Some fungi finds while walking in the forest

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

FInding fungi.png

I'm usually going out to the forest to gather firewood mainly, and I sometimes bump into mushrooms. This time I ran into several that I hadn't seen before so I wanted to share them with you and see if you might help me identify them. I took pictures from different angles in hopes this might help the id.

This one was about the size of the palm of my hand and smelled very fresh and fungi.

Angle 1

fungi 8 .JPG

Angle 2

fungi 7.JPG

Angle 3

fungi 6.JPG

Another find with very curious designs. Just look at those shapes!

Angle 1

fungi 4.JPG

Angle 2

fungi 3.JPG

Angle 3

fungi 2.JPG

Angle 4

fungi 1.JPG

Now, these got my attention the most. I'm sure most of you will get a bit upset to know that I ate one of these but I have to tell you that this is a practice I've done for years now. Every now and then I eat a mushroom very slowly and try to grasp it's essence through intuition. Regarding these, they were delicious, the foot had even a sweet taste, and I felt slightly drunk afterwards.

Angle 1

fungi 10.JPG

Angle 2

fungi 5.JPG

Angle 3

fungi 9.JPG

Finally, these only have one angle since they were so near the soil that I didn't want to move them.

fungi 11.JPG

So, that's it for this walk. Four different species, very interesting as they were big clusters. Knowing if they are edible would make for very interesting knowledge to those of us who like foraging for food.


Finally gathered my firewood and got lucky to find a rope for my shelter.

leña.JPG

Thanks for stopping by, any info or suggestions on what species those mushrooms might be is welcome. See you soon!

Sort:  

It's on my serious list of things to do this year to go out into the jungles with a local tribesperson to learn more about the local fungi - and mycology in general.

Loving to see you blossoming out here, @fenngen. x

Wow, I hope to see a post on that trip, must be beautiful!! Thanks @artemislives , still rooting down and feeling some distance towards the blossom but I have faith it's coming :)

The white stemmed ones with the brown caps seem familiar to me. At first I thought they might be a lactarius mushroom but seeing them grow in a bunch like that seems more like Agrocybe aegerita. Though there are many that lookalikes to Agrocybe, a spore print would better help identification.

I agree. Little Brown Mushrooms (LBMs) are notoriously difficult to ID in the field. For the second mushroom, it looks to me like some species of Chanterelle, though that would be a pretty early fruiting if that is the case. The "gills" don't seem to branch and do run down a good portion of the stalk, so I don't think it is a false chanterelle.

The colors don't mach those of chanterelle though, I've been looking all over but can't find any thing online regarding those colors @tych021

I can't find anything with as dark of an underside as what you show here either. Hard to say what they are. Maybe it's discoloration from decay?

No idea, tried cooking one and tasted bad so I doubt it's chanterelle... Will let you know if I find out anything

It looks a bit like agrocybe aegerita, yet the colors are darker and redder than the pictures online. I guess a spore print is in order though I haven't gone back there again. If it's still there on next visit I hope to get one!