Mushroom Monday - Animated Edibles

I haven't had a chance to go out and find more fresh mushrooms so here are a couple animated mushrooms for #mushroommonday as well as some older finds.

p7198835.gif
This is a summer chanterelle from last year. I hope to find many more this year if the rain ever comes again. I spliced some of my circular fractals behind it that seem to go well with the shape and texture of the mushroom.

pc079098.gif
Here is a golden oyster I found last month. For this one I wanted to try and turn it into a white summer oyster and a blue oyster as well through color animation. I hope to find some white oysters soon rain willing.

20150528_150424_copy.jpg
Now for a random starfish from the Oregon coast with clams and coral plants. As I was scrolling through my photo library the thumbnail to this reminded me of a lobster mushroom but when I opened it up it was a starfish instead. Still it does look quite a bit like the fungi I sometimes find in the forest.

p5170656_copy.jpg
Here is an interesting older find it shows three edible things in it. Clover is edible, the London Rocket plant is edible and the mica caps are edible. Around where I live there are many wild edible plants and fungi so if survival mode ever needs to happen you can at least be well fed.

20160425_184803_copy.jpg
Here is yet another clump of mica caps. These are quite common around here sadly their taste is pretty boring and they fall apart when cooking so I rarely ever harvest them for eating.

20160617_083625_copy.jpg
This pleated ink cap is also edible but it is so tiny and delicate that it would not really satisfy you for a meal. Plus you need to cook them and once cooked they disintegrate into nothing. The only way they could survive cooking is flash boiled in a soup.

20171021_170058_copy.jpg
Here are some mycena which are also edible but taste pretty bad. I would only resort to eating these if I was starving and lost in the forest.

That's all for this #mushroommonday I hope to find new and interesting mushroom on my next camping trip soon...

Sort:  

Beautiful photos of these strange creatures! I think they are smarter than they seemed to be! You make them look alive and free thinking creatures like my cats! It’s going to be difficult eating mushrooms in the future!!

Some will make you smarter if you eat them regularly... Maybe the same is true for cats? just kidding :-)

Detailed and creative.

I have to figure out more ways to animate the mushrooms.

Hehehe. I agree. how about having a mushroom rescue team? Isn't mushrooms much needed by humans?

Haha yeah they need a rescue team from me.

I want to be a part of that.

That first picture is the shit! Nice.