UV Reactive Fungi

Hello Fungi Lovers,

Just came across this community and thought I'd share a compilation of some of my favorite shots of UV reactive fungi in Park Clingendael, The Hague.

In September 2015, during a light painting session with a powerful UV lamp and UV makeup in the woods I noticed bright flashes of light at a distance. At first I thought it could be light reflecting off the pupils of several animals. Upon closer inspection I realized they were UV reactive mushrooms!

I was so stoked. I've been following them ever since as they tend to grow in the same area, unless a dog or a stupid kid destroys them as was the case in 2018. They always find a way to come back even if moving a few meters to a less walked on area. It's almost like they learned a lesson and consciously move out of the danger's way. Looking forward to see where and how they will pop up this fall.

On the first one, which is still my favorite I'm applying a lens-cap-trick with a 18-250mm zoom lens, during a blood moon. On the others I've used optical fibers, steel wool and gelled lights to get my light painting thrills.

IMG_7557.jpg

IMG_7572.jpg

37431948920_013a5e05c3_o.jpg

IMG_1960_1.jpg

IMG_1975.jpg


I'm also on Instagram - Facebook - Flickr - Vimeo - Twitter


For more examples of innovative and original light painting please give my light painting comrades a follow: @fadetoblack @dawnoner @mafufuma @fastchrisuk @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau and check out our Hive Community Lightpainters United

Sort:  

@oddballgraphics, welcome to FL community. you've brought a stunning and unique art, thanks a lot for sharing. I hope the fungi love you, too!
:)

@ewkaw, isnt that an amazing visuals? if you have no objections, please drop a link to the OCD channel for this.

Thank you! the fungi were only slightly afraid of me when I used burning steel wool on the second shot. But I promise no fungi were harmed during the making of this and they were thrilled with the party shots :)

But I promise no fungi were harmed

well, I take it easy, I am sure nature balances it all, if we pickup those shrooms, the next season it will grow the new ones :) ofc that doesnt mean we have the right to do shit things to the nature.

oh, and with your assistance those little fellas became celebrities and aer exposed to a much wider auditorium! So I think they should not feel offended in any way :))

I tread with respect when light painting in the woods and make sure not to leave a wake of destruction behind. i.e. only use steel wool when the ground is humid. It annoys me a lot to see beautiful things in the park destroyed just for the sake of a bit of fun.

It has been about 7 years since I had any with psilocybin... Isn't 7 a mystical number? maybe time for another go with different insights. It did help me immensely at the time but I promised myself to not have any until I felt I really needed to break a wall in my mind. It's not something I would do recreationally: it's hard work breaking walls...

not sure if it mystical or not, but 2, 7 and some of their combinations are my fave numbers, as well

:P

the answer is 42 ;)

...and thank you for the fish - mostly its harmless! (c)

A show!! Total beauty, it was nice to share around here. Greetings.

Thank you! I have a few more non UV reactive fungi light paintings that I'll share next week.

Oh my! Those are out of this world!!
Stunning shots and welcome to the fungi corner :)

Thank you! 😊

#2 is my fave from this set, too. awesome captures!