Mushroom Monday - Mushroom Photography on Vacation in the Pacific Northwest

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago

Capture.PNG

Happy Mushroom Monday! Today, I'd like to share some photos of fungi found while on vacation in the Olympic Peninsula of Washington, USA. I had the chance to visit the Olympic Peninsula in the beautiful state of Washington just over a week ago to see the rainforests, mountains, and beaches of the Pacific Northwest. From the glacier capped peaks, to the forested covered waterfalls, the views were stunning all around.

IMG_7028.JPG

While taking in the majesty of the mountains and forests, I also took some time to observe the different fungal species I came across during my travels. Despite including some over the only temperate rainforests in all of the United States, the regions that I visited were shockingly dry during my time in Washington. Even the renowned Hoh Rainforest, a place seldom without some kind of precipitation in a typical year, seemed to not have had seen rain for weeks by the time that I had the chance to walk among the moss-covered giants found within. Because of this apparent drought, I did not come across many fungi apart from the more persistent and hardy shelf fungi that dotted the trunks of these old-growth wonderlands.

IMG_7171.JPG

IMG_7173.JPG

IMG_7176.JPG

The most common species that I encountered by far was the Northern Red-belt (Fomitopsis mounceae) followed closely by the West Coast Reishi (Ganoderma oregonense). Towards the ocean, I was also able to find a few more brightly colored species, including a young Conifer Chicken of the Woods (Laetiporus conifericola) as well as Sweetgrass Tooth (Hydnellum suaveolens), a pleasantly fresh smelling species with a conspicuously bright blue stipe.

Even though these were exciting new finds for me that I never would have had the chance to encounter in my home state of Michigan (with the exception of the Northern Red-belt) I was a bit disappointed at the lack of fungal diversity I was able to find in these rainforest ecosystems. That being said, standing in the shadow of centuries old trees along the banks of mountain streams is an experience I know I will want to live again. Another trip is in order, and this next time, I will be sure to time my arrival with the peak of the local mushroom season. I can't wait to see what I will be able to find then.

IMG_7021.JPG

IMG_7052.JPG

IMG_7056.JPG

IMG_7050.JPG

As always, feel free to offer your suggestions if you believe that I have misidentified any of the species shown below, and until next week, happy Mushroom Monday!

Northern Red Belt (Fomitopsis mounceae):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

West Coast Reishi (Ganoderma oregonense):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

American Brown Fomitopsis (Fomitopsis ochracea):

image.png

Conifer Chicken of the Woods (Laetiporus conifericola):

image.png

Sweetgrass Tooth (Hydnellum suaveolens):

image.png

image.png

Artist's Bracket (Ganoderma applanatum):

image.png

Dyer's Polypore (Phaeolus schweinitzii):

image.png

image.png

Oak Bracket (Pseudoinonotus dryadeus):

image.png

Woolly Bird's Nest Fungus (Nidula niveotomentosa):

image.png

Velvet-footed Pax (Tapinella atrotomentosa):

image.png

Puffballs (Genus Lycoperdon):

image.png

Oyster Mushrooms (Genus Pluerotus):

image.png

Bolete (Family Boletaceae):

image.png

Unknown gilled mushroom (Order Agaricales):

image.png

My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

Creary Gallery: https://creary.net/@tych021/projects

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

NFTShowroom reflink: https://nftshowroom.com/?r=tych021

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tych021

Vimm.tv: https://www.vimm.tv/tych021