Mushroom Monday - Hunting for Domesticated Mushrooms

Here are some store bought mushrooms and a recipe for #mushroommonday
20210907_182015_copy.jpg
I am fortunate to have an Asian supermarket near me.

20210907_182018_copy.jpg
They have all sorts of strange mushrooms here.

20210907_182425_copy.jpg
They also have plenty of dried ones, mostly shiitakes and enokitake. These are easy to liven up by throwing them in a soup or just soaking them in water.

20210907_182519_copy.jpg
Here is a strange one I've never seen before with some kind of cracked looking cap.

20210912_083539_copy.jpg
I come here for the king oysters so I can make mushroom jerky.

20210912_083311_copy.jpg
They also have fresh wood ear mushrooms that I use for mushroom chips. To season the jerky and chips I create a spicy soup full of random spices from cajun mixes to garlic and hot peanut oil with an overlay of salt and pepper. Once the broth is made I let it simmer for a couple hours so all the spices mix into the wood ear and king oyster.

20210912_100043_copy.jpg
Here are the king oysters after simmering for a couple hours. I place them on the dehydrator drying rack and add another layer of salt and spices.

20210912_142834_copy.jpg
Here's how the king oysters look after dehydrating for around 8 hours. They have a perfect texture very similar to beef jerky.

20210912_102236_copy.jpg
The wood ear gets a different treatment. Once they are done simmering I blend them into a paste. A few of the peppers (the red cayenne bits) accidentally got blended into this mix as well... So this batch of chips will be very spicy lol.

20210912_102744_copy.jpg
The wood ear paste is spread out thinly on the drying sheet.

20210913_071740_copy.jpg
This is what it ended up looking like after around 10 hours drying. I'm still working out a way to dry them into specific shapes rather than just a big square lol. For now I just break these apart into random sized pieces for dipping in guacamole. These have a similar crispy texture as blue corn chips, fortunately the red peppers didn't make it too spicy.

20210907_182626_copy.jpg
On my trip to the Asian supermarket I found an interesting new product. These Shiitake chips are actually pretty amazing, somehow they figured out a way to freeze dry them so the whole mushroom is crunchy like a chip without any chewiness at all. There are many flavors as well, from wasabi to spicy to teryaki. I'll have to try some tests on shiitake for my next mushroom recipe.

That's all for now happy #mushroommonday :-)

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This makes me want to go check out our local Asian supermarket. Haven't been there in a while, great eclectic selection like yours

There's always something new to be found there. Of course I'm usually only looking in the mushroom section though. They have farmed hen of the woods there too, though it tends to be more bland compared to wild found hen of the woods. One day I want to try my hand at making durian fruit candy, lol just to stink up the whole place.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Those look fantastic @sketch.and.jam!! It is hard to find a nice assortment of mushrooms in the stores here but I do have an Asian market near me that I will check out. I've only been there a couple of times and never even thought to look for mushrooms while there. I will have to let you know what I find. I would be especially happy to find some King mushrooms! 😋

Yeah its the only place I can find wood ear for sale. Sometimes I see king oysters randomly at my usual store but I can always find them at the Asian store. I've tried growing them myself as well with no success. They seem to grow well in jugs rather than the sawdust bags I've tried https://elwood5566.net/2011/02/10/monday-market-king-oyster-mushroom-%EC%83%88%EC%86%A1%EC%9D%B4-%EB%B2%84%EC%84%AF/

The most exotic I've seen here in regular stores is oyster and shitake and that has only been recent. I did get the Coral Tooth recently at a Farmers Market. I thought about buying a couple of kits but I only keep thinking about it then wind up spending the money for other things like vet bills and such. Oh well, It's still on my list though. I've seen videos on yt of growing shrooms in buckets but haven't seen the jugs. Thanks for the link and that looks pretty cool! 🙂

Right about this time of year is when lions mane comes out. Just keep an eye out for them after a rain. I find them kind of near swampy areas around here on dead trees.

Hi @sketch.and.jam! I've found them a couple of times but they were in a spot that I couldn't get to them. Too high in a tree and a ravine between me and the tree. Unfortunately, I haven't been up to getting out lately but when I do get back out then I will keep an eye open for them. Thanks for the 'shroom tips. 😉

Have to bring one of those saws with a long handle on it to chop them off the tree. I've seen some good chaga clumps high up in trees before but there was no way to get to them.

 3 years ago  

I never thought of drying mushrooms like this.

I thought of it while drying some for use in soups later, I decided to take a bite out of the dried ones and realized it could be turned into a jerky by adding spices.

This mushroom dish looks very delicious.
great, did you go to the shop to buy mushrooms on purpose.

Yeah I just go there for mushrooms.

Yes, good.

Though the stinky durian fruit looked tempting to buy lol.

Hahaha,where we are durian season,but i don't have a garden either,how much one durian is sold there.

I have never seen so many different types of mushrooms in one place @sketch.and.jam. Great post!Cheers😊

Yeah they had the usual crimini, baby bellas, portabellas as well as enokitake, maitake, gray oysters, king oysters, seafood mushrooms and many more. I go here to mainly get the kind oysters and wood ear, those are hard to find anywhere else.

My friend use to grow shiitakes… they are awesome … I might give it a try next year..

I haven't tried growing them yet, I mostly just grow oysters and lion's mane. I've seen lots of shiitake kits available, maybe that will be my winter hobby this year.