fungi foraging & photo-hunt in the land of moss and mosquitos - 21 foto

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Hola, setero! Have got some splendid fungi impressions from today's extensive and long photo-walk to the local forest.

Just two days ago I walked around the St. Petersburg markets and explored the second-hand bookstores and coffee-shops with @tatdt, but after that I quickly left the city and went to the village for my summer holidays.

This week the weather was sunny and hot, so we decided to check the forest for mushrooms, and today I was trampling green moss and knocking down fly agarics... just kidding! 😁 there are still no fly agarics in the forest (yet). I stumbled upon a decent fungi biodivercity, but in terms of foraging what we harvested were mostly britlegills.

My wife and babygirl took little baskets, I took camera and we headed to the local forest. It is a bit different in different directions -- there is a swampy plain territory, the pines with mosses mixed with ivies, and there is a more gloomy and dark area filled mostly with spruces, and that is exactly where I found myself later... not intentionally, just happened so. But the start of explorations began in the moss area.

I cant say the forest was empty and we did not find anything. No, we did find something.... and I made amazing captures. All in all I took 560 pictures (but a lot of them were double, triple etc takes of same mushrooms and spots, made for the focus stake processing).

2022-aug-0244w-h.jpg

We picked up a decent amount of britlegills (red and yellow-headed), a few Leccinum, and pretty much that was all.

2022-aug-0252w-h.jpg

Young russulas look like all the same... it's only aging, when they mature, "when life has beaten them" - makes them different, unique, and especially beautiful, gives them a personality. I consider now of making a separate post - "old Russula ladies. wonderful aging" :)

2022-aug-0301w-h.jpg

2022-aug-0270w-h.jpg

Gigantic edition of red britlegill. We didnt pick it up, of course.

2022-aug-0299w-h.jpg

We found one small Xerócomus subtomentósus. It looks like mushrooms in the forest are just starting to grow, and we caught this moment!

2022-aug-0466w-h.jpg

Another very tiny britlegill baby.


2022-aug-0279w-h.jpg

This mushroom with no distinctive features I identified as Amanita virosa (in Russian: Мухомор белый вонючий) - it is a highly toxic and unedible mushroom (it contains same toxins and in same amounts as 'Death angel' - Amanita phalloides).


2022-aug-0006w-h.jpg

After apparently 40 min walk we parted, my wife and babygirl headed home hugging those little buckets, and - a funny thing - the baby started peeling mushrooms on the go, while walking through the forest! and upon returning home, she washed, sorted and cleaned everything that we had picked up. mother's little helper is growing, I can't help but brag a little, my heart is simply melting :=)

2022-aug-0015w-h.jpg

... but my photo trofeys on that day were more sufficient. I continued making circles and exploring the mosses, and finally found myself in a different part of the forest, as I mentioned above, with a different biodivercity, where some very enjoyable encounters happened.

1 2022-aug-0028w-hs.jpg

Had no extra packet with me, so a few pick-ups finally ended in my hat ;)

2022-aug-0022w-h.jpg

Occasionally I found this baby red-head boletus! One of my fave mushrooms actually... and the first I found this season.

2022-aug-0303w-h.jpg

Puffballs - I encountered them only twice during this walk, each time they were tiny, just started growing.


2022-aug-0324w-h.jpg

This tinder fungus I identified as Picipes badius -- it has characteristic cap's curved edges that look like leathery blades.


I also was waiting a lot for the short pauses of sunlight coming out from the clouds.

It has a lot of thick broken rotting trunks, which are mossy and quite picturesque by themselves. Each one is a real macro universe itself... One particular trunk had two different species -- and provided me a beautiful photosession. I really spent about one hour there, taking pics exactly of this find.


The first specie is a slime mold that I cant identify myself. It was tiny, also very young and so beautiful! Judge for yourself.

2022-aug-0030w-h.jpg

Blurry shot below is given with a purpose to show the scale. This mold was really tiny!! less than 1/10 of a dime.

2022-aug-0033w-h.jpg

Probably I witnessed an early stage of its life-cycle. When the little circles grow and merge into a matured single colony -

2022-aug-0067w-h.jpg

...they became look less fancy, not like the little initial "fluffy balls" at the start... probably. You decide. And of course, you need a solid magnification to appreciate all their tiny structures. The colony on another trunk is more developed, you can see all the initial starting points have merged.


