Fungi Friday - No New Mushrooms

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago (edited)

Here's an anthology of some old finds for this #fungifriday by @ewkaw
IMG_20171028_184544_161.jpg
First, here is a giant puffball with oyster mushroom eyes and a pear shaped puffball nose. I found this one a few years ago about Halloween time so I turned it into a face. Poor guy got turned into lasagne.
IMG_20180606_083828_559.jpg
Almost every year I find a giant puffball. It is fun to play with your food. I turned this poor fellow into pizza crust. Simply cut them like bread then toast them and finally add the pizza toppings on the slices and bake them for a few minutes. Gluten free crust via a giant mushroom.
IMG_20171211_174243_857.jpg
Here are some pristine condition peppery milk caps I found about three years ago. Their latin name is Lactifluus piperatus and these things are really spicy. They are edible but if you try to cook and eat them normally your mouth will be on fire. The best use for them is just to dehydrate and powder them then use the powder as a spice. It is very similar to black pepper and cayenne as a spice.
IMG_20180106_105039_296.jpg
The long harsh winters here make me miss mushrooms so I usually grow a kit inside each year. These are some blue oysters that are just beginnibg to pin.
IMG_20180107_120400_855.jpg
They ended up looking like this. A bit malformed because they didn't get enough fresh air. Too much air and they shrivel, too little and the caps don't expand.
IMG_20160824_071807.jpg
Now for a weird one, green jelly clubs. The latin name is Leotia lubrica. Technically they are edible but bland. So far I have only found these guys once in all my years of hunting.
IMG_20170702_082417_816.jpg
Here is another once only find. A white bolete, a choice edible. This is Boletus barrowsii it is really rare to find in my area.
IMG_20160907_205939.jpg
Look at these little guys. I found them on a camping trip where I setup the tent in the dark then woke up in the morning to find these right outside the tent. Fortunately I didn't accidentally step on them while setting up. This is Tylopilus rubrobrunneus aka reddish brown bitter bolete, the cap starts out purple then ages to brown. Sadly they are really bitter and only good for pickling.
IMG_20170528_070734_670.jpg
This is orange mycena. Super bright, they tend to grow in the fall on really old rotten wood.
IMG_20160829_175232.jpg
Here they are a bit more grown up.
IMG_20170417_072916_780.jpg
Finally we end with some halloween witch's butter. Bland but edible especially in a spicy witch's brew soup.

Happy #fungifriday

Sort:  

Amazing variety of mushrooms in one post. Great photos @sketch.and.jam . Happy #fungifriday to you too.

Sadly its cold here now and all the mushrooms are gone, have to dig up old finds from my phone.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Witch's soup ... I think it must have red fly agarics, yellow butter and pepper guys. All of this should be in snake broth and seasoned with spiders ...: D
//
Ведьмин суп...я думаю, в нём обязательно должны быть красные мухоморы, это жёлтое масло и перечные парни. Всё это должно быть на змеином бульоне и приправлено пауками... :D

Snake meat is actually pretty good, rattlesnake tastes like chicken. It will definitely need to be seasoned with the peppery milk caps.

I tried viper meat, but they are not very large for a large dish. Normal taste, yes, it tastes like chicken.
//
Я пробовал мясо гадюки, но они у нас не очень большие для крупного блюда. Нормальный вкус, да, напоминает курицу.

Alligator meat is even better, has a slight hint of shrimp taste to it.

These creatures are not found in our forests and lakes :)
I'm not destined to taste them... :D

There are enough alligators in Florida that there is a hunting season and then the meat gets sold to stores across the country. It's popular enough to find in the regular grocery stores over here. Meanwhile bolete mushrooms are more rare over here than alligator meat lol.

Well ... I probably won't get to Florida ... will catch vipers and frogs: D
And pick mushrooms :)

Best mushroom photos I've seen 😊 🍄🍄🍄

Now I just have to wait until the spring morels appear.

Wow those are really giant puffballs!!

Some get larger than a watermelon. This year it decided not to rain during their season so I found none.

Amazing !!!

Thanks I would have posted my reishi today but they grow really slowly so I had to do a mushroom anthology instead.

you need some #googlyeyes ;)

I bet there is a fungi out there that looks like googley eyes.