Last call for fall mushrooms

in Fungi Lovers โ€ข last year

Mushroom tree

Happy #MushroomMonday ๐Ÿ„ I was inspired by @sketch.and.jam to take a walk through the woods behind my house for one last check for fall mushrooms.

Fall colors

I love the way the mushrooms are part of the fall colors.

Top of tree

I rediscovered the mushroom tree in a swampy area. Its one of my favorite trees.

Underneath

I have shared it before but not recently.

Root

It is covered in mushrooms even this root at ground level.

Side

The mushrooms have a green tinge. I believe it is likely cerrena unicolor also known as mossy maze polypore.
https://www.mushroomexpert.com/cerrena_unicolor.html

Woodpecker work

Woodpeckers have also been at work on this tree.

Tree section

This cut section of tree lays next to the mushroom tree and is similarly being consumed.

Back of tree

The mushrooms are on all sides of the tree.

Beautiful day

Did I mention it was a beautiful day?

Very old puffballs

Here are some decaying puffballs.

Puffballs

I revisited this site. The puffballs here are also past their prime. I posted pictures of them earlier when they were still white. https://ecency.com/hive-166168/@steven-patrick/puffballs-and-other-assorted-fungi

Puffball

I did manage to find one small fresh puffball.

White shelf mushroom

I found a few white shelf mushrooms on an old log.

Young whie shelf mushroom

Here's some newer growth on that same log.

Leaf carpet

The rain last night knocked most of the remaining leaves off the trees.

Mushrooms on stump

These last few shots are fun fall photos.

Shelf mushroom on stump

Mushrooms are a integral part of the fall beauty.

Tree trunk with mushrooms

Thanks for checking out my post ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great day!

Sort: ย 

I would love to know how to pick them. I only know all species are edible... some of them only once! ๐Ÿ˜

๐Ÿคฃ I was mostly collecting photos. Thats always safe ๐Ÿ˜‰

Yay! ๐Ÿค—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steven-patrick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

We have to enjoy these last sunny days with mild temperatures. Nice pics especially with the fresh puff.

Thanks I really like the pics with the leaves and pine needles that have fallen around the mushrooms.

Great finds @steven-patrick ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป Is the season almost endingโ€ฆ soon it gets cold indeed.
Such a shame hehehe ๐Ÿคญ
Thanks for sharing with us.
Have a wonderful evening ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Thanks for checking out my post littlebee.

You are welcome @steven-patrick ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜Š
Have a great day โ˜€๏ธ

The fresh puffball looks like a poison pigskin puffball Scleroderma citrinum. One of the few inedble ones. Its easy to ID though because of the rough skin and black interior. You have plenty of turkeytail to make some tea this winter.

Yeah the purpose of the search was to check around close to the house for anything besides turkeytail ๐Ÿ™ Have to go further afield to find more variety. Although I did a hike the other day and checked some chantrelle, hen of the woods, and hedgehog sites. They were all done for the year.