Two mushrooms growing around my indoor hibiscus plant, macro photos

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

They suddenly sprouted in my plant's pot this week.
An upvote to whoever may identify it.

DSC04082.jpg

DSC04086.jpg

DSC04079.jpg

DSC04074.jpg

DSC04067.jpg

DSC04062.jpg

DSC04088.jpg

DSC04069.jpg

DSC04094.jpg

DSC04078.jpg

DSC04094-2.jpg

DSC04071.jpg

DSC04087.jpg

20210720_141232.jpg

20210719_150035.jpg

Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens, Sony α77 camera.
Except last two photos, shot with a Samsung A50.

-aoi
https://ao-i.bandcamp.com

Sort:  

This one looks quite a bit like shaggy parasol to me aka Chlorophyllum rhacodes. It's pretty weird that they grew out of a plant pot, usually that is reserved for Leucocoprinus birnbaumii. I suppose if you gathered soil from outside for the plant you may have accidentally gathered some spores that go well with the roots of the plant. Another thing to test is to slightly cut the stem on one and see if it turns red or bruises with a color of some sort.

Oh looks like you're right about the ID. The soil came from a potting mix, which I hadn't changed since more than a year and hadn't shown mushrooms before. Perhaps the spores were carried by wind through my window.

Spores are tricky they activate at just the right condition many years later. Chances are they were in the soil already. Maybe they like hibiscus roots.

This is Amanita sp., but I I cant be more precise, its hard to choose from variety of certain species, they all look the same for me, and I not a mycologist to see the minimal distinctive touches.

the pot was located indoors, right?and mushrooms decided it has a suitable environment to pop-up, all of a sudden. thats amazing case, indeed!

!PIZZA - and welcome with your 1st post to FL. you know, we have a #fungifriday fun challenge, my friend.

Connect

Trade


@a0i! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @qwerrie.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

Thanks for the welcome!
Yes it was indoors, I'm intrigued about what made it pop-up suddenly, it was a fiun surprise.

I can imagine! hehe. as sketch-and-jam noted, it could happen due to the soil was taken from forest?.. is that the case?

It was not! I used cheap potting soil from the store. The spores could have come in from the window.

I used cheap potting soil from the store.

lol: now you know where do they get the stuff to sell you :)))
(well, just kidding).

in fact, it is an interesting question where do mushrooms come from, to which there is no universal answer. yes, spores can be carried by the wind, flies and other insects that crawled over the mushroom. and the mycelium can develop and doze in the soil for years (!) until suddenly something changes and the environment shifts in the direction that the mycelium considers favorable for reproduction. and then it grows a fruit body, and we say: oops, a mushroom has grown! .. something like that. everything is nonlinear. - !ENGAGE 50

True, these mushrooms mycellium may have been doing its mycellium things for a great long while before they sprouted.

True, these mushrooms mycellium may have been doing its mycellium things for a great long while before they sprouted.

Amazing macro photos!! My iPhone can never do this! LoL

Wow amazing shots

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!