Mushroom Monday - Boletes, Boletes, and More Boletes

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

Happy Mushroom Monday FungiLovers!

After a long hike through the woods yesterday, I came across plenty of beautiful mushrooms growing in the forest. Some of my favorite finds from the day included the Wrinkled Peach (Rhodotus palmatus), a striking pink fungus with a intricated reticulated cap, as well as the Leafy Brain (Phaeotremella foliacea), a gelatinous, lobed fungi that parasitizes fungi of the Stereum genus.

Along with these unique specimens, I came across a wealth of boletes growing along the trails that snaked their way deeper into the wood. Guiding my way was the Old-man-of-the-woods (Strobilomyces strobilaceus) as well as the dozens of Chestnut Boletes (Gyroporus castaneus) strewn along the side of the trail in such abundance that they reminded me of the trail of breadcrumbs left by Hansel and Gretel. Once I had reached the pond that sits at the heart of the wood, I was rewarded with a bounty of boletes growing along the banks of the water.

Below are a selection of the many bolete and non-bolete species that I encountered on my most recent walk.

As always, feel free to offer your suggestions if you believe I have misidentified any of the species listed below. Thank you!

Old-man-of-the-woods (Strobilomyces strobilaceus):
IMG_0269.JPG

IMG_0414.JPG

IMG_0420.JPG

IMG_0271.JPG

IMG_0022.JPG

IMG_9989.JPG

IMG_9997.JPG

Chestnut Bolete (Gyroporus castaneus):

IMG_0405.JPG

IMG_0102.JPG

IMG_0150.JPG

IMG_0011.JPG

IMG_0017.JPG

Frost's Bolete (Exsudoporus frostii):

IMG_0131.JPG

IMG_0286.JPG

IMG_0300.JPG

IMG_0313.JPG

IMG_0314.JPG

IMG_0323.JPG

IMG_0327.JPG

IMG_0332.JPG

IMG_0141.JPG

IMG_0181.JPG

IMG_0170.JPG

IMG_0138.JPG

Two-colored Bolete (Baorangia bicolor):

IMG_0144.JPG

IMG_0145.JPG

IMG_0147.JPG

Reddish Brown Bitter Bolete (Tylopilus rubrobrunneus):

IMG_0185.JPG

IMG_0188.JPG

IMG_0190.JPG

IMG_0192.JPG

Violet Gray Bolete (Tylopilus plumbeoviolaceus):

IMG_0319.JPG

IMG_0352.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG

IMG_0378.JPG

Ruby Bolete (Hortiboletus rubellus):

IMG_0347 (2).JPG

IMG_0343.JPG

IMG_0348.JPG

Red-mouth Bolete (Boletus subvelutipes):

IMG_0364.JPG

IMG_0366.JPG

IMG_0367.JPG

IMG_0372.JPG

Red-cracking Bolete (Xerocomellus chrysenteron):

IMG_0434.JPG

IMG_0400.JPG

IMG_0443.JPG

IMG_0401.JPG

Golden Gilled Bolete (Phylloporus rhodoxanthus):

IMG_0421.JPG

IMG_0422.JPG

IMG_0424.JPG

Wrinkled Peach (Rhodotus palmatus):

IMG_0071.JPG

IMG_0073.JPG

IMG_0074.JPG

Leafy Brain (Phaeotremella foliacea):

IMG_0395.JPG

IMG_0398.JPG

IMG_0393.JPG

Ochre Jelly Club (Leotia lubrica):

IMG_0449.JPG

IMG_0452.JPG

Bleeding Fairy Helmet (Mycena haematopus):

IMG_0105.JPG

IMG_0107.JPG

Jellied False Coral Fungus (Sebacina schweinitzii):

IMG_0247.JPG

IMG_0250.JPG

Hygrophorus Milkcap (Lactifluus hygrophoroides):

IMG_0200.JPG

IMG_0201.JPG

IMG_0203.JPG

Viscid Violet Cort (Cortinarius iodes):

IMG_0223.JPG

IMG_0224.JPG

Turkey-tail Fungus (Trametes versicolor):

IMG_0427.JPG

IMG_0425.JPG

IMG_9974.JPG

Violet-toothed Polypore (Trichaptum biforme):

IMG_9976.JPG

IMG_9981.JPG

IMG_9985.JPG

Neofavolus americanus:

IMG_0466.JPG

IMG_0469.JPG

Brittlegills (Genus Russula):

IMG_0041.JPG

IMG_0039.JPG


My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

Creary Gallery: https://creary.net/@tych021/projects

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

NFTShowroom reflink: https://nftshowroom.com/?r=tych021

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tych021

Vimm.tv: https://www.vimm.tv/tych021

Sort:  

Epic finds. I am super jealous of that old man of the woods. The wrinkled peach is one I've never heard of, looks really unique.

This was my first time ever coming across one. The webbing on the cap is unlike anything else I've ever found.

Michigan and Wisconsin are the place for the most variety of mushrooms. Did you give the frostii bolete a taste test?

No I didn't. Are they a good edible species?

Yeah they are edible when fully cooked. They are described as tasting a bit like citrus. Next time I find one I'll give it a try, though I've only found them in the upper peninsula.

Just curious how you got into mushrooms and where you learned all this? I've been intrigued since I joined Hive and found your posts. I pay a lot more attention to the mushrooms I see now haha but I still don't know anything about them except that they look really cool. I'm interested in trying to find something edible myself

I started getting interested back college. I took a few biology courses and was confused why their was so little research and information available on fungi compared to animals or plants. From their, I started buying field guides (my favorite so far is the 2021 edition of the Peterson Field Guide to Mushrooms of North America) and using websites like iNaturalist.org, mushroomobserver.org, and mushroomexpert.com to try to start identifying the species I came across while walking through the woods.

If you happen to live in Eastern North America, another good resource is a man named Adam Haritan. He runs a website and a YouTube channel called Learn Your Land and has dozens of great videos on how to ID both edible and non-edible/toxic species in Eastern North America. He also has an online course that covers edible fungi species using a similar video style to what you can find on his YouTube channel but with much more detail. The course costs a few hundred dollars, but I can attest that it is very thorough and designed to be accessible to people with no prior info on fungi.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice photo :)