First Encounter With Mushrooms

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago (edited)

Fungifriday1.jpeg

Yes, my first publication for the Fungi Lovers community is here. And this has its own story. Maybe not so interesting to the reader who doesn’t know where I live. But for me and for those who may follow me, they know that I have complained several times that there are no mushrooms here. Living on the seashore, with almost eternal sun all year round, mushrooms cannot find their place. In the forest we have on the hill above the town, I have never seen one. And I looked at a lot of times, my husband knows that every time I stop in our walk and look at the foot of the trees ... But the ground is rocky, dry. Everything is dry and dusty.

Fungi1.jpeg

So on Fridays, I just watched wonderful posts about mushrooms created by @actifraenk, (I still remember the first post I looked, about mushrooms and one with googly-eyes... which we said looks like platypus), @ewkaw, @sketch.and.jam...

Fungi2.jpeg

However, the story of my encounter with mushrooms changed on Wednesday, two days ago. We went to the mountains by the lake. My husband was fishing and I wanted to warm up and went to walk in the woods. To my great surprise, at the least expected moment
I saw it! A mushroom. Wow, I almost screamed with happiness and excitement. Oh, you dear mushroom, let's take a picture of you. And my excitement increased, even more, when I saw that there were others as well.

fungi3.jpeg

fungi4.jpeg

fungi5.jpeg

In this dry grass, under the needles of conifers, mushrooms were lined up. I came closer to some to take pictures of them from below, to try to identify them.

fungi6.jpeg

fungi7.jpeg

fungi8.jpeg

That searching and identification lasted for several hours today in front of the screen. The conclusion I came to was that it might be Boletus subtomentosus. It might be as well Xerocomus subtomentosus, although according to wikipedia
some experts say that it is just a synonym to boletus.

fungi9.jpeg

fungi10.jpeg

However, maybe I am completely wrong, and that is not that kind of mushroom. If anyone knows better, feel free to correct me.

fungi11.jpeg

fungi12.jpeg

I have seen really many specimens, mostly among the dry grass but some grew between the rocks and on a mossy base.

fungi13.jpeg

Later I came across other mushrooms, much smaller and of different shapes. They will remain unclassified for now, but I photographed them with the same excitement when I saw them.

IMG_20201223_111123.jpg

IMG_20201223_111033.jpg

Unfortunately, I only took my phone with me for a walk, not a better camera. They are all photographed with Xiaomi Redmi note 8.

IMG_20201225_201402.jpg

IMG_20201223_123651.jpg

Maybe I would have forgotten about this post of mine, if yesterday @amico.sports did not remind me that tomorrow (today) is Friday! So thanks him this is now here, as an entry for @ewkaw's #fungifriday.

Sort:  

shroomsies :D

could also be a suillus mediterraneensis... considering geography and flora it could be a match

Boletus subtomentosus, I know this mushroom more or less well! It indeed looks very similar to the one you found... It has such distinctive features: the cap is rough, velvety by the touch. And the most important: the stem and cap, when cut, turn very fancy blue color, within a few seconds! I will now search and find a suitable photo from my folders.

definitely a bolete of some kind and if you found them under conifers

I am more then sure, this is a nice detail: 'under conifers '. Suillus sp. are very fond of conifers, we have them growing there, and always pick them up under pines. I am more then sure it is one of this family, Suillus sp. I cant name exactly which one. But all of them are edible, as far as I know. Oh, and look: in several photos the cap looks glossy, shiny, sticky - these are the distinctive features of Suillus sp. And besides, it would be nice to examine younger mushrooms at the beginning of their lifecycle - in this case, the edge of the cap is pressed to the stem with a film, it looks very characteristic and indicates Suillus.

oh, and warmly welcome to the Fungi Lovers community. Your awesome post deserves a good rewarding, as we are part of #OCD Incubating Program, I will nominate your post for the support.

Hope there will be much more happy and intresting finds in the future.
PPS. You are living by the southern sea - I am so jealous for you!

in several photos the cap looks glossy, shiny,

They were shiny, indeed. I haven't touched them, neither cut them to see if they turn into blue. Maybe if we go next time there, I will take a cutter with me and check it out.

warmly welcome to the Fungi Lovers community. Your awesome post deserves a good rewarding

Thank you 💞

I hope as well, but definitely not in the place where we live. But up, in the mountains by the lake, probably there are more of them.

I saw one in this "condition", is it the same type?

IMG_20201223_092937.jpg

mushrooms are ephemera, they do not wait so long :P
especially when the climate is wet..
in dry conditions, well, then they stay longer..

this is how the cut look like changing cover to blue:

img_3612ww.jpg

Haha, so these are not going to wait for me 😅 but maybe some new ones will grow.

I was freezing there 😂 so, there are two options, or better clothing or wait until spring 😁

better clothing is a better option, me thinks. mot shrooms will not pop up in the spring - the most season will be from mid-summer till autumn

is it the same type?

cant say for sure, but seems so.

I will nominate your post for the support.

Thank you @qwerrie that you nominated my post 💝 the support came 🤩

P.S. me, looking for winter clothes to go again to the mountains 😂😂😂

Спасибо

@fraenk, thats a good assumption. I'd say "Bingo!" :)

!ENGAGE 20 - and the !BEER for you :P

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yes, finally shroomies :-D

I checked now, but they look a bit smaller than the ones I found, but definitely the geography and the type of forest matches.

Thanks @fraenk for your comment, soon we are going to see some great shots made by you, right? :-)

Cool, the first few are definitely a bolete of some kind and if you found them under conifers there is a such a thing as boletus coniferarum. They look to be a bit on the old side so the age makes them a bit difficult to identify. Boletes can be tricky you have to cut them and see how they stain then look at stem thickness and pore color etc. The shine on the cap almost resembles a slippery jack bolete as well.

jack bolete = Suillus luteus. Agree with you on the family, not sure about the certain sp.
!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the explanation ☺️. I will definitely take with me some cutter or knife next time to see how they "react"

They are a great mystery since so many boletes look like eachother.

This tiny mushroom is so pretty..

haha, it is not so tiny, it is rather.... 6, 8, maybe up to 10 cm in cap diameter :P

You think the last ones? :)

Welcome to the dark side! Now you will look for them wherever you go :D muahaha

By the way.. once I found mushrooms growing on dunes right near the beach. You might find some there :)

Welcome to the dark side! Now you will look for them wherever you go :D muahaha

😂😂

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

😘 thanks 🍄🍄

WOW, great shots: BRAVAAAAA!!! 😎

BTW, dear @mipiano: I checked the urban dictionary and I really think there is an 's' missing from the word firt in the title ... LOL!

Oh 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Edited, thanks 🤗

🤣🤣🤣 When I read the definition in the dictionary, I burst out laughing! 🤣🤣🤣

I don't want even to look for it 😂
as I would feel probably uncomfortable. Thank you again for telling me, and at least you had a good laugh (and who knows how many others 😂😂)

Have a 🍻 !BEER and a huge hug! 🤗

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @mipiano, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico.sports for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.