The next fungus sitting on the same trunk in a little neighborhood, was small too - but not tiny, and you dont need a magnify glass to notice its beauty. And it was wanted for a long while, I appreciated its beauty in the pictures and really dreamed of finding it myself. (Yes, I have a sufficient fungi encounters wishlist, haha!)

2022-aug-0078w-h1.jpg

TADAAAAM! (with Freddy Mercury's intonations) "It finally happened!"

Artómyces pyxidátus, or Клавикоро́на коро́бчатая in Russian, or coral-tipped mushroom. A lot of this fungi, a big colony attacking and trying to digest the corpse of the wooden giant. I took.... wait a minute: 164 pictures in the folder (of 560) belong to exactly this specie. This might be an indicator how excited I was... This isnt a super-rare specie, but still: it is the 1st time I discovered it myself!

2022-aug-0078w-h2.jpg

Probably I have to round up my post here -- cause, obviously, this beauty deserves a separate blog to enjoy. Right now I am too excited, emotions should settle down a bit, meanwhile I will do selection and retouching of the captures taken, and possibly some macro focus stakes as well.

2022-aug-0094w-h1.jpg

So, traditional thank you for your visit, hope you enjoyed walking and watching the macro beauties of the nature with me.

location: Vyritza, Russia August 2022 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv

sep1201.png

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com

Notice to the public: there is a fun challenge #fungifun : share with us your stories and trophies, photos and recipes, contemplations and ideas. not sure about correct ID (which allows us to find out more about certain fungus), no problem, no fear - mushrooms are full of weird charm, even staying nameless. we appreciate them any way, not only for their cooking values.. join the

#FungiFun!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @qwerrie ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Fungissimo! I love these shades from yellow to red. Long live brittle gills! 😀

"Gigantic edition of red britlegill" and mushroom basket closeup are the best.

Enjoy nature and stock up on mushroom photos for the winter! 🙂

'Fungissimo!' <-- a good joke, I am smiling wildly (widely). thanks, and a tasty mushroom !PIZZA back. good to be served with a morning coffee 🍕

PS. forgot the !BEER. and also thanks for choosing your faves. My picks are totally not the same this time, because... but you know how hard it is to get a decent macro shot of a tiny stuff in a poor lighting conditions, right? thats why my picks go for the slime mold (fungi 'foam') and crown-tipped coral mushroom. they really were the highlights for me, the britlegills ofc are superb and fashionable (даже моя детка верещала от восторга и возбуждения, пересматривая отснятое), but I have tonns of such pics already, they arent unique... smth like that. thanks again! and good night 😎

I understand it well :) I chose from the point of color. But a closeup of slime mold is more curious and educational.

Waiting for your Aprashka story!


Hey @x-rain, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Followed you from steemit, LOL! The red in the baskets is stunning, and you should be proud of your wife and daughter; they're beautiful!

The coral type of mushroom has a delicate structure, and your photos are crisp. If I ever find it myself, I'll recognize it from your pictures!

I have found some turkey tail mushrooms, that are used medicinally.
IMG_20211129_163536019.jpg
There are on some black locust trees. I have harvested enough to make a quart of tincture. It's a strong anti cancer agent, and the longer it sits in the vodka, the more effective it becomes.

hello there! i am more active on this blockchain, yeah, so it would be a better idea to communicate here. also I can give a bigger upvote here which is not the least, right? subscribe to the #FungiLovers community, it has a lot of good posts about mushrooms, and a good place to blog your stuff as well
☘️
not sure it is exactly a turkey tail in the photo above, they are more 'picturesque' and colorful.
ps.
if you'd like to educate yourself, here is a little nice video -- how to check if you encountered the crown-tipped coral or it is non edible alternate Ramaria:

Thanks, I'll do that! The video was instructive.

Turkey tails are a poly pore mushroom, this is the underside.
IMG_20211129_163649031.jpg
The smooth velvet bottom surface texture is the best indicator for a poly pore.

But you guy already know that, it's nice to find people who know so much on mushrooms!

My book says all poly pore mushrooms are editable. This one offers medicine, if you're not tough to slice it up, enjoy.

👍👍🤕🍄😳

Классные фотки и интересные.

Очень мне понравилось лукошко с грибочками, оно такое аппетитное!

ага, вот и @x-rain тоже назвал ее своим фаворитом. ой, не то лучшее я ставлю на обложку, ой не то :))))

Wow! How many mushrooms! We already have nothing in the forest, mushroompickers collected all the mushrooms.
But nothing, in the autumn the time will come for honey mushrooms. My father loves them, always invites all family to collect them.

I note that, hope you will take not only a big basket with you on that trip, but also a camera, and will amuze us with your trofeis ... and the mushroom fields. honey mushrooms can look amazing!

a !BEER?


Hey @ratel, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

by the way, I met there a boy who boasted me with his basket full of red-hears and Porcini mushrooms... so, one may say -- when we come to the forest (after a dinner) we also were left with britlegills only, the forest "was empty" -- hehe... but still it suggested me a great biodivercity to shoot, as you may have noticed... and I did not share all of my captures yet! ;)

It turns out that every mushroom has its own uniqueness, actually I am a mushroom hunter but in this summer it is very difficult to mushrooms in my area

Same here! It is a common opinion that this summer fungi micellium 'is sleeping and resting', amounts of fungi appearing around is very small, compared to how it was in other years
still -- a man with a camera may find something to shoot xD
!BEER

I hope in the near future Mushrooms will grow perfectly again

sure thing! when the rainy season will start in your area?
meanwhile here is a little !BEER to cheer you up,
I guess without the rains you might get thirsty!

😁

Hahaha thanks my friend @qwerrie, Possibly in September months in my area it will start to rain


Hey @dayat92, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.


Hey @dayat92, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Really cool finds! Especially the coral fungi! I'm just a little jealous.

He, he. totally understand you. I am jealous too -- southern Europe has so much biodivercity than our northern swamps xD
have a hive !BEER with me?


Hey @funferall, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Looks like quite the successful hunt, what is the yellow one that is in your hat? Is it a type of lactarius? Love the crown tipped coral if you nibble a tiny piece of them they are quite spicy.

sorry for the late reply, just got a full sole access to the notebook 😎
that yellow ones are a question to me too! I'd rather assume it maybe a false chantarelles, can it be so? but since I never met false chantarelles, cant decide for sure. here is a bigger close-uptake. what will you say?..

Hmm I don't see any milk coming out of the damaged gills so my first guess of it being lactarius is wrong. I think you are right about it being Hygrophoropsis aurantiaca.

Lovely shots, as well as your daughter and wife 😊 you got free mushrooms there hehe

thats true, yeah. but potatoes, oil, and energy to cook them was not so free, haha. anyway its very pleasurable to live off the nature, you know. even partly. I am happy that you enjoyed the visuals 🤩

@borjan, @sketch.and.jam, @bambuka, @riverflows and all other friends - welcome to check the post, obviously I want to boast with my trophies 😎 and to share some mushroom pizza 😂 🍕

I am sending some !PIZZA dough, so that you can add those tasty-looking mushrooms as the toppings. Would be a lovely pizza isn't it? 😄

such lovely colored mushroom, and your photos are just breathtaking : )

soooorry for the late reply! and a huge thank you, cause !PIZZA is always a little festival. or sometimes may be even a big one! with or without mushrooms 🤩 frankly speaking I prefer simple margarita or quatro formaggi, but .... there are a load of other great toppings ofc, including mushrooms. what are your faves btw?

for me it mushroom and ham actually, any meat would be good. But there is always a place for mushroom !PIZZA

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 118 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
qwerrie tipped x-rain (x1)
@ekavieka(1/5) tipped @qwerrie (x2)
qwerrie tipped ekavieka (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Wow, All the mushroom photos that you share today are really very beautiful and extraordinary. I really admire your every shot.

thank you, my friend, for walking with me. let me treat you with a !BEER as it was not a short walk, you might become thirsty by now 🍻


Hey @idayrus, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  

Тадам! Классные корзинки. :) но я бы с ними по ягоды всё ж ходил.

насчет кораллового гриба. хм. где-от в моих архивах имеются фото подобного гриба.

...и почему же они до сих пор не опубликованы?!
понимаю, наверное лежат где то в самых придонных слоях, трудно до них добраться :))
!BEER тебе в помощь 🍻


Hey @apnigrich, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

пысы. насчет корзинок: везет вам.пришел в лес и коси белые косой. а у нас, видишь, на весь собранный урожай аккурат хватило такой корзинки, лол
!LOLZ

What did the shark say when he ate the clownfish?
This tastes a little funny.

Credit: reddit
@apnigrich, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @qwerrie
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(1/1)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more