent post (celebrating my 3rd anniversary on hive chain with some special initiative). I would appreciate if you could consider reposting it - so I could reach out wider audience.

Enjoy your weekend,
Yours, Piotr