Fungi Friday - Reddish Theme

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago (edited)

Here are some red themed mushrooms for #fungifriday by @ewkaw
PSX_20210226_093839.jpg
First we start out with lots of scarlet waxycaps aka Hygrocybe coccinea.

PSX_20210226_093923.jpg
These bright little guys can be found in dark earth and mainly grow under dead leaves.

PSX_20210226_093751.jpg
I found these last year in August after lots of rain and I only noticed a few of them.

PSX_20210226_093641.jpg
But as I started pushing some of the dead leaves aside I found lots of them growing everywhere.

PSX_20210226_093216.jpg
Next we have raspberry slime mold.
PSX_20210226_092951.jpg
This grows in the summer heat after a rain on really decaying old wood.
PSX_20210226_093120.jpg
The latin name is Tubifera ferruginosa it basically grows in little tubes at first then bloats up into a raspberry shape. I suspect slugs and snails spread the slime around. Who knows maybe it dries up into dust and spreads that way as well.
PSX_20210226_094317.jpg
Here is a strange dark red bolete. This is Boletellus russellii aka Russell's bolete. The most interesting thing about this is it's rough red stem. This one's cap is small but they eventually bloom out into a typical bolete sized cap that is kind of orangy. This is edible and can be found under oak, pine and hemlock.

PSX_20210226_093523.jpg
Here is Russula rosea aka Rosy Brittlegill. Some list it as edible but I'm not sure if it requires special cooking. It also looks like the slightly toxic Russula emetica which can give you a bad stomach ache. The main difference for identifying these is their rose color is on their stems as well as their caps and the gills are even slightly pink vs other red russula that only have red on their caps and have white gills and stems.

PSX_20210226_094517.jpg
This reishi is more orange than red but as they dry out they can more reddish. This is a really good medicinal that has anti cancer properties as well as blood pressure lowering qualities. I drink a powdered reishi mix in my tea to get the health benefits. As for taste, by itself it just taste like sawdust so you better mix it with something that tastes good.

PSX_20210226_094414.jpg
Here is an unidentified reddish purple mushroom. The slugs are loving it.

PSX_20210226_093420.jpg
This is Xerocomellus chrysenteron aka red cracked bolete.

PSX_20210226_093318.jpg
This is a younger version of the red cracked bolete. These are a tiny spindly bolete that has a thin stem and a bit foamy cap. I often find these being attacked by bolete killer fungus that turns them all white. Technically these boletes are edible but don't have any taste and their texture is slimy. Also I rarely find enough for a meal so I just enjoy them for their reddish color.
PSX_20210226_094059.jpg
Finally we have a red banded polypore aka Fomitopsis pinicola. This is probably one of the most common mushrooms I find around here. Sadly these aren't edible and they don't have any medicinal properties. The best use you can find for these is to find large specimens of these and turn them into some kind of mushroom shelf fixture for the wall.

Sadly I have no red Amanita muscaria to show as they are super rare in my region. I only have yellow ones here. Europe is a much better place for finding the ultimate iconic red mushroom.

Happy #fungifriday

Sort:  

super, the post is full of great findings. red cracked bolete, Russell's bolete, raspberry slime mold are my absolute faves!
scarlet waxycaps also look very cool. I wish you had Leccinum aurocantium around you, so it as possible to add it to your post as well! but one cant have everything at once ;-)

happy #fungifriday, my friend!

Sadly my bolete season here is very unpredictable. It lasts like one week out of the year and occurs randomly so I end up finding mostly rotted boletes at the end of summer. Then they disappear completely. I did find slippery jacks once but too late and they were dried out.

 3 years ago  

Beautiful skeletal-colored mushrooms, and I put one of a similar color 🤭
Have a nice evening ✨

Thanks, keep an eye out for morels once it rains and is about 60F outside. The red elfcups tend to signal morels are coming out soon.

@sketch.and.jam , did you take the photos in a sea or ocean? As Boletellus russellii looks like a jellyfish and the raspberry slime mold like some coral. 😁

Nice mushrooms all 👏👌

The forest is the aquarium for the fungi. There are a whole species of choral fungi too that looks like it would belong in the ocean.

Nature is amazing, indeed. Those beautiful things are everywhere, we just have to see them and appreciate :)

20180523_193940~01.jpg
Here's one of the coral mushrooms I like to harvest and eat around here.

wow ... some of these mushrooms are very beautiful and amazing especially this raspberry slime mushroom looks really cool and attractive, this is my first time seeing it.

I hope I have my macro with me next time I find the raspberry slime mold. Up close they look like tiny ball bearings.

❤️ 🍄

I've only found the red amanitas twice here, both of them in upper Michigan.

I like all of them, but there was just this red mushroom emoji :) The first pic is my fav because of the heart shaped one. When there is no love, but nature gives us all of it.

Ah right I didn't even notice the heart shaped one on top hiding behind the other one.

I'm the 'love by nature' spotter lol. Maybe because I had a bad day and my soul is looking for it.

Teruskan kawan

Thanks :-) I will try my best